We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Fountain Motel(Kamloops)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 540(Kamloops)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Plaza Hotel(Kamloops)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acadian Inn(Kamloops)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
48
70
88
57
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
70
88
57
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleandenny's restaurantdowntown kamloopscontinental breakfaststreet noisehospitalironmicrowave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We checked in and upon arrival at the room it stank, the overpowering scent was dog, it was so bad that it played havoc with my asthma. We left after 15 minutes to give them time to sort it out. We returned after about an hour and the only help offered was for us to find the cleaning lady, not them, us. Inother words it is your problem you sort it out. We looked around and found damp, dirty bathroom, dirty kitchen, dog hair, and the smoke alarm hanging off the wall. We had to check out, what a waste of money it was so bad we couldnt stay and couldnt get our money back. This is not a hotel, not even a budget hotel but a kennel, worst place we have ever been. AVOID like the plague.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jockboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This hotel is horrible, my husband and I stayed here while in Kamloops for a business trip. We booked on-line so the pictures looked pretty good and the rates were reasonable.....Well the pictures were lies and you get what you pay for. The beds were hard and the pillows were so small and lumpy it was ridiculous. But then you go into the bathroom and just about puke.....There were little black beetle looking bugs scurrying on the floor, the moldings were rotten and pulling off the wall and the soap holder in the shower was still dirty, it had old soap chunks in it and rust. The most disgusting hotel I have ever ever stayed at. DO NOT STAY HERE spend the extra $20.00 and stay at a good name brand hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurabClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

After reading some of the previous reviews, I was concerned that I would show up to a dump of a hotel. When I arrived though, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was in a nicer condition that I thought it would be, with what appeared to be new flooring. There was a refrigerator and stove, which was also nice. The free wireless internet and the nice new tv were great perks. There was even free parking, though it was a little bit tight. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Stayed at howard johnson inn downtown with our baseball team and it was very good experience. Continental breakfast was very decent, wireless internet worked fine and this property is very convenient and only 5 minutes away from starbuks. Staff was very friendly and offered the breakfast room, without any charges, to use for get together. Denny's restaurant next door came very handy for our team the front desk staff arranged for our team to have dinner togther there with good discount for group. They informed us upon checkin to be quiet after 11 and i noticed they kept at eye around to make sure our team wasn't running around which we didn't mind. I will definetly reccommend this hojo downtown to everyone for clean room at reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanpamcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

When we made the reservation for July 21, 2010, we confirmed the room had functional A/C. When we arrived, we again stressed the importance and confirmed the room had working A/C. When we entered the room we found the A/C unit barely functioning.

The desk attendant came and fiddled with the A/C unit to no avail. He agreed it was not working. We inquired to another room and were declined. My husband has Multiple Sclerosis and requires a cool enviroment, not a room to sleep in that is 81 degrees farenheit at midnight, after the A/C unit had been running for over 5 hours!

On top of an uncomfortably warm room, it was also filthy. At least the bedding was clean. The bathroom fan was missing the cover for the exhaust fan and the fan was covered in a generous layer of dust and other matter and eventually worked. The tap on the fridge/stove unit leaked all night and the fridge was not cool. The chairs were stained so we wouldn't even consider sitting on them unless they were covered. The laminate flooring was sticky feeling so we left our shoes on.

I do not feel that we got what we paid for and will not be tempted to ever book a room with HoJo ever again.

POOR ATTITUDE AND CUSTOMER Service in the downtown Howard Johnson in Kamloops!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews