We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the pet room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Sooke, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thanks for the pet room”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Moving with three dogs brings a lot of challenges. Thanks to the Canadas Best Value Inn in Kamloops we didn't have any problem to stay somewhere with our dogs.
The Pet room is located on the lower level and easy accessible with the dogs.The laminate flooring makes it easy even in rainy weather to keep it clean.
Service was friendly. The free breakfast was a little on the short side.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    79
    47
    16
    10
See reviews for
65
61
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This place is a masterful lesson in how to build and run a motel spending absolutely the least number of pennies possible.

From the choice of bathroom fan and hairdryer (which provide noise and nothing else) to the cheap shampoo and soap (you couldn't find worse quality at a dollar store) the expertise demonstrated in how to do things on the cheap and still get away with running a motel is breath-taking. The word "rinky-dink" comes to mind frequently during a stay here.

The lady at check in was cheerful, sincere and helpful. Thanks.

We were given a room around the back in the equivalent of a walk out basement I think because that's where the pet friendly rooms are. This means the floors are finished with laminate. The sound proofing is excellent unless a neighbor is using any of their plumbing.

Once you have tried out the swimming pool (approximately 3 meters in length) return to the photograph they provide above and admire the expertise with which the pool is made to look Olympic standard.

The CRT TV is possibly 40 years old. Mind you it is a 26 inch which is extra large for this vintage of TV. My kids (who will watch almost anything on TV all day if I let them) turned the TV off because there was nothing to watch. They decided to pop popcorn in the microwave oven. The first bag burned and it turned out that the glass turntable needed to distribute the microwaves was missing. A trip to the friendly lady at the front office resulted in a glass platter cannibalized from another room. It didn't fit. A phone call to the office resulted in a visit from a pleasant and helpful young man who arrived with another model of glass turntable which also didn't fit. His apologetic conclusion was the microwave wasn't going to be functional, and we gave up on popcorn.

Wanting to make an early start we appeared at the office door at 7:05 am eagerly anticipating the breakfast promised by the kind front office lady. We were met with a locked front door and another guest who had almost given up waiting. We tried again in 20 minutes. (It's possible that when they said breakfast starts at 7 am, they meant they start thinking about setting it up at 7 am.)

Breakfast is fresh fruit, juice boxes, bread you can toast in the toaster, jams, peanut butter, muffins etc. There was no staff attending as the man who set breakfast up must have gone back to continue his well deserved sleep. Here is a tip for all you tea drinkers. It took me a few minutes to figure this out. The hot water for tea comes from the water fountain. It has one of those kid proof locking red switches you slide firmly before pushing to dispense. Yes, the water is hot enough.

The fellow guest who had almost given up was back with his family of hungry teenagers and grandma, and they were now occupying the smallish front office which doubles as breakfast lounge. We worked our way around them to get our half muffins. As we were leaving we witnessed this family loading up for the road, and felt sorry for anybody arriving after 7:30 because they had cleaned out the muffins. Well, fresh fruit in the morning is good for you.

I can be as cheap as the next guy, and I guess I could put up with the standards of this motel if they didn't also feel entitled to charge pretty close to 3 star national chain rates.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aamir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamloops hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We booked this place through Expedia for a quick overnight stay on route. It was given a good rating. Very disappointed and were not able to get our money and leave as we had booked this way. We ended up in 3 different rooms for various reasons but all were not good. The rooms were not clean. Dirty curtains with holes and one window had paper taped over it for a blind. Dirty upholstered chairs I wouldn't sit on. Old beat up, mismatched furniture. No baseboards, heaters hanging crooked off the wall, no towel racks, a hole in the bathroom door, dirty walls in need of paint. The air wasn't working well in one room and it was 40 degrees outside. The only plus was newer carpets. The bedding looked rumpled and worn and the pillows were awful. We asked to speak to the manager to no avail. We left at 7am and the reception area was locked with no one to speak to and where a complimentary continental breakfast was suppose to be. This was very disappointing compared to the other hotel we had just stayed at for the same price and included a full breakfast. Would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFD52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Sheets on beds looked like they weren't changed. Found grass in one of the beds. Sheets were changed when we complained but only the bottom sheet until we asked for both sheets to be changed! I guess you get what you pay for! Suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chayli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I wanted to get away for a little trip for the Canada Day long weekend. We ended up staying at this motel, and it was absolutely great. We had the Honeymoon Suite, and i was actually surprised at how big the room was, including a jacuzzi! The neighbourhood is quiet, with the mall, and restaurants just a 2 minute drive away. The staff is so polite and there to help when you need them. I would recommend this place for anyone who is looking for some relaxation. I have to say, it might be a motel, but it felt like a 4 star hotel to me. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the way from Whistler to Jasper. The motel is situated within easy walking distance to the mall. We were pleasantly surprised at what we received for the price. Rooms are outdated and simple but everything was clean and even included a kitchenette. Breakfast was also provided in the reception area- guests can help themselves and take tray back to the room.

Fantastic value for the budget-conscious traveller.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon5487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was my first time staying at this motel. Normally people think less of a motel from a hotel, but this place was wonderful! From the first minute I got there I was really happy with my choice! The front desk clerk was absolutely wonderful, with her helpful and friendly attitude to the smile that never left her face. She gave us our room keys and even wrote that there is free Wifi and gave us the password, too! Once we got to our room, we were completely amazed with the newly renovated room! It was spacious, with a huge king size bed that my husband, my 2 yr old and I were able to sleep in comfortably. We were even more happy and shocked to see a jacuzzi in a motel room!! It was the best! My 2 year old was able to thoroughly enjoy himself in just a room with cable and a jacuzzi. The room also came with a microwave, a fridge and coffee maker!
I definitely recommend this motel for anyone and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a jacuzzi for more of a hotel feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Aberdeen
Kamloops Travelodge Mountview
Quality Inn Kamloops
#24 of 55 in Kamloops
122 reviews
Days Inn Kamloops BC
#38 of 55 in Kamloops
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Pacific Inn & Suites Kamloops
Aberdeen
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 55 in Kamloops
182 reviews
Country View Motor Inn
#36 of 55 in Kamloops
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 1200 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1N5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off Exit 368 on Highway 1, this motel is next door to Kamloops Convention Center and Calvary Temple. It features free Wi-Fi and pet friendly guest rooms. A cable TV, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, coffee maker and a clock radio are provided in all rooms at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites. All rooms also include a telephone and a private bathroom. The Kamloops Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites is 1 block from Aberdeen Mall, and 3 blocks from Thompson Rivers University. Close to shopping, businesses and restaurants. Special meal discounts are available at our partnered restaurants and pubs (walking distance). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing