We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and good breakfast included”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Kitty Hawk, NC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice location and good breakfast included”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

With TA ratings as a guide we chose to stay at the Plaza during our 9 day trip in the NW and would likely stay again. The location was OK but our room that faced 4th street was noisy and hot because of the mid day sun and buses and motorcycles. The AC did not keep the room cool despite setting on high fan for the central system. The noise stops at around 9-10 PM but starts again at 5-6 AM........
Breakfast and service by all in the hotel were very good.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face 4th Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    392
    98
    16
    19
See reviews for
142
487
61
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robertson
Level Contributor
320 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a great old hotel which retains its 1920's character but has all modern comforts. Staff were super friendly and helpful, room was comfortable and quiet, bathroom was small but that is common in old hotels which probably had to be retro-fitted. Despite being full with travellers form the Rocky Mountaineer we were still well cared for and had a good home style meal in the restaurant

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I hadn't stayed in Kamloops in over a decade, and was so pleasantly surprised by my recent stay. Downtown Kamloops is a hipster paradise with fun shops, vibrant restaurants and patios, and of course, the Plaza Hotel beating at its' centre. They have seriously remodelled this hotel, and not just on the surface - comfortable beds, big tv's and very stylish bathrooms. Plus the restaurant/bar on site had great live music and fantastic food. The breakfast each morning was fresh and varied. I would never have imagined enjoying 2 nights on business in Kamloops as much as I did. Go - do a getaway there as soon as you can, it's truly a fun and unique spot!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nechrispeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Nice hotel,on a very busy street wouldn't recommend staying here if you're a light sleeper.
Rooms are nice, but small. Great front desk and service staff.
Old school chef that is NOT accommodating to dietary concerns.
Food was wonderful once I finally found something I could eat. No children's menu, will probably eat somewhere else if I stay here again.

Room Tip: Not a great place to stay if you are a light sleeper, have dietary concerns or are traveling with ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwithdogsnkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice this year. The first time we were in the newer section and were very impressed with the quality of the renovations. The room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable The location was terrific and we enjoyed the live music below in the bar.The breakfast (included) the next day was extremely good. The staff were very pleasant and knowledgeable around the history of the hotel. Unlimited phone calls any where in the world!! Our second stay was also good but the room was in the older section and we found it to be quite cramped. We will stay here again but definitely will request a newer room.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer section are much more spacious and comofrtable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
292 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

this was the hotel provided on the rocky mountaineer from calgary to kamloops red leaf. arrive around 8pm and left 730am so didn't do much except sleep. rooms were not big but had everything needed and on the main street so close to food and shops. had no interaction with staff as room keys given on the train. bathroom was adequate with plenty of toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphin60_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of the Rockly Mountaineering tour, the room was very spacious, spotlessly clean, it came with complementary bottles of water as well, the staff were very friendly. During our stay, not only we had the free use of Wi-Fi we also could make phone calls to anywhere in Canada or Worldwide!! The hotel is located in the very centre of the town, very convenient. A pity we stayed for 1 night only.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jentze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hotel 540
#9 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: 405 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing