We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Clean, Cozy, Comfortable And Reasonable!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed 6 December 2011

A lovely setting, great staff! A very restful experience!I would say this is the best hotel in Kamloops. I travel here every other year to see family and this is the first time I stayed at this motel and I will stay here again. The rooms are very well maintained and the beds are so comfy. Front desk staff very friendly and efficient and even allowed early check-in (11am) to accomodate!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOFFREY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

Big Lobby, Nice and Helpful Front Desk Guy Served Great Breakfast with Fresh Waffles. Overall u will enjoy ur Stay As You Get Great Service at Cheap Price. Great Downtown Location and close to Hospital.

Room Tip: 205 206 king nd Most comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrJames71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed only for one night while passing through. The room was very clean. The bed was great & LCD TV was plus. Bathroom was clean & fairly new. The price was right as well and it had free Wife and worked excellently. Breakfast was lovely and we loved the waffles.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aman4250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This must have been the worst stay on this vacation, the hotel looked ok from the front, but we were put out back in what must have looked like something a bit dodgy. The rooms were grubby and we had to have our sheets changed because they had holes in them and the bed cover also changed because it had stains on it. The whole experience was awful, would never stay or recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suetoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Recently I stayed at this hotel and had booked over the internet. This is not a new hotel but my room was clean and had a fridge, tv, iron and ironing board, blow dryer and coffee maker and WiFi. Basic breakfast was provided but Denny's is next door if you want eggs. There are many hotels to choose from in Kamloops but for the value this is a good bet. You can walk to the downtown core from here less than 2 minutes away. I would recommend it for buisness travelers. Staff was also great. Let us keep our car parked there even after checking out and let my friend back into the room to change two hours after checking out for our ride home...........Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as there is a main road out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyereent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We made a reservation here well in advance of our trip to the Olympics. A member of our party suffered kidney failure so we had to cancel. Because there are two Howard Johnson's in town I was confused about which one we had reserved. I called both motels both said they did not have a reservation for anyone with our last name. I assumed my wife had canceled our reservation and we went about our lives. I was shocked to find charges for 2 rooms on our next credit card bill from this motel. When we called to dispute it they informed us they were sold out that night and would have to charge us. They also told us the reservation had been made the day of the arrival. Caution poorly manged hotel with thief-like business practices. The other reviews here make it obvious they don't care for their property at all. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Staff were nice and helpful, but the Hotel is poor quality. I'm not sure it was ever nice, since the contruction is low quality - cabinets are thin, moldings are badly fitted, bath seals are poorly fitted. Shoddy work on a basic building. Located right next to a freeway - noise isn't bad when the doors are closed, but people speaking outside are heard very easily - was woken up a few times by general chat. Room was clean but dated. Not a pleasant feeling. I've been in cheap Hotels in Europe and Asia and this felt like a cheap Hotel. Breakfasts are very simple and self serve - juice, cereal, toast, and waffle maker. Not bad, but would tire if you're there for a few days. Was relieved to leave.
In conclusion, cheap price for a cheap Hotel. Would not recommend staying.

Room Tip: Can't say any will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HinBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
Country View Motor Inn
#37 of 54 in Kamloops
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Kamloops Travelodge Mountview
Hospitality Inn
#46 of 54 in Kamloops
79 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops

Address: 530 Columbia St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: £39 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2014 with new bathrooms, new pillowtop mattresses, new linen, fresh paint and many other updates. We are located downtown right besides the Denny's Restaurant , 2 blocks away from the Kamloops' Royal Inland Hospital and across the street from the Kamloops court house. Many stores and restaurant are within 3 to 10 minutes walking distance from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Kamloops Downtown Hotel Kamloops
Howard Johnson Kamloops
Kamloops Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing