We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!!!”
Review of Abc Family Restaurant - CLOSED

Abc Family Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Aberdeen
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Went for Sunday breakfast as it was close to our hotel. We were seated right away. Our server stopped by and asked if we wanted coffee/tea. Hubby asked for a sprite or 7-up to come with his meal - and was told he would have to remind her.... we waited 10 minutes to order our breakfast. Then waited - and waited - and waited. I noticed another table that was seated 15 minutes after us - was already eating! We then overheard another server tell her table that there was a buffet - we flagged her down and asked about it - our server did not tell us! When our food finally arrived - we questioned our server and she said - "oh ya - we have a buffet - but too late - your food is here" and walked away. I then noticed I had the wrong meal - I thought perhaps she picked up someone elses order...we stopped a server and told her it was the wrong meal and could she please send back our server. When she finally came back - she told me it was what i ordered - and I said no - even the toast was wrong! She argued with me and told me that yes - i was looking at sourdough toast.... and we pointed out that the other plate had sourdough, and the omelette wasnt even close to what was ordered! She grabbbed up my plate and walked away. We decided that we did not want to wait any longer for a new meal to be cooked - as my husband was almost finished his. We got up to leave and we then had to wait almost 10 minutes for the hostess to be able to ring in sales as she did not have her "card"... complete failure from start to finish!

No apology for wrong meal served!!! Never saw our server again after her stomping off with my plate!!

NEVER will we go back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamershanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    16
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good experience”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Good Food at a reasonable price. Menu varied so something for everyone. Staff very attentive, Good location for the hotels within walking distance to a number of hotels.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank older72wiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Lake Night Service”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Due to our late arrival into Kamloops, it was 8:30 PM before we got to the restaurant. Scheduled to close at 9 PM, when we inquired about Service we were told that timing was of no issue and that the kitchen was Open. Our waiter patiently took our order and (when one item was not then available) promptly returned with an apology and offered and upgraded side at no additional cost. That is service ! Food was hot and plentiful !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
231 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were staying at Days Inn so decided to dine here as it was next door. Our server was very pleasant but food was of fair quality only and service was slow. The restaurant had also run out of draught beer and French dressing. A pleasant outlook towards downtown from some tables. This restaurant is not well organised.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John_M255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
441 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good Food But Unorganized Restaurant”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I had the chicken pot pie which was quite good. It came with a salad which was very fresh. My husband had the pulled pork soup which he said was good as well. The only bad thing was that he had to eat his soup with a teaspoon as they could not find the soup spoons. Really???? The prices were a bit higher than I thought they were going to be but were about average. I may have been comparing this type of restaurant to those I have been in in the U.S.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abc Family Restaurant also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing