We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very, very decent hotel downtown Kamloops. 5 minute walk to park and blocks away from the top two restaurants. The best surprise was the best breakfast menu included in the price. (Although on a busy day your only choice is the breakfast buffet which is fine but not great.) Friendly wait staff. REALLY appreciated the staff at the counter as they answered my many questions about places and directions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Melly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear valued guest - 9Melly

What a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

Our Executive Chef and his kitchen staff are very pleased to know that you rated us as "the best breakfast menu"... The wait staff and the front desk staff are very happy to read your review. "We are here to serve".

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    389
    96
    15
    19
See reviews for
142
485
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel during our Rocky Mountaineer train journey. We did not have long in the hotel but our room was very comfortable, it had free bottles of water as well.
The staff were very friendly and organised an early morning call as we were away the next morning very early.
The hotel is situated in a good location and it is easy to find places to eat and drink.
There is an off licence in the same building and a discount is given on drinks if you are staying at the Plaza. This is a good town hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear valued guest - WorldTraveller6161

We would like to sincerely thank you for your great review and giving us 5 of our 5 in all areas... I'm glad you enjoyed our boutique hotel, friendly staff and the discount in our Liquor Store.

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Plaza hotel only one night but it was very enjoyable. The staff are friendly and courteous. The hotel has recently been renovated and they really kept the charm of an old building with a modern twist. The bed was perfect. The Plaza is located right in the heart of downtown, just a short walk to Riverside Park( where there is swimming, a nice waterpark for kids, bandshell etc), and all the restaurants and stores on Victoria. With a great breakfast included, we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coco20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear valued guest - coco20

I am thrilled to read your review and know you have enjoyed your stay... and to rate us 5 of our 5 in all areas... What a privilege to have you as our guests.

I'm glad you enjoyed our boutique heritage hotel... our restaurant... and location!

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This wonderful old 1927 heritage-designated hotel (but modernized) has given us a completely new appreciation for Kamloops. We will never stay 'up on the hill' as we have done for so many years. This is a charming and comfortable place to stay in the heart of Kamloops. It has it's own fine restaurant but is close to a wide range of restaurants in this small city -- we had an outstanding meal at the Terra down the the street. The hotel lobby is very appealing, the staff are friendly and the hotel is wonderfully air conditioned which is always welcome in Kamloops in the summer. The room we had a was well appointed with a nice desk to work on; I love light stands with power plugs in the base. The WiFi has a strong signal which is always appreciated as is the beautifully tiled walk-in shower. This is now our 'go to' place to stay in Kamloops.

Room Tip: 206 was very nice -- being higher up on this side would be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djp789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear valued guest - djp789

I can't thank you enough for this great review... and I am so happy to have you as our loyal guests...

I'm glad you enjoyed our boutique heritage hotel... our friendly staff... and even our A/C.

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The location of the hotel was ideal - easy to walk anywhere from here. Water was complementary - dont see this much at this pricepoint in Canada and the hotel itself was fairly charming with good upkeep. Room was definitely on the smaller side - but we didnt mind it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mys_terry78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear valued guest - mys_terry78

Thank you so much for rating us 5 out of 5 in all areas... I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the complimentary water...

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good value considering what we have paid elsewhere. Rooms have been refurbished and contain all you need albeit they are not large rooms. Little noisy outside (Saturday night) and constant noise from hall air conditioner. Brekkie and Wi-Fi included along with free phone calls (including international). Restaurant was good with live music. Parking in public park next door and access a little tricky (albeit helped by staff). All in all OK

Room Tip: Avoid the ones with 2 queen beds ... does not leave much room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOug57_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear valued guest - DOug57_10

Thank you for your review... I'm glad you enjoyed our boutique hotel... our free brekkie, Wi-Fi and international calls...

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this lovely old gem, which has been updated without losing the charm of days gone by! If you appreciate heritage character, this hotel is perfect for you! (akin to the Bessborough in Saskatoon and Hotel Vancouver). The Family Room had hardwood floors and was a 2-room suite with a King in one room and twin beds in the other, joined via a jack-and-jill bathroom. Beds were very comfortable and rooms were appointed extremely well. The chef in the restaurant downstairs should be working at a 5-star in a major center!! Wonderful dinner! The breakfast included with the stay was also very good. The staff were friendly and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend!

Room Tip: The Family Room suite is perfect for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Tami J

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and rating us 5 of out of 5 in all areas... What a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our boutique heritage hotel... our restaurant... and friendly and attentive staff.

I totally agree with you, our Executive Chef is the best in the city and the quality of his work is topnotch but I don't want him to be working anywhere else but at The Plaza Hotel and Fireside Steakhouse & Bar.

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best Tami.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: 405 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing