We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    68
    84
    53
    56
See reviews for
97
83
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lillooet
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

good place
stayed there before will likely stay there again
was pleased with the service, and how they did not charge a ridiculous amount of deposit on my credit card

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojokamloops, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello Lucy

Thank you staying with us again. We are flexible in regards to the deposit for our repeat guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

uncomfortable bed couldnt sleep well
horrible breakfast all bread so hard to eat
will not recommend anyone stay here
sorry but i dont like this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojokamloops, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Nick, thanks you for your review. I am surprised to hear that you didn't enjoy sleeping on our mattresses. We have just about year old mattresses and box spring. The mattresses have double side pillow tops and our morning front office staff has been receiving very positive feedback since we replaced our mattresses. We buy fresh bread almost everyday from a local grocery chain store and I am not sure why you thought it was hard. We make fresh waffles in front of our guest and serve very reasonable continental breakfast with fruits and juices. Please contact our front office and ask for the manager if there was anything else we could work on to improve our future guest satisfaction. I hope you give us another chance when you are again travelling to Kamloops. Have a great summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If I could choose 1.5 stars I would because this hotel was a little worse than poor, but not quite terrible. The staff was fine. It seemed like they were a little busy and doing multiple jobs. The bed was reasonably comfortable - probably better than most lower end hotels I've stayed at. With the exception of the bathroom, the room was fairly clean. The shower, however, wasn't clean enough for either my wife or myself to use. The tub/shower was really run down and appeared to have leftover hair in the drain. Neither of us used it. We didn't take advantage of the included breakfast because of time constraints, but the room where it was served looked pretty small and crowded.

The hotel is pretty noisy, due to thin walls. There is a lot of traffic noise, but that's the location. You can also hear the other guests in the adjacent rooms and every exterior door open and close. I wouldn't choose this hotel for the price, but it was a necessary last minute choice and we couldn't find anything else. For the price, you can do better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojokamloops, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apology and it looks like we didn't
clean your bathroom tub properly. We very often clean all the tub drain and unfortunately our staff missed you room. Thank for mentioning that the clean room and we appreciate you honest feedback. We are located on Columbia St with steady traffic during day time but it does get quite at night times. We replaced all our doors and windows only few years back and that has helped a lot in offering quite sleep to our guest. We also have room in the back of the building that are very quiet and had we known we would have been more than happy to move you. I hope you come back and we promise to offer you better sleep in our newer room with brand new pillowtop mattresses. Once again sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for you feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamloops hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
City Center
Travelodge Kamloops City Centre
Ramada Kamloops
#24 of 54 in Kamloops
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Panorama City Centre Inn
#32 of 54 in Kamloops
26 reviews
Knights Inn Kamloops
#44 of 54 in Kamloops
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops

Property: Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Address: 530 Columbia St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2014 with new bathrooms, new pillowtop mattresses, new linen, fresh paint and many other updates. We are located downtown right besides the Denny's Restaurant , 2 blocks away from the Kamloops' Royal Inland Hospital and across the street from the Kamloops court house. Many stores and restaurant are within 3 to 10 minutes walking distance from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Kamloops Downtown Hotel Kamloops
Howard Johnson Kamloops
Kamloops Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing