We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner by the water”

Storms On The River
Ranked #20 of 335 Restaurants in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$33
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: City Center
Calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dinner by the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent food and wonderful service. Even though there were large tables, our dinner was brought out quickly with the server always smiling and friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Calgary,AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    106
    44
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were seated at the Patio where the sun was in our eyes, the helpful stewardess immediately gave us a big sun umbrella, which made it much better to sit. Meal was delicious, it was lovely sitting at the waters edge and seeing the boats go past.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DinmeherBunshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and a Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Decent Prime Rib but the Au jus pushed it to the next level. The view was outstanding and the service was great as well. The exterior of the building is a bit misleading but its a great place overall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
705 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“This restaurant is a kamloops icon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

its been here for a very long time ! I have eaten here many many times. always good. great ( big ) menu. lots of choices. good sides to choose from also. service has always been excellent. last night was my dad's 92nd birthday dinner party. the place was packed, the food did come out a little on the slow side, but it was excellent. had the spinach dip, and the scallops starter. shared a ceaser salad ( with shrimp ) . and then the salmon for main course. lots of great tasting veggies.
my only pet peeve is the décor. I don't like black. but, as my friend says, ' you're not there to eat the walls ! " . lol give it whirl, I think you will be impressed. oh- the patio , overlooking the river is quite scenic too !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fast food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The quality of the food in this restaurant which adjoins the Riverland Inn was excellent. There is an extensive menu and winelist and diners can dine in the restaurant or al fresco on the patio. The downside was the desperation of waiting staff to grab your plates before you had finished eating! The restaurant was busy but not that busy! Staff training needs to be improved if we are to return!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Storms On The River also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Storms On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing