We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bought cleaning supplies”
Review of Rider's Motor Inn

Rider's Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rider's Motor Inn
Ranked #50 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Mold in the bathroom, filthy carpets, pool not filled, hot tub disgusting,and lots of permanent tenants. Beds were clean though :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peacegal n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2009

I booked this motel because I needed a cheap place to stay with my family while attending a mountain biking race. It is located on the highway past the main part of the city, on the way to Salmon Arm. It is 15 minutes by bicycle to the Bike Ranch, an area of Kamloops where there is mountain biking trails, jump park, a downhill run, various obstacles to practice skinny's. The tourism representative from Kamloops directed me to this one and others because they were in the neighbourhood of the race. The Riders Inn boasts a outdoor swimming pool which influenced my decision aside from the price. The staff was ok but did not answer at 9am on the saturday morning when I was trying to confirm we were staying another night. The place is in a deep state of disrepair, carpets stained, windows not opening. The pool had no water in it. The room itself was tolerable and well furnished. The shower and bathroom were clean and working properly. It is a low quality place, which is alright if you are just passing by and are not prone to feeling scared when the surroundings are somewhat squalid. The place is next to the Mc Donalds so you can grab fast food if you need it. There is a bike lane in the street above that leads all the way through the town. I would not go back to that specific motel, I would try something else near by but there are a lot of dives on the side of the highway. I wish the tourism office would actually tour the place they recommend so they can gently direct you to a more appropriate accomodation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manouane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Stayed here for one night on the way to Vancouver from Banff. Guy on reception was friendly and we got our room straight away. Room itself was quite big with two double beds but they were not very comfy at all. Small TV and fridge in the room and seemed quite clean.

Location - just off the highway so great for stopping and splitting a drive up and a few diners near by and a McDonalds next door.

We only played around £25 for the night so considering that it was a bargain I guess...

However we found the place a bit ghetto. A woman in the room next to us was giving us funny looks each time we walked by (she had door open) and then posted a threatening letter on her door saying basically do not disturb for your own benefit which was just a bit weird... We did not sleep well due to the beds and thin walls so when we woke for about 4th time at 6am we took one look at each other and decided it was time to get out of dodge :)

Not really the hotels fault I guess but rating reflects our experience. I guess it gave us the authentic road trip experience!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alastair79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

My husband and I checked into the Rider Motor Inn and were very pleased to find it's a clean and pleasant place to stay. It is one of the best places we have found in the economy price range. Clean, comfortable and the staff was pleasant and cooperative despite the fact that we checked in late and then called to get the wireless internet password even later. I think we woke the person up but she was still friendly. We travel to Kamloops often and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ugogirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Alexandre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
North Shore
Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rider's Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rider's Motor Inn

Address: 1759 Trans Canada Hwy E, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 3Z6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Valleyview
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: £39 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rider's Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Rider's Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rider`s Motor Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing