We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for one night on our way back to Edmonton. Great new hotel. Would stay here again. Service was awesome.

It's right next to a train tracks. I stayed on the train track side but honestly did not hear a thing. I could see how this could be a draw back for some people but honestly you gotta stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phonolog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    284
    80
    57
    20
See reviews for
174
331
27
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had been told not to expect much from accommodations in Kamloops but with the opening of the Sandman Signature Kamloops no longer lacks an upscale hotel. The Sandman is nice, new and extremely comfortable. The bathroom had all the usual amenities plus two thick terry bathrobes. There was a large, modern sofa so we didn't have to watch TV from the bed. One minor complaint: we're not fans of the duvet/comforter trend in hotels and the one on our king bed was extremely heavy. On the plus side our room overlooked the lovely Riverfront Park and was extremely quiet. If there was train noise we certainly didn't hear it. The AC was easy to control and kept us consistently comfortable despite the almost 100 degree heat outside. Numerous restaurants were within walking distance throughout the cute downtown area. Our visit was brief so we can't comment on service at the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the river side for quiet and a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank PippasMom641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I travel on business a lot & I am eager to try new spots. I tried the new Sandman Signature in Kamloops. The hotel is very nice, the rooms are large & the staff are great. The on site restaurant, Sharks Club has great food & great beverage selections. You know the old saying "Location Is Everything". This is where everything goes sour. The hotel Is about 100 meters from British Columbia's busiest rail lines. Heavy freight trains go past the hotel on average every 40min 24 hours a day. So if your room is on The City side of the hotel, say goodbye to a rest full sleep. No problem you say? I'll just book a room on the park side.....Not a chance. All the park side rooms are blocked off for passengers on the "Rocky Mountain Express" So if you visit there during the tourist season your out of luck. It's really too bad, because this hotel really had potential...I suggest you give this one a pass & you should stay on the upper side of Kamloops.

Room Tip: Do not get a City Side Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel. It certainly won't be our last stay as the service was fabulous and everyone friendly and helpful. My husband chose this for it's location as we were able to walk to anything we wanted to do from a great dinner at the Keg or a walk around downtown and the park. This meant we could both enjoy our celebration drinks and not worry about driving afterward. Jay at the front desk even upgraded us to a fabulous king suite when he found out it was our 40th anniversary. We did not find the trains kept us awake. It would be nice if there were a choice of pillows. Great for propping but not so wonderful for sleeping on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The room was spacious and nicely decorated, and being a new hotel everything was fresh and new. The staff that we met were universally charming and helpful. The location is just fine, ideally placed between the main street and the park/waterfront. I suppose my only gripe would be that, travelling with a 14 yr old, it would have been nice to be able to drop into the bar and while away the evening in a corner playing cards (it was almost 40c outside so we were pretty thirsty) but our son wasn't allowed in, thus banishing us to our room! Otherwise, it was great.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Philking64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First time at this property, have stayed at many other Signature properties. The decor was very stylish both inside the lobby and the rooms themselves. Now admittedly I had a room on the rear of the building (facing the park), I never heard a train, although a couple of times I felt trains passing, it wasn't enough to bother me.

I loved how the floor to ceiling windows opened, as the view over the park to the surrounding hills was stunning. My only complaint was that the Wifi was intermittent, especially when I was trying to work.

The shark club was a refreshing change, usually they are fairly dark, a typical 90's sports bar. The one at this property has huge 20' floor to ceiling windows, even with all the light coming in, it didn't detract from the huge tv screens.

I definitely will be staying here again when I'm in town at the end of August!

Room Tip: No issues with train noise on the park side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Such a beautiful new property, right across from a riverside park. Staff were lovely, room was nice, bedding great. But I am mystified that anyone would build a hotel like this practically on top of railway tracks that are used 24-7. The trains were constant all night, I never slept even one minute. Definitely will not be back. Such a shame!

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side might be quieter, but I doubt it would make much difference as the train tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SignatureKamloops, Manager at Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello and thank you for your comments. As you may know from reading other posts- depending on sleep habits- the effect varies from guest to guest when staying on the city side. Park is not effected.

Once again thanks and talk to you soon

J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,470 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Address: 225 Lorne St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing both Riverside Park and The Thompson River, Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel brings luxurious comfort and cutting edge technology in every room. This six-storey hotel has been designed from the ground up, with the expressed purpose of providing our guests a relaxed, comfortable elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing