We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky Mountaineer overnight stop”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rocky Mountaineer overnight stop”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We were booked in as part of our Rocky Miu taineer trip and had a lovely overnight stay. Room rather small and bathroom needs updating but overall good for the night. Right in the centre of town so handy yo explore. Some lovely restaurants nearby as well as shops!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    411
    104
    19
    19
See reviews for
149
513
63
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A great little old hotel that has had some very nice renovations done to it..They have left the outside look historic and have upgraded some of the inside. We had a small but beautiful, clean and very comfortable room with hardwood floors. The downstairs bar/restaurant is very nice. The staff and service was great..We will definitely be making a point to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bli Bli, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stopped in for an overnight stay and were very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. The staff were friendly, good service and the breakfast, 11am checkout and access to YMCA around the corner were extra bonuses. There was a little bit of traffic noise and people yelling in the street the night we stayed, but with the comfortable bed it wasn't too much of an issue. Definitely check out the restaurant for a good steak.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to king-size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed one night in at the end of a week-long business trip. Arrived late and asked for a quiet room. I was grateful for the upgrade offered by the friendly front desk staff. Room was comfortable, large, clean and updated. Renos to this heritage building were good, without losing all of the historical charm. The kitchen had already closed when I called down for room service. Again, the staff showed great customer service by bringing up a bowl of their great chowder. Breakfast was included the next morning, a choice between a continental or traditional. I usually stay at a hotel off the highway, but my next trip, I'll look forward to returning to the Plaza.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchow30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
289 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is an older building (built about 1912) that has been thoroughly renovated and brought up to modern standards, while preserving the architecture and the 'mood' of the original property.

Some rooms are a bit small (as could be expected from a building of this vintage), but they are certainly fully satisfactory.

Be sure to check the prices offered on Trip Advisor before checking in - I was offered the rack rate of $129 a night, I then showed the receptionist the Trip Advisor advertised price of $79 a night and was given the $79 price without any hesitation.

Outdoor parking is available at the independently operated lot next door for $5 a night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

When we lived in Kamloops we checked out the Plaza Hotel as we planned to come back to the city to see the Western Canada Theatre Company's production of Les Miserables. We booked well in advance for a suite. When we arrived, we were given a regular room but were promptly moved to a 5th floor corner suite. The suite was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bed and pillows were great! We enjoyed breakfast both mornings; breakfast was included in the price. Although we didn't have time to take advantage of the use of the nearby YMCA and Yoga Loft it is a real bonus to have free use of these facilities as part of the cost of staying at the Plaza. The Plaza is downtown; as we love to walk, this makes for a great location for Riverside Park, galleries, shopping, a super cappuccino at Motivos, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Plaza for one night in October 2013 on our way back to Victoria, B.C. The Plaza was what I err expected for a boutique hotel in Kamloops that has been recently refreshed. It maintains the charm of an older main street hotel with a good number of renovations.

The rooms were small which was to be expected and it felt very European. Given the size of the room there was still a good size bed and flat screen TV. Very small bathroom that was workable albeit the reno work was to he desired...lazy paint and tiling job. No signicant cleanliness issues with the room...it was ready as expected.

Keep in mind that there are a couple features of The Plaza that make it unique. Firstly, the elevator fits one person and a luggage cart...that's it. Not a huge deal but depending on the size of your party make sure to set aside extra time to check in and check out. Secondly, the floor that we booked had a four step staircase that we needed to walk up to get to our room. The luggage trolley doesn't really travel up stairs so make sure you don't mind moving pieces of luggage without a trolley.

There is a very nice renovated lounge with live music on the weekends. Very ritzy if you are looking to have a glass of wine and lounge after a long drive or day of sight seeing. This lounge is also used for the breakfast buffet that was included for free with our stay. Not the best buffet but it will fill you up...toast, juice, potatoes, sausage, eggs...the usual basic buffet.

Overall, we were satisfied with what The Plaza had to offer and would probably stay there again in the future mainly because it was cozy and had a unique charm. It was worth the rate that we paid and was a pleasant experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AHDOBSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: 405 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing