We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never go back to this filthy place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed 19 September 2008

My boyfriend, his son and I stayed on this hotel for one night as our stop over on our way to Vancouver Island. On their website - they claim that they have "32 clean and comfortable recently redecorated guest rooms” - after we checked in, we found the room to be dirty and disappointing. The toilet and tub was not clean - there were hair on the tub and when I look down on the drain it was full of hair! The headboard and tables were dusty. The phone and the remote control for the TV were greasy. I have to use my hand sanitizer to clean the Phone and the remote control. The carpet was not vacuumed. We have booked this hotel a week in advance so there is no excuse for the room not to be clean. We did ask for another room since they won't give us a refund (and it’s already late to look around for another place to stay). The other room was just a little bit better only because the toilet and tub looks clean, but we were so uncomfortable that we use our own towels and blankets. The bed was not comfortable at all - the springs were digging into our backs! The pillows have yellow stains on it. For what they charge to stay at their hotel is not worth every penny... for $40.00 more you can stay at Comfort Inn... And not have to question if the room was clean or not

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Iwant2Ctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2008

Location good, room comfortable but sheets not changed from previous guest or guests. Black hair in bed, the bed not made for second night, towels taken but not replaced. Repairs to one wall in on-suite not completed

Stayed: July 2008
Thank rsh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

If you are looking for a modest, clean room with a kitchen stove (spotless, I have to say) and kitchen sink in the bathroom, then check in to room #105. Otherwise, quite unexciting.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank JoeyKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2008

Good Hotel. It has been recently upgraded. The room was clean and I felt comfortable there. The price when I stayed in March, 2008 was great. It is not a deluxe resort, but for the money it is a good choice. I always want a clean room, with a bed a feel comfortable in and a rug that is not dirty. This hotel fit this criteria. I will surely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank camden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yolimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnworld2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 615thor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
Travelodge Kamloops City Centre
City Center
Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
982 reviews
Country View Motor Inn
#32 of 54 in Kamloops
189 reviews
Knights Inn Kamloops
#44 of 54 in Kamloops
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops

Address: 530 Columbia St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: £39 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2014 with new bathrooms, new pillowtop mattresses, new linen, fresh paint and many other updates. We are located downtown right besides the Denny's Restaurant , 2 blocks away from the Kamloops' Royal Inland Hospital and across the street from the Kamloops court house. Many stores and restaurant are within 3 to 10 minutes walking distance from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Kamloops Downtown Hotel Kamloops
Howard Johnson Kamloops
Kamloops Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing