We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MacQueen's Manor Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Scott's Inn and Restaurant - Kamloops(Kamloops)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranchland Inn(Kamloops)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Plaza Hotel(Kamloops)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 540(Kamloops)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
51
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
7
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2009

MacQueens is not a place to kick-back and relax – you might knock something over.

From the website we knew we were going to be staying in a home with a somewhat chintzy appearance, but we were still stunned by the amount of knick-knacks around the place.

Our room, the Rose Room, was spotless – not a speck of dust around the ornaments. It was just about big enough, but it helped that our suitcases fitted the walk-in robe. The bed was comfy – the 14” TV just about adequate. The bathroom didn’t want to be any smaller.

The other two guest rooms were also occupied, which made for interesting and entertaining conversation at breakfast – one of the reasons, apart from cost, that we like this style of accommodation.

The breakfast table settings were overloaded with china and glass – surprise, surprise. Candle-lit too, for some reason. But this was their style, and they did it very well. The food was beautifully prepared and plentiful.

The MacQueens were excellent hosts, with good ideas for dinner and shopping locally. All in all, an excellent overnight place to stay, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This was the most beautiful B&B I'd ever stayed in. It was clear that the owners had paid attention to the smallest details. We stayed in the Rose Room, which has an en suite bathroom, but there are 2 other rooms - Pink Room has a separate living room and bathroom and the Blue Room is a self contained unit with kitchenette. When we arrived, there was a basket with fruit and snacks to greet us and fresh flowers. There's also tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The house is in a quiet location but within driving distance (5 mins) of shopping malls and restaurants. The owners can suggest some local eateries. There is a good view of Kamloops from the balcony because the house is on the hill.

The breakfast was the real highlight of our stay. All guests sit down to a candle lit breakfast together and we started with a fresh fruit salad, then muffins and then a cooked breakfast. The owners are apparently able to accommodate various dietary requirements.

The owners were lovely too. After breakfast we spent a good hour chatting to them.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

My husband and I stayed here on a trip through the Rockies. We found the place wonderful. The house was lovely. Our hosts were warm and friendly and did everything they could to make us comfortable. The room was spacious and immaculate. I am unable to eat gluten and I informed our hosts of this issue. The next morning, I had a gluten free breakfast that was absolutely amazing. It was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts over the years and this one stands out as one of the best.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AlbertaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

This house is not a B and B it's a five star boutique hotel with superb hosts and a breakfast that is top of the line. The owners clearly love what they do and enjoy their visitors. McQueen deserves the Number One slot for B and B's in Kamloops. And after you stay here - and write another five star review - it will achieve that lofty status. The honour will be richly deserved. Don't pass on this place or you'll be left out in the cold.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kapulanikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at MacQueen's Manor, in Kamloops for one night, en route back from the Rockies to Vancouver.

We had a great stay there. We have stayed in many B&Bs all over the world - England, Scotland, Australia, etc.. but this one tops it all, especially for the breakfast.

We stayed in the Blue Room. We had our own mini-fridge, microwave and sink. Pat also provided a fruit basket - an apple and a banana, some biscuits (a packet with cream and a packet without), there was a bowl of sweets and she even had cognac (or maybe it was something else) in the room for the guests.
The wardrobe had hangers, a bathrobe and some videos that you could watch on the TV if you wanted to. This room is located on the ground floor. I think the other 2 rooms are located one the first floor. She had towels, soap, shampoo and even 2 types of body lotion. There was also a magazine rack in the bathroom.

Our room (and the rest of the place) was spotlessly clean. There wasn't even any dust in the grooves of the things she had in the room. I don't know how she does it. I swear I could eat off the floor!!! The bed was also very comfy and we had lots of pillows.

If you like country style decor, then this is the place for you. If you don't like country style decor, but like household furnishings/interiors in general, you will also like the place because it is nice to see that she is house-proud and pays a lot of attention to detail.

The living room and dining room are on the first floor, together with a balcony/patio that guests can use.

The dining table was very elaborately laid out. It reminded me of many proper sit-down dinners that I have had in Parisian homes.

Breakfast was lovely. Pat sat us - but not to worry if you're not comfotable with that. You do end up with your partner/wife/husband/friend next to you. We had a fruit cocktail, muffins, toast, a cheese and egg souffle and bacon. The souffle and bacon were garnished with tomatoes and a gooseberry. There was also tea or coffee and I think some others had infusions as well. She also gave each of us a glass of juice and kept coming back to see if we needed any refills.

Everything was laid out very much in a five star setting - and the meal definitely reminded us of five star meals in some fancy hotels. Some people are not comfortable with that and might prefer a more laid back atmosphere, but no worries, the atmosphere was relaxed. I mention this because I know some people are a little uncomfortable with which fork to use and etc, but really, food is meant to be enjoyed.

They had a lovely little Maltese - VERY CUTE. We have one too, so, of course, we are partial to that breed. :-)

As a parting gift, they gave us a punnet of freshly picked cherries (picked the day before) which we ate along our way back to Vancouver. They were delicious.

All in all, a great place to stay. Great value for money. A very luxurious stay at a very affordable price. The hospitality was very good as well. If we ever go back to Kamloops, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jade_du
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews