We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Weekend”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

When we lived in Kamloops we checked out the Plaza Hotel as we planned to come back to the city to see the Western Canada Theatre Company's production of Les Miserables. We booked well in advance for a suite. When we arrived, we were given a regular room but were promptly moved to a 5th floor corner suite. The suite was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bed and pillows were great! We enjoyed breakfast both mornings; breakfast was included in the price. Although we didn't have time to take advantage of the use of the nearby YMCA and Yoga Loft it is a real bonus to have free use of these facilities as part of the cost of staying at the Plaza. The Plaza is downtown; as we love to walk, this makes for a great location for Riverside Park, galleries, shopping, a super cappuccino at Motivos, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Plaza for one night in October 2013 on our way back to Victoria, B.C. The Plaza was what I err expected for a boutique hotel in Kamloops that has been recently refreshed. It maintains the charm of an older main street hotel with a good number of renovations.

The rooms were small which was to be expected and it felt very European. Given the size of the room there was still a good size bed and flat screen TV. Very small bathroom that was workable albeit the reno work was to he desired...lazy paint and tiling job. No signicant cleanliness issues with the room...it was ready as expected.

Keep in mind that there are a couple features of The Plaza that make it unique. Firstly, the elevator fits one person and a luggage cart...that's it. Not a huge deal but depending on the size of your party make sure to set aside extra time to check in and check out. Secondly, the floor that we booked had a four step staircase that we needed to walk up to get to our room. The luggage trolley doesn't really travel up stairs so make sure you don't mind moving pieces of luggage without a trolley.

There is a very nice renovated lounge with live music on the weekends. Very ritzy if you are looking to have a glass of wine and lounge after a long drive or day of sight seeing. This lounge is also used for the breakfast buffet that was included for free with our stay. Not the best buffet but it will fill you up...toast, juice, potatoes, sausage, eggs...the usual basic buffet.

Overall, we were satisfied with what The Plaza had to offer and would probably stay there again in the future mainly because it was cozy and had a unique charm. It was worth the rate that we paid and was a pleasant experience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank AHDOBSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in November 2013. Very nice if you like a little rustic feel. Some rooms have radiators for heat etc. BIG BONUSES: free hot breakfast, free unlimited yoga at yoga loft, 5$ a day parking in city lot right beside hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very good hotel located in the city center and we were lucky to arrive on Friday and in the hotel restaurant had a wonderful band ... so we could enjoy the country local music. Fantastic old but well maintained hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifbonomini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Totally refurbished Heritage Hotel in Kamloops that exceeded our expectations on our 6 day drive through the Rocky Mountains. We booked a corner junior suite which was huge, bed was extremely comfortable and the room felt immaculate. As we were off season in September it was not overly priced. Ate downstairs in hotel restaurant which had reasonably good atmosphere and the same room was used for the included breakfast, which was totally acceptable. As Kamloops was a good stopping over destination between Jasper and Whistler, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BINA481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night, while traveling in the Okanagan. The location is right in the downtown area, and some nearby areas are a bit "sketchy". The hotel itself is a great establishment.

I stayed in a luxury king suite and though it looked like they JUST fit the bed and two small night stands into that space, there was still a desk area, mini-fridge and cabinet, and a 40" TV. It was exactly what I needed.

The bathroom area was well acquainted, but some may consider it on the small side.

Wifi was provided throughout the hotel. Access to their fitness facilities is actually 4 blocks away at the nearby YMCA. You can gain full access to that YMCA as along as you are staying at the Plaza. They actually take your photo and information so they have you on file if you go multiple times.

Quite a few good restaurants within a block of the hotel:
Breakfast/Brunch - Hello Toast
Lunch - Fireside Grill (in the hotel)
Dinner - Terra

Service was also great. Will definitely be there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank ianwychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Loved this hotel. Stayed for a week. The breakfast was included everyday and was awesome. Loved the character of the hotel. Old but very clean. Staff were friendly. Definitely a great spot to stay and reasonable rates. Very close to everything too. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#6 of 54 in Kamloops
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 54 in Kamloops
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: £59 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing