We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointments”
Review of Playa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playa del Sol
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed in a loft, two bedroom, top condominium, at a cost of $1,600 Canadian for four nights, so assumed that the unit would be in great shape. But we soon discovered garbage under the pull-out sofa bed; what appeared to be spots of blood on the upstairs bathroom wall and on the duvet for the downstairs bed; a stained (brown) bathroom towel; and tar on the kitchen floor. After being told about free local calls, we also realized that the downstairs and upstairs phones did not work, and that there was no telephone directory in the unit, to find addresses or numbers of restaurants, local venues, etc. When we informed the office, the only action taken was to provide a spare telephone directory, and to fix the upstairs phone (the main floor phone remained broken, and there was no housekeeping service provided, although we had to comply with strict rules about cleaning the unit upon departure to avoid any fee). For the amount paid, I think we will look elsewhere for our next visit to Kelowna, such as the Manteo Resort, which was across the road and located on the lakeshore.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria-VIBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

The room and view were fantastic and I loved the location. One of the best restraurants was down stairs and the Eldorado Bar and Grill across the street. 2 public beaches just steps away. Had a nice coffee shop down stairs also and they opened at 6:30 which was neat. The staff could not have been more helpful and Graham and Amanda were very helpful in showing us around. I have stayed over in Kelowna many times but have never had this luxury before. Very safe and well maintained. I rate it a 5 star. Dean, Terry, Jason and Dallas loved it.

Room Tip: Talk to Graham and be nice. He's a great guy and knows his stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thedean61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We had a great unit belonging to a private owner and it was fantastic. The problem is with the building itself. Access moving in and out is extremely inconvienient so if you travel just bring what you need excess is difficult to move in and out. The main entrance only services part of the building???? I would consider this an adult building however our family had fun. The park is close buy and Kelowna H2O center is near by as well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blacklabnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The resort was more than we expected,Graham told us we would be happy and we were.Every part of the resort was clean,the pool and hot tub were great.Underground parking,full time security,coffe shop,veiws of the lake and overlooking the pool area from room 641 made it perfect.Internet ,w/d,bbq,air con,granite countertops what more do you need on a holiday.We will go there agian and so should you.Call Graham and he will take care of you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylepetroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Stayed at Playa Del Sol for one month. One Bedroom + Den had kitchen w/appliances, dining, living room, master bedroom, one bath, den, deck, bbq, washer/dryer, internet access, 3 TVs, underground parking. Kitchen well equipped for 6 people. Dining/bar seating for 9. Very spacious pool & deck area on third floor above street level. Arrangements were handled very smoothly by Liz @ Okanagan Vacation Rental Management (ovrm.ca). Prompt communication answered any questions.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gschneider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

no shampoo or conditioner in the bathroom, utensils are not complete in the kitchen, a leak in the washer caused a flood in the living room and the main bedroom (unable to do laundry). Unable to use the BBQ stove on the patio because the unit is facing a swamp with mosquitoes. Chose this place because of the large outdoor pool. Unfortunately, we were unable to swim in it because the wind was blowing too hard (I will choose an indoor pool next time!). There is only one restaurant, one coffee shop and one Spa place in the building. I was going to use the service at the Spa but it was not open (even though it was advertised to be open on the window and in the hotel's advertisements)...so disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijoujohnng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed at Playa del Sol for a weekend this August, flying in late on Friday night and departing Sunday night. The property is new, well-kept and beautifully decorated; we were very pleased with our stay. Liz, the rental property manager, provided great service. She met us at the property - despite our 9pm arrival time - and gave us a full tour, even showing us where to park in the parkade and then taking us up to our room. She spent time telling us about some attractions and then was kind enough to extend our checkout until Sunday evening because we arrived so late on Friday night. It was amazingly generous and really made our stay that much better.

The location is great, there are partial views of the lake from some of the suites and a beach just up the road. My only comment would be to try to get a suite that doesn't face Lakeshore Drive as it is busy and can be a bit noisy. That being said, having the view of the lake more than made up for the traffic noise. There is security onsite, a restaurant, cafe and spa. The pool and fitness centre are new and never seemed to be too busy.

I will definitely be returning to Playa del Sol and would highly recommend it. We give it five stars and two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calgary0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Hotel Eldorado
#1 of 34 in Kelowna
552 reviews
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Central City
Delta Hotels Grand Okanagan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myra Canyon Ranch
#1 of 35 in Kelowna
224 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa del Sol

Address: 654 Cook Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range: £77 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa del Sol is a 4* Luxury Condominium Resort in the heart of the breathtaking Okanagan Valley. Cool off in the 3rd level swimming pool, warm up in the hot tub, pamper yourself in the Spa, tone-up in our fitness facility, or de-stress in the steam room. You can barbeque by the pool or indulge yourself at the Resort’s tantalizing Cabana Bar & Grille. Enjoy steaming lattes at the Coffee Shop. Whether you want to play or relax, Playa Del Sol has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Sol Hotel Kelowna
Playa Del Sol Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing