We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous b and b!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kamloops
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacQueen's Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Kamloops B&B and Inns
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous b and b!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this B and B in September 2012. What struck us most was the attention to detail. The room was immaculate and there were many little touches that showed that the host really cared about her guests and enjoyed running her B and B. The breakfast was yummy and it was an outstanding place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stayed at this B&B for one night on our way to Alberta. We had both the rose room and the pink room. Hosts were very friendly. Rooms were large and comfortable. We had the top floor of the house which included our two rooms (one with a separate sitting room) as well as the main living room. located on top of a hill, easy access from the highway, in a residential 'gated' community. breakfast was delicious with a fresh fruit salad served in parfait glasses, freshly baked muffins and egg souffles with toast. The only negative would be the decor which was pretentious and overwhelming from all the figurines to lace doilies to all the dolls in the living room (on the sofas, cabinets, etc). even the breakfast table had too much china, glass, gold rimmed parfait glasses, doilies, etc. i felt like i had stepped into a museum of sorts. would stay again if it was just for one night but not for any extended period of time. others may find the decor appealing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Had a nice stay here in the summer when i was passing through Kamloops. Pat and Sam were very friendly hosts, and made a great breakfast. We stayed in the blue room which was clean and nice, but I felt a bit dated. Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone who is visiting Kamloops.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aregma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marten River, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We are from Ontario and have just spent 2 weeks at MacQueen's B & B while we visited family and toured Kamloops and surrounding area. How wonderful it was to know that at the end of each day we could return to our cozy, beautifully appointed room to relax with television or free internet access for our computer. In the morning we were treated to a scrumptious breakfast which was different every morning. The hospitality that Pat and Sam extended to us was second to none. Thank you for looking after us so royally. We will definitly be back and will recommend to family travelling west

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

MacQueen's Manor B&B was recommended to us by staff at the Kamloops Visitor Centre as being a place where our particular needs might be addressed. Our trip involved both urban and wilderness activities. We had no desire to spend a few days in the city of Vancouver with our canoe tied to the roof of our car and all of our camping gear shoved in a corner of the hotel room. We contacted Pat and asked to reserve a room for one night each before and after our time in Vancouver and we asked if it were possible that she would have a secure place where we could leave our canoe and gear while we headed to the city. She offered her garage for our canoe and gear and booked us for our two desired nights.

Everything went smoothly from the first email, through our phone conversations to the great service we received during our stay.

The B&B is lovely and you feel as though you are staying with friends.

Sam helped us unload into the garage when we arrived. Pat consulted with us about any special dietary requirements and about what time would suit us for breakfast to be served, we were flexible and agreed with the time preference of the other guests.

As other reviewers have said, the breakfasts that Pat prepares are delightful and beautifully presented. Her coffee is delicious, and as coffee lovers (coffee snobs?) we don't often say that!

The house is immaculately clean and the rooms are outfitted with everything you might need plus some extras that add a special something. We stayed in two different rooms, the blue room downstairs our first night and then when we came back a few days later the pink room upstairs. Both were very comfortable.

We enjoyed breakfast conversations with Pat and Sam and the other guests and went on our way rested and refreshed.

You know you've been at a good B&B when you find yourself talking about the possibility of turning your own home into a B&B after your visit is over. Pat and Sam do a great job and they make it look effortless.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigrid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed at Pat and Sam's B&B for two nights in late July during a two-week trip through the B.C. Rockies. She, like my two previous hostesses on this trip, is very friendly and outgoing, and I found myself having multiple pleasant converations with her. It is a nice, quiet neighborhood. There is a major shopping mall nearby with numerous stores and restaurants, but be aware that downtown Kamloops is about a 10-minute drive away.

Breakfast was terrific both mornings -- fruit parfait, eggs, bacon, toast and beverage the first day; stuffed orange French toast, bacon, fruit and beverage the second day. The family staying upstairs was leaving early on the second day, as was I, and Pat graciously agreed to an earlier breakfast (8 a.m.) so all of us could get on our way.

One caveat: I stayed in the Blue Room downstairs, and make no mistke: It was stunning, and no detail of comfort was overlooked. But, I would recommend requesting one of the upstairs rooms, which I'm told are just as gorgeous. The only problem with the Blue Room is every sound from above -- whether it's footsteps or someone in the bathroom -- comes through.

I most definitely would stay here again, and if per chance I happened to be the only guest that night, I would request the Blue Room -- it really is that nice, aside from the sound factor. If I wasn't the only guest, I'd stay here anyway, but just request one of the upstairs rooms instead.

One more note on the plus side: By Kamloops, I was at the midpoint of my two-week trip, and had penciled in plans to find a laundromat to do a quick load. But Pat will throw in load for you. She quoted me $10, washed, dried and folded, but charged me just $5 because all I had was some underwear, socks, and a couple of running T-shirts. Even if it had been $10, it would have been well worth it to have that get done while I was out sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muskrat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Our 2nd stay at Macqueens Manor. We loved it the first time and it was even better the 2nd!This is an establishment that feels like home, extremely comfortable with every thing that one could possibly need. The breakfast is to die for and every type of diet will be catered for. We even got a bag of muffins to take on our way! If you're tired from travelling and feel in the need of some TLC, this is the best place to stay!!

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room which had the bonus of a mini kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacQueen's Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacQueen's Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: MacQueen's Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1049 Laurel Place, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1R1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing