We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique flavors”
Review of Amsterdam

Amsterdam
Ranked #21 of 342 Restaurants in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Dutch, Canadian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: With our unique, warm Dutch ambiance, we offer fresh, made-in-house traditional breakfast, authentic Dutch Pannenkoeks, genuine Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, healthy & glutein-free choices, made-from-scratch soups, fresh salads, and globally inspired sandwiches.
Lone Butte
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique flavors”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Small quaint restaurant set off from the mall on the same property with exceptional Corn Beef!! I've had the CB and sauerkraut numerous times with their monstrous dill pickles while my spouse prefers their exceptional crapes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    42
    7
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
465 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Much blander and mediocre than you would expect”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Yes, it's an edible breakfast but that's about it. The ham is sliced cold cut thin and is so water plumped that it has no taste, the scrambled eggs are rubbery to the point of bouncing, and the "hashbrowns" should be noted as not being hashbrowns at all but basic small square cross-section french fries that have been cut up into half inch slices. The coffee is generally acrid and unpleasant, the restaurant itself is dingy and not exactly spotlessly clean, and if it wasn't for the very friendly and capable service, this place would have earned itself a POOR rating. The worst part is when you sit down at 8:35 am and realize that five minutes earlier you could have had the Dutchman for $4.95 while now it's essentially the same thing but called the Canadian and costs TWICE AS MUCH. I'm all for early bird specials, but you're really slapping your customers across the face when you don't have a "special" at all but just double the cost of a meal when the clock hits 8:30. Extremely poor management decision. I sure won't come back to this place. Yuck.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank metaungulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karisha_canada, Manager at Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Customer,
I am very sorry to hear that you were that extremely dissapointed in your meal. It would be very helpful to both of us if you had expressed your dissatisfaction to our friendly staff to give us the chance to inherence your experience. In regards to Early Bird Specials, the Canadian Breakfast and the Dutchmen do differ in the portion size and protein reflecting the price difference. In addition to this, Early Bird Specials meant to bring in an early crowd instead of supplying at cost meals all day long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good lunch and great breakfast - Dutch style”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had both a lunch and a breakfast at this Dutch food restaurant. They are open only for breakfast and lunch. Reasonably priced especially before 8:30 am breakfast specials. Very good service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thegrandstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Dutch food ”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I could not recommend a better place to have the first meal of the day. All round awesome restaurant experience. We're accommodating for our toddler too.

Helpful?
Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Food is fantastic and service is always excellent! Always have the breakfast skillet, lots of fresh veggies and they always use local products!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amsterdam also viewed

 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing