We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, friendly, but dont stay here for a peaceful sleep.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelowna International Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelowna International Hostel
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small, friendly, but dont stay here for a peaceful sleep.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

I enjoyed staying here. The staff were friendly and always willing to help. They rooms were small with as many beds as could possibly fit, but relatively clean. As other posters said, it turns into a bit of a party house at times, but if you expect that its not too bad.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rintintin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    11
    13
    2
    11
See reviews for
2
9
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We had booked a private room for 3 nights but someone had messed up our reservation dates and let somebody else stay in our room. They guy who picked us up from greyhound said they'd put us in the more expensive hostel which is twice the price and give us a night free, but this did not seem to be passed on to anyone else in the hostel. It felt like everytime we walked in the hostel we were getting harrassed to pay for this night that we were told would be free. On the last night the guy who asked us to pay for this night spoke to us so rude. It was a pain being in the other hostel as we had to check out by 10 so we never got settled anywhere. It was as though we'd made the mess up when infact it was them, we had our reservation printed out with us. The room was okay but didnt have any cabinates to unpack. One morning two of the people working there decided to have a chat about their lives outside our door. Other than that it is quite cheap so I guess thats a good thing and it was fairly clean. That said there were some members of staff really friendly and helfull. I'd be put off staying there again because of the reservation mess up and their lack of communication and the attitude of the guy on the last night. If you're on a tight budget though I guess you have to stay where you can!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

my girlfriend and i made a reservation here over a month ago only to arrive and find that some incompetent fool had confused our reservation. it is around four in the morning and i can't sleep because of some dude and his sawing wood right above us. this is the kind of thing you should expect in a hostel which is why we booked a private room but had it given away to someone else that happened to walk in and ask for it. we have driven across the country only to get a parking ticket outside the hostel where we have been treated like stray feral dogs. traveling with Hostel international all over the world i would say that the service in kelowna is the worst, bar none. i would never come back here and i would strongly recommend any possible alternative to anyone traveling through this city.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanfrisken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

A little crazy when you first arive, but it grows on you

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

I have come to accept hostels as being places to meet new people, have some drinks chat and have a good time. I have stayed at over 30 different hostels, appreciate that they cost less than hotels and EXPECT noise. BY FAR this was the most ridiculous hostel I have EVER stayed at. I’m 24 and like to have fun, but this was apparently a party place for people from around Kelowna in addition to staff and other hostellers. It was so [--] loud. I stayed there from Friday to Saturday, and not only was it noisy until 12:00pm both nights when people left for the bar, but on Saturday they came back a couple hours later in an obnoxious drunken state (again this included people who were not paying to stay there). The problem was… I had plans both mornings to be up by 6:30 to go skiing. So yes, I’m pissed I paid to stay there, as well as the apparent lack of management, the noise after 11pm, and the fact the hostel is treated like a dorm room party house. Best part is… the hostel’s website claims saturday to be “another relaxing MOVIE night.” So yes, if you are 18, you want to get wasted and can sleep in, then this is the place for you! If this is not the case... find another hostel/hotel

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicandtravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

Descent small mountain town hostel.. nothing too odd except the receptionist can be cranky sometimes.

Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LeoCavalcanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
The Royal Anne Hotel
The Royal Anne Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#14 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Central City
Samesun Kelowna
Samesun Kelowna
#2 of 30 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
The Chesterfield Inn
#5 of 47 in Kelowna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelowna International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelowna International Hostel

Property: Kelowna International Hostel
Address: 2343 Pandosy Street, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 1T5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kelowna International Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Kelowna International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelowna International Hostel Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing