We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay with bear watching included ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kamloops
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Kamloops B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay with bear watching included ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

To be honest we have not planned to be at this place for three nights. But unfortunately my girlfriend was really ill. So we changed the duration from 1 to 3 night at this beautyful place to relax a little bit longer. I enjoyed the breakfast and the view from the room and the bed on the river and the other side. One afternoon I looked twice to the other side - what we saw there was very fastinating. There was a mother bear with three cubs. You can see a picture enclosed.

We now for sure that we will come again if we will be in the area again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
131
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Our World Harmony Run team was passing through Kamloops and the hosts of this lovely B&B were very generous, kind and welcoming.
The place is marvelously kept, you could sit by the pond, on a swinging chair, by the river, on a terasse....
Even the breakfast plate was artistically decorated, we loved everything about our stay.
Thank you and recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milena1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I took two 15 year old exchange students (from France)here along with 3 of my own kids (13-15). They LOVED the trampoline, the tarzan rope over the river, the jucuzzi, the INCREDIBLE breakfasts, the wild horses across the river, the basketball hoop etc. etc.. Meanwhile I relaxed, watched the fun the kids had and felt so rejuvenated when we hit the road once more! Cynthia and Gord could not have been kinder. Why is this B & B not rated # 1! I cannot imagine a better place!!!! I would never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Great location, right on the river. Our room was the best, Eagle soar.
Plus- Big room. Private entrance. Own heat (electric fireplace) own air, own control. Extra blankets. Hot tub (we didn't use). Friendly people.One of the BEST breakfasts!

Minus- Hard Bed. Cob webs (i did some cleaning for them) Only 2 facecloths given. Key lock sticky. Small shower with poor pressure. Trains. near the tracks.- there is no fan to keep constant noise so bring your "noise maker" if you have one.

Room Tip: Pick the "eagle soar" big your "noise maker" if you like a hard bed...this place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

My Fiance and i spent one night at this bed and breakfast. As we are new to the whole experience of bed and breakfasts we did not know what to expect. This was one of the best experiences we have every shared. The accomidation was clean and private. The scenery was amazing. There is so much to do in the city but we wanted to spend our time on the Riverside Dock sipping coffee and enjoying the night sky. We will be back and thank you to Cynthia the owner for making us feel so comfortable and at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We spent 6 nights at this B and B while we were attending the Western Canada Summer Games in Kamloops as our daughter was competing. We were accompanied by 2 other couples that also stayed at the B and B. Our experience was awesome.
The property itself is very close to Kamloops and convenient to venues in the city. The grounds are well maintained and very beautiful with many different sitting areas outside to enjoy the scenery. We took advantage of the dock and sat there every morning before we went for breakfast. Many of us also enjoyed the rope swing into the river.
The breakfasts are delicious and presented in a very appealing way. We had fresh wild blueberries one morning which were a real treat on our pancakes. Portion sizes were huge - nobody left the table hungry.
The hosts are very warm and welcoming and so very helpful. They allowed us to use the BBQ several nights to cook suppers and even sat out a picnic basket with plates, cutlery, etc that we could use. Cynthia was the perfect host - not too overbearing and allowed you to feel very relaxed and comfortable.
The room itself was extremely spacious and clean. We stayed in the Eagle room and had everything we needed and more. The view from this room is spectacular and there is a telescope provided to watch the eagles soaring across the river. There is a very large closet - would easily sleep several people in there - that includes a large make-up mirror, straightener and blow dryer. All of the rooms have private entrances.
There was a couple from England staying there while we were there as well. They had travelled extensively in Canada over the years, always staying in B and B's, and mentioned that this was one of the nicest ones they had ever stayed in.
One of the the highlights of our trip there was floating down the river in inflatable chairs that we purchased cheaply from Zellers. On the first occasion we launched them from the dock at the B and B, then repeated our adventure on a second day with our destination being the dock at the B and B. I would highly recommend trying this out! Cynthia was able to provide us with life jackets so we didn't need to purchase or bring our own.
Prior to our arrival at the B and B we also spent 4 nights at another property in Kamloops owned by Cynthia. It was a small bachelor suite in a fourplex. We really enjoyed our time there as well - the place was newly renovated and very cute and modern.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canuck037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

What a surprise this was. We knew it was on the edge of the river but were taken aback by the view
This B&B is located a short distance from Kamloops.
The house is itself is quite large, very attractive and well appointed.
When my wife and I arrived there was no one home, but there was a note telling us to use the phone left at the front porch to contact Cynthia the owner.
Cynthia told us on the phone how to get to our room which was at the rear facing the river and to make ourselves at home and that she would be there to see us later that evening.
On going to the room there was a personalised plaque on the wall outside welcoming us and a bottle of wine inside the room. This we thought was a really nice touch.
It was good talking with Cynthia when we eventually met as we discovered we had much in common.
The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and served in a beautiful bright and airy room.
We also got to chat with some very interesting fellow guests.
Kamloops was also not what we expected and we were pleasantly surprised.
We had a lovely meal at the Irish Pub.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Riverside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2664 Thompson Dr, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 4L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Valleyview
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kamloops
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing