We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I always stay at the Plaza when going through Kamloops. Great location, close to restaurants and easy access to the highway - without staying so close to the highway. Nice, clean and friendly staff. They also allow me to have my dog!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear valued guest - BirdieBee

Thank you for making The Plaza Hotel your "home away from home"... We love having you here and the staff enjoy serving you.

Thank you for reviewing us 5 out of 5 in all areas!

Wish you all the best BirdieBee and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    384
    95
    15
    18
See reviews for
138
481
60
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Good hotel room. ... But breakfast service sucks. ... We were made to wait for almost an hour after we placed the order from their selected free breakfast menu. We did not order anything special but still it took them one hour to prepare it. With no manager on duty the staff didn't know what they were doing. We had to leave ASAP as this was only a stopover in our long journey. Totally unacceptable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sameer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mr. Sameer S.

I was distressed to learn that you were not pleased with our breakfast service. I totally agree with you that it is totally unacceptable to wait for an hour for your breakfast... Please accept my most sincere apologies.

Our goal is to provide our guests with the finest in service and personal attention on a consistent basis, but we have evidently fallen short of your expectations.

We do value your business and I hope you will give us another chance and I will personally look after your stay... Please contact me when you are planning your next trip to Kamloops. We would very much appreciate having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel in the near future.

Wish you all the best Mr. Sameer S.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This is an older hotel, but has some character and has been redone nicely. Room was not overly big, but was clean, comfortable and room enough for a king bed. Complimentary, basic hot breakfast was better than most chain hotel breakfasts. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Averagetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear valued guest - Averagetravels

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I'm glad we gained another loyal guest.

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel experience at The Plaza was great from start to finish. I love the way they have redesigned this historic gem. Bed was super comfortable. All I needed was provided by friendly staff members. I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Kamloops.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear valued guest - janettraveller

Wow, what a wonderful review and thank you so much for rating us 5 out of 5! I am delighted that we have gained another loyal guest. Our passion is serving guests and we are here to serve!

As you are one of our loyal guests we will do our utmost to make sure The Plaza Hotel becomes your "home" in Kamloops.

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The accommodation was good and the reception and door staff extremely helpful. It was a welcome break on the journey from the Rockies to Vancouver and we would stay there again if the need arose although as overseas visitors that is unlikely.

Sarah - Australia

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Ms. Sarah H

Thank you for the wonderful review and we would love to welcome you back...

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Wish you all the best Sarah.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just got back from The Plaza hotel.

When we first arrived I was a little taken back at how old it really was. They said it was the first hotel built in Kamloops.

Most old places are not very big, so elevator was smaller, rooms were smaller etc. But the hotel has done a good job and effort into making this hotel comfortable.

If it was not re done I would think it was haunted though! Ha..
Perfect part of the city .. we were right down where everyone hangs out.. restaurant, casino, theatre, liquor store all within a minute walk.

it ended up being a very good trip :) I am happy I got to experience staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed if you want shower and bath. We had a queen size bed.. was a smaller room (i woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Ms. LeeAnn H

Thank you so much for your awesome review and rating us 5 out of 5! I am delighted you enjoyed our boutique heritage hotel with it's facilities... and it ended up being a very good trip for you!

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wish you all the best M.s LeeAnn H.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely one night stay on our way from Vancouver to Jasper. Parking right next door at a good price. Complimentary breakfast which was lovely. Very nice staff and lovely cosy rooms. Plus the oldest elevator in Kamloops! :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear valued guest - Jo M

Thank you so much for your review and rating us 5 out of 5!

We are a heritage boutique hotel and I'm glad you enjoyed the ride in the oldest elevator in town.

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: 405 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing