We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Science World - our 11 year old”

BIG Little Science Centre
Ranked #13 of 78 things to do in Kamloops
Attraction details
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than Science World - our 11 year old”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We visited Kamloops this past weekend from Vancouver, and decided to drop into the Big Little Science Centre on Saturday morning with our kids, aged 7, 9, and 11, and an 11-year old friend. The kids were a bit skeptical before going, but upon arrival were instantly engaged and had a fabulous time.

Not surprisingly, the BLSC is not a big budget science museums like in larger cities -- it's essentially a school gym chock-a-block full of hands-on science experiments, devices, and gizmos covering topics like magnetism, gravity, optics, geology and tons of other topics. What the kids loved was that everything was so hands-on -- kind of a like a big science toy room. All the kids (even our 7 year old) were engaged the entire time, and I expect it would be good for 5 and up - for any age, really. And on the Saturday we visited, the place was empty, so no line-ups or waits.

We also attended a "Static Show" which was a 20-25 minutes show on static electricity. The show was every bit as good as similar shows we've seen at Science World in Vancouver, but with the tiny audience we were able to sit up close and all the kids got to volunteer - some multiple times.

In the end, we stayed through lunch (somehow, our kids didn't notice or complain) and had to drag them away at about 1:00. Our 11 year old, the oldest, concluded that "it was better than Science World" (in Vancouver). The kids have requested that we go again when we next visit Kamloops.

I should mention that we heard that the BLSC just moved into this new location only two weeks ago. I understand that they have much more space and several new displays/exhibits compared to before.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank timntoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Big gym full of Science demonstrations”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

MY kids had fun. But we were a little disappointed. it is just a gymnasium full of science demonstrations. There are lots of hands on opportunities, but this is best for the under 10 crowd. There were no demonstrations on the day we went, and no real interactions with staff.
A good place to kill time on a rainy day, but not worth a special trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyGeek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Well worth the visit.”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

They say variety is the spice of life. So on our last trip to Kamloops we stopped in at the BIG Little Science center and I am glad we did. The whole family had a great time. It isn't just watching cool science stuff, we got to touch and experience the great science stuff.

I am glad we stopped by and we will do it again another time we go through Kamloops.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big Little Secret!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is a such a wonderful centre - so much to learn and do. The hands on activities really help engage kids in the sciences, and the shows are so interesting and present the information in such an accessible way kids can't help but learn and be excited while doing it! So much fun for one place. We are regulars and learn something new every time we go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loads of fun!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

One of those hidden gems that you discover unexpectedly and share with all of your best friends. Hands on rooms with dozens of options that demonstrate scientific principles but are just plain fun to explore and play with. Catch it on the right day or time od day and be treated to crazy demonstrations created by some of the former science teachers or professors who volunteer at the facility. Inexpensive family fun for sure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank whundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BIG Little Science Centre also viewed

 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to BIG Little Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing