We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed 5 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojokamloops, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Vern V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojokamloops, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Eyeslooking
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hojokamloops, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If I could choose 1.5 stars I would because this hotel was a little worse than poor, but not quite terrible. The staff was fine. It seemed like they were a little busy and doing multiple jobs. The bed was reasonably comfortable - probably better than most lower end hotels I've stayed at. With the exception of the bathroom, the room was fairly clean. The shower, however, wasn't clean enough for either my wife or myself to use. The tub/shower was really run down and appeared to have leftover hair in the drain. Neither of us used it. We didn't take advantage of the included breakfast because of time constraints, but the room where it was served looked pretty small and crowded.

The hotel is pretty noisy, due to thin walls. There is a lot of traffic noise, but that's the location. You can also hear the other guests in the adjacent rooms and every exterior door open and close. I wouldn't choose this hotel for the price, but it was a necessary last minute choice and we couldn't find anything else. For the price, you can do better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojokamloops, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apology and it looks like we didn't
clean your bathroom tub properly. We very often clean all the tub drain and unfortunately our staff missed you room. Thank for mentioning that the clean room and we appreciate you honest feedback. We are located on Columbia St with steady traffic during day time but it does get quite at night times. We replaced all our doors and windows only few years back and that has helped a lot in offering quite sleep to our guest. We also have room in the back of the building that are very quiet and had we known we would have been more than happy to move you. I hope you come back and we promise to offer you better sleep in our newer room with brand new pillowtop mattresses. Once again sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for you feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The room we had appeared to be fairly recently updated so everything looked nice and it was clean. The beds were very comfortable and having a fridge was a bonus. The hotel is very centrally located and does include wifi and a continental breakfast. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Travel_G0ddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojokamloops, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you had good sleep and enjoyed staying with our property. Yes we had recently updated our rooms that included new serta pillow top mattresses. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The room was okay but it did smell of smoke and yet they advertise 100% smoke free. The air condtioner and the heater are separate but we needed a office staff memeber to help us make them operate. Noisy location. The continental breakfast area was very small and crowded. There was a waffle maker but no waffle mix. Price of room was better than average.

Room Tip: Be on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperD1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojokamloops, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us. All Howard Johnsons including our property are 100% non smoking. It appears that heavy smoking outside the door by previous guest caused your room to smell like smoking room and please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience. I glad that our staff was quickly able to help you with the air conditioning unit as we are in the weather changing period to accommodate everybody. Our staff member makes the waffles upon request to make sure the guest gets perfect waffle and please make sure you ask for one next time. Once again thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Best value for money. Brand new renovated rooms with new comfortable pillow top beds and quality bedding. Very clean comfortable room.Loved the continental breakfast. Management will make you fresh big waffles every morning. Wonderful friendly and very helpful staff and management. Loved the really sweet hotel cleaning lady! Would ask if she saw us we going out if we needed anything extra in our room. Definitely will stay there again whenever we return to Kamloops.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojokamloops, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you Chelsea and we appreciate you for taking your time to share your best hotel experience with us. It makes us very proud that you are 100% satisfied with your stay and we look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
Travelodge Kamloops City Centre
Riverland Inn & Suites
#19 of 54 in Kamloops
362 reviews
City Center
Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knights Inn Kamloops
#43 of 54 in Kamloops
109 reviews
Quality Inn Kamloops
#22 of 54 in Kamloops
150 reviews
Country View Motor Inn
#36 of 54 in Kamloops
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops

Address: 530 Columbia St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: £35 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2014 with new bathrooms, new pillowtop mattresses, new linen, fresh paint and many other updates. We are located downtown right besides the Denny's Restaurant , 2 blocks away from the Kamloops' Royal Inland Hospital and across the street from the Kamloops court house. Many stores and restaurant are within 3 to 10 minutes walking distance from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Kamloops Downtown Hotel Kamloops
Howard Johnson Kamloops
Kamloops Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing