We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Inn & Suites Kamloops(Kamloops)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$87
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Sandman Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (998)
Filter reviews
998 results
Traveller rating
418
427
112
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
427
112
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage hotelfree international callsdowntown kamloopsone nightcharming hotelrooms are smallrestaurant downstairsbreakfast was includedliquor storestreet noiseolder hotelcentral locationhash brownsvictoria streetriverside parkhot breakfastcomfortable room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
806 - 811 of 998 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

You may find yourself dropped off at a downtown old oddity, but take heart, they have a big one.
The Plaza has it's problems but they have a heart as big as Canada.
The rooms are basic but spotless, the staff care, the food is cracking, and you will have a great night in Kamloops.
Go with the flow, go to the adjacent liquor store, get your %10 off, two glasses from the Plaza Diner, book a table, soak in a deep bath and enjoy.
You will be picked up in the morning for the second leg of the Rocky trip, and just watch the ballet in the coach park.
Happy days.

Room Tip: You are in Kamloops! Have a great night, get back on the train.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkyIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Someone wrote they had a great buffett, well if the bare minimum of options that should not be called a buffett, then ok.
No heat in the rooms at the end of September when you need it as the boiler is not turned on yet. Noisy due to being in the so called bar scene of downtown.
The worse internet reception, that makes you give up on reading the news on line.
But it has a nice lobby, the bed was comphortable, the fruit salad at breakfast was not bad. The staff was pleasant and we have stayed in worse places in Kamloops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 747Josepmr747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by the charmingly restored Plaza Hotel, particularly given the extremely reasonable rates. The front desk and restaurant staff were friendly and welcoming and our room was quiet and comfortable with everything we needed and more. The Plaza has an amazing number of perks and freebies but the one that knocked our socks off was free phone calls anywhere in the world ~ that's a hard one to beat! We liked the downtown location with lots of funky shops and some pretty impressive (for a small city) restaurants. Parking was conveniently located in a lot next door and was reasonably priced at $5.00 per night. Overall a very enjoyable experience and we will certainly stay here again whenever we have an opportunity to visit Kamloops.

Room Tip: We were in a room on the fourth floor that overlooked the parking lot and noise was not an issue. It was very quiet at night and during the day.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJets0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, we immediately noticed a strange odor that was difficult to describe... an odor depicting the age of the hotel. My wife & I stepped out and while looking at each other asked: "do we really want to stay here?"... She convinced me to try it.

The staff was very friendly. The room was spotless and was decorated in a manner matching with the age and theme of the hotel. We were concerned with the noise due to the creeks in the floor of the hallway. The bed was comfortable and there was little or no noise to be concerned. Unfortunately, our room overlooked the roof of the lower section and the brick wall of the building, which was not much of a view.

The breakfast was tasty and quite filling. We do not usually eat that much food at breakfast. The service was excellent.

The overall experience was quite good. If you like antiques and the comforts of days gone by, this is the place for you. The hotel is very well situated and is definitely an historical treasure. Just look at the plaque in the elevator.

So you are probably wondering why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I must compare it with other hotels that we have stayed in. And frankly, this hotel did get a much better rating than the Delta Downtown Vancouver received.

If you visit Kamloops, make sure you stay at the Plaza Heritage and say hi to Rebecca.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frasier_Niles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel was charming, and despite being spotless and well appointed with all modern conveniences, it has kept it's 1930's feel in the decor, which in our room seemed luxurious. From refreshing punch on the desk as we arrived through to warm home baked muffins as we left, the whole experience was lovely. Phone calls were free (yes,really!) even home to the UK, there was a coupon for a free appetiser in the restaurant attached to the hotel (best meal we've had all week!) a 10% off voucher for the liquor store next door, and friendly helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were on floor 5 good view of the mountains
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews