We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good But Is It Your Style”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kamloops
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacQueen's Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Kamloops B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very Good But Is It Your Style”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed just the 1 night in mid September enroute from Jasper on the way to Vancouver.The location is on the fringe of town in an estate high up on the slopes. It is covenient to the highway if you are just passing through but a distance from downtown. The home is impressive from the outside being in a quiet street. We were met with a warm and friendly welcome. We had the Rose room on the upstairs level. There is plenty of space with a king bed, good storage areas and an ensuite with excellent lighting and shower. There is also an array of special extras such as sherry, chocolates, fruit and the like. The furnishings and fittings are high quality however the decor is overpowering. There is an upstairs sitting room again nice but not our style surrounded with dolls. The outside patio is inviting and pleasant however the view is best from homes on the other side of the road.
Pat and Sam are pleasant, social and conversation is easy.
Breakfast was non negotiable at a late 8.30am to suit the hosts rather than the guests. Breakfast was very good with fruit served in a parfait style glass, coffee/tea is made to suit, eggs souffle in a round dish, however we found the setting of candles, background music, doiles on place mats and the feeling to be careful not to touch anything, more suitable for dinner rather than breakfast. They did accommodate my wife's special diet very well.
There are some eating places just a short drive down the hill but the prices are on the high side compared with the club hotel.
Yes this place is high quality and excellent value for money but it's more a magazine showpiece than a smart B&B. It was good for our purpose but we found it too pretentious for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Clarify your breakfast time before making a booking. Be aware that the decor is strong and tizzy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed at MacQueen's at the tail end of an extended summer trip to Alaska where we stayed mainly in B&Bs. Having stayed in a large number B&Bs on our trip, we learned to distinguish between the good ones and and great ones. MacQueen's Manor is one of the great ones. Our room was large, very comfortable, and spotless. The breakfast was excellent. Pat was a welcoming and knowledgeable hostess who gave us some spot on ideas of things to do in Kamloops and also recommended a wonderful restaurant for us to have an anniversary dinner. The place was also a great value. If you visit Kamloops, definitely stay at MacQueen's Manor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donaldsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Pat was the perfect host - she was very personable and welcoming. She served up a great breakfast in the morning after carefully checking about dietary requirements. We had a great chat over breakfast - just like old friends coming for breakfast rather than paying lodgers.

Best of all, after we accidentally left our jackets behind in the room, Pat was great about posting them to one of our next stops so we could collect them - it was very much appreciated - thanks again Pat!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbalic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

If you're reading reviews to decide where to stay, look no further. The couple are SO lovely, I can't stress enough just how warm, professional, yet friendly they are!!
The house is cosy, at night you can sit on the decking and over-look Kamloops.
I stayed here for one night on route through the rockies in June and I honestly didn't want to leave. Im gluten intolerant, and we advised before staying, and om my goodness - can this women serve!! I was given fresh fruit, egg souffle, bluberry muffins, toast, delishious coffee, juice...It was the best and most memorable breakfast I might ever have had.
The bed is super comfy, plus it has a heating device, seperate for each side, massive flat screen TV, kitchenette, the room is spacious, the shower good.
I will forever recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKate82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at this B&B in early Sept- on a stop-over from Whistler to Banff. This B&B is excellent- Pat (the Host) is great, the B&B is spotless and breakfast was fantastic. You can tell that Pat really takes pride in her breakfast. Great value also. We would definitely stay if every back in Kamloops again and I would highly recommend a stay to anyone. Thanks Pat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hol2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My boyfriend and I had planned to stay at MacQueen's Manor at the beginning of September. However, due to an illness in the family we have had to postpone our trip. Pat was extremely understanding of the circumstances surrounding the cancellation and assured us that we are always welcome at MacQueen's Manor "even if just for a cup of coffee."

We look forward to staying here when we reschedule our trip. This type of warm hospitality is exactly why we choose to stay in B&Bs!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliabee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Strongly suggested, warm hospitality, kosy setting excellent breafast.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisaColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
329 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacQueen's Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacQueen's Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: MacQueen's Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1049 Laurel Place, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1R1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing