We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One week stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a very good one week at this hotel. The reception and check in was great (I wish I had taken names as there were some very good staff). The young lady at the desk was very friendly, answering all of my questions. I did not know from the website that our room would have a fridge and microwave which was important to us as we were staying for 7 days and did not want to eat out for every meal. She informed us that all rooms had this but I did not see this on the website. I also asked her if we had a room overlooking the city; when she looked she said that, yes we did, but she would check to see if there was one that was better. She said there was one room on the second floor at the end of the hallway that would have a pretty good view but that it was a 'pet friendly room'. We said that would be OK and took it. She then told us that they usually had cookies for check ins but that she was in the process of cooking them and we could come back later for one, which of course we did. Delicious!!!

The room and view was great. The beds are very comfortable with excellent bedding and pillows. My one concern was that we did have several buses on a couple of nights with many kids who were staying at the hotel. They seemed like really good kids but I don't think they realized how noisy they were at later hours of the night. At one point I had to phone down to the front desk to ask them if they would kindly do something about it as we could not sleep. This was happening about 11 PM. The front desk said they had already received another complaint and were in the process of dealing with it. It did quiet down quite a bit but was still a little noisy.

The breakfast room is a very pleasant room and there were quite a few tables (not enough if you happened to come in when all the kids/people from the buses were there). When we encountered this, we just took juice and coffee up to our room and waited until the crowd cleared. There is a good variety of food choices. There were always 2 hot choices of some kind of eggs and meat; oatmeal, dry cereal, cold hard-boiled eggs, bread to make toast, muffins, pastries, English muffins, delicious scones, do-it-yourself waffles, apples and bananas, bowl of chunks of fruit, yogourt, great coffees, teas, hot chocolate packages. The ladies who work in there work really hard to keep the food coming and everything looking full and fresh as well as keeping the tables cleaned. There was only one lady working each day and I thought they did a great job. Again, there was one lady in particular who was extremely hard working and I wish I had noted her name. She deserves recognition.

The location was perfect for us. You can walk up the hill a little ways to a Tim Hortons and a Macdonalds. Then if you walk down the hill and across the highway, Aberdeen Mall is there although it is not an impressive mall. There is also, within walking distance a Five Guys burgers and fries (which is a whole other review). There is a Dollar Store and, I think, a Papa Johns pizza.

The pool and Jacuzzi were good. Pool a little cool and the Jacuzzi just right. Lots of towels available.

All in all, it was a good stay and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Next time, I would ask about getting on a higher floor just to avoid the noise from anyone being abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank EdmontonCruisinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    300
    76
    15
    12
See reviews for
286
281
28
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great hotel to stay at, we try to stay there anytime we are in Kamloops. It is comfortable, clean and reasonable price. The only down side is having a room that faces the hillside (which we did), not a great view. Staff are friendly and efficient too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

but damned close

Front desk Check In Check Out A+
Room size A+
Cleanliness A+
Sleep quality A+
Breakfast A+
Warm cookies on check in A+
"To Go" Bag on check out A+

Location A for us it was great we were just stopping on our way to Vancouver. It seems to be a bit of a hike to the city centre.

The boiler was broken so the swimming pool was cold

Only one elevator that was very slow.

Would I stay here again? You betcha!!
However, in my opinion, British Columbia is dong everything possible to discourage tourism. The price for the room was great. But over all we paid 24% in taxes on the price of the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skierCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, BC, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This Hampton Inn is a nice, clean hotel, with helpful, friendly staff. This hotel is in a very convenient location, close to shopping and restaurants. The only thing I found frustrating was the slow elevator... only one for four floors. The breakfast area is well tended and had a nice selection of foods.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our second time staying here and it lived up to our previous positive experience. Room was clean and hotel was very quiet despite being very full for the Easter weekend. Complimentary breakfast offering had a great variety and the eating area was very clean. We could not get the complimentary Wi-Fi to work later in the evening of our stay, which we suspect was due to the demand on the service. Front desk immediately offered us bonus HHonours points because of this minor inconvenience.
Caution: parking is very limited, and if you are driving anything larger than a compact car you will find the parking a challenge. Realize this is due to the location and not much the hotel can do, but still, something to keep in mind if you drive a large vehicle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrankyMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Comfortable stay in a large clean, modern and warm room. Front of house staff very pleasant and the public areas around the hotel were well kept. The guest laundry was a handy extra. A few things let the hotel down. The pool area was not very tidy with used soaking wet towels lying on the water slide and near the hot tub and there was a small but adequate fitness room. Breakfast was limited with only scrambled egg and bacon as hot items, but there was fresh fruit and a fruit salad and cereal as cold items There was a queue for the toaster and for the waffle maker - the breakfast room was busy and they should have had more facilities to cater for the amount of people using it. Plastic cutlery and polystyrene plates and coffee from paper cups cheapened the whole experience making this hotel ordinary when it could have been outstanding!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jonnywizznbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Personable young lady made check-in very pleasant - was friendly and had a sense of humor. I thought a nice touch was the variety of coffees in the coffee butlers to the side of the front desk; we were travelling with another couple, so the few times we waited for them to come down we had coffee, sat on the comfortable couches and watched breaking events on the wall television. Rooms were clean and quiet, but parking was a little cramped. Complimentary breakfast was very good. Accessing highway to Kelowna was easy from the hotel location. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyW523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops
Address: 1245 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#6 Business Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada, and enjoy a refreshing countryside suburban retreat with a choice of facilities included in your stay. Set just 20 minutes from Kamloops Airport, this hotel is conveniently located close to a major highways, only ten minutes from downtown Kamloops. Explore breathtaking scenery, discover an outdoor adventure with skiing or golfing, or treat yourself at Aberdeen Mall, just a short walk from this Kamloops hotel. Unwind and recharge in a comfortable Guest Room with a fresh bed and free high-speed internet access. Upgrade to a spacious suite and make yourself at home with a microwave oven and refrigerator. Wake up with a Hampton’s Free Hot Breakfast or grab a breakfast-to-go bag from Monday to Friday at the Front Desk. Sip on complimentary tea and coffee in the cozy hotel lobby and stay in touch with free WiFi in public areas. Catch up with work in the 24-hour business center or re-energize with a workout in the fitness center. Plunge into the indoor pool, splash around on the waterslide, or bathe in the whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Kamloops Hotel Kamloops
Hampton Inn Kamloops
Kamloops Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing