We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Staff, Horrible Suite”
Review of Mission Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mission Park Inn
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We arrived on the 23rd of July to an orderly but run down suite. The sofa bed mattress was useless. It was like laying on straight up coils. When we woke up there were mice droppings on the kitchen floor, between the fridge and base cabinets, inside of the cupboards and on top of the counters. My husband took photos as evidence for our complaint but there was no need to produce them. There were droppings visible behind the front check-in desk. We could not get out of there fast enough. The staff were friendly and hospitable although the accommodations were not.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midnite_dreary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

I don't know how these other people liked this place so much. I stayed there with my two boys for a baseball tournament and it was awful. When we first got there the room smelled funny and the air conditioner sounded like a lawn mower running all the time. I decided it can't be that bad so stayed the reviews were good online. That was stupid!! After checking in with other baseball families found out the hotel had a bad mice problem. Coming back from baseball I found mouse droppings on the kitchen counters. As the day proceeded I found not one but two bed bugs. Freaked out I tried to book another hotel but all was full due to baseball tourney in town. Complained to front office and they moved me to another room but was trying to tell me it wasn't a bed bug. I am an RN and know what a bed bug looks like. NEVER STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100Mocha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki_J_Hughes, Manager at Mission Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

It is with regret that I responding to this review. It is always our hope that our customers leave satisfied. I am so sorry that this was your experience at the Mission Park Inn. I do have to admit that we had a problem with a family of mice that was isolated to a certain corner of our building. We immediately called the proffessional pest control company we work with, The Bugman, and he came down and personally inspected the units. We shut the units affected down and have since eradicated the problem. We have also put additional preventative measures so we do not have a repeat problem. I do give you my sincerest apologies but it is unfortunately something that sometimes happens as these rooms border a wooded area and an empty lot that is a haven for small critters. Our property is inspected once a month by The Bugman as per our contract so these things don't happen but it did.
I would like to say to though that we absolutely do not have bed bugs. All of my housekeeping staff is trained to detect this and we also had the Bugman double check to verify that we do not have bed bugs.
Not only do I manage this property but I also live on site with my family. I take these problems very seriously as I do not want to personally live in an environment where there is an infestation of any sort and I do not want any of my guests to ever have to experience any of these issues as well.
Again I am very sorry that this happened during your stay. I would not want to personally have that experience myself. If you would like to contact me personally for any reason I am available Monday - Friday @ 1-800-667-6716.

Sincerely,
Nicki Hughes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed from the 4 to the 9th of July and can't find any fault with anything. (Well maybe the sofa mattress could be improved upon.) Everything was clean and the staff were so accommodating. Special props to the Filipino lady who worked there. Always smiling and willing to go the extra mile. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki_J_Hughes, Manager at Mission Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you so much for your review! It will give me great pleasure to pass on the compliment to Mary Jean, who is the employee you spoke of and to the other staff members who all work as a team to make this place the best it can be. You will be happy to know that our shipment of new hide a bed mattresses came in...sorry they had not arrived before your stay!
We will look forward to having you stay with us again sometime.

Best regards,
Nicki Hughes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Always great staff, great value, super clean and even re-done and upgraded now. Perfect for families!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki_J_Hughes, Manager at Mission Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you Heather for your review. It's always great to see a review that states what we always work hard to acheive. We appreciate your business and will continually keep striving to make your stay better than it was the time before.

Best regards,
Nicki Hughes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Since my stay in May/June 2011, the Mission Park Inn has gone through several renovations and upgrades. It looks GREAT! We (my pup and I) were remembered and made to feel very welcome upon our return. The inn is a family-run establishmen and the staff are extremely friendly - they make their guests feel right at home. The units are clean and well-kept. My unit looked as if it had been recently renovated and was equipped with a newer microwave and flatscreen TV. Being in the Pandosy area, this place is close to everything one needs .. parks, eating establishments, shops and boutiques and is not too far from the downtown core.
I would not hestitate to stay again. This is one place I would gladly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wej2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This accommodation is suitable for families with children of any age. The location is across the road from the beach with an excellent playground and an in season concession stand. Our unit had a separate bedroom, full kitchen and bath. We were 3 adults and a child so two adults slept comfortably on the hide-a-bed. The owner-manager went out of her way to accommodate our late arrival. This facility shows some wear as it wasn't built yesterday. The rates are excellent, given the area.
Two notes to add to previous comments:
The pool is seasonal and was not available because we stayed late in the season (end of Sept.). The owner ensured we knew this when we made reservations.
This facility still uses keys for entry.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have balconies. Families with children govern yourselves accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TeachersTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in a clean and spacious one bedroom suite at a great price. The swimming pool was clean and inviting, and the beach is right across the road! The fully equipped kitchen (but without a dishwasher) with a supermarket almost next door really helped the pocketbook. Plus, we could have used a bar-b-q if so inclined. The overhead fan in the bedroom made sleeping easier, though the bed could have been a little more comfortable. A hairdryer would have been nice, plus having the cleaning staff come by the room earlier in the day than when they eventually came, but those things were minor. I will be going back to this place for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyLouC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki_J_Hughes, Manager at Mission Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

I just wanted to take the time to thank you for your review. I am happy you had a good time during your stay here and it's lovely to hear that you would come and stay with us again. You will be happy to know that we will be purchasing hairdryers and irons and ironing boards for each of the units before the year ends so the next time you come we will have these additional amenties for you to use.
We also normally enter the units much earlier for services but during September we stayed so busy due to the gorgeous weather and a lot of our staff move on at the end of August.
We look forward to having you come and stay with us again.

Best regards,
Nicki Hughes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#14 of 34 in Kelowna
759 reviews
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#12 of 34 in Kelowna
181 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#18 of 34 in Kelowna
324 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Park Inn

Address: 3339 Lakeshore Rd, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3S9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range: £49 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mission Park Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a comfortable, relaxed environment right across the street from beautiful Okanagan Lake and Gyro Beach. Mission Park Inn has 43 (1) bedroom kitchen suites with apartment sized appliances. The units come equipped with everything you would need to prepare and eat a normal meal. The majority of our units have a queen sized bed in the separate bedroom and pull out sofa in the living area. The outdoor heated pool and hot tub are SEASONAL and guaranteed to be open from the May long weekend until mid September. Our BBQ and picnic area are kept open year round. Our location can't be beat! Spend the day around the pool or at the beach. Visit our amazing wineries and restaurants, play a round of golf, spend the day visiting our fruit stands, orchards or farmers markets, rent a boat or jet ski, go parasailing or zip lining. Whatever your age or travelling style Kelowna will have something to offer you. We are walking distance or a short drive away to many of these attractions. There is still lots to do in the off season. We are only a 1 hour drive to Big White Ski Resort and Silver Star Mountain. Rent snowmobiles, go tubing, cross country skiing or snowshoeing. H2O Adventure and Fitness Centre just 5 min drive away. Our front desk agents are happy to assist you with anything you may need to help make your stay more enjoyable. Teams and groups welcome. Ask us about our long term stays through the off season (mid September - mid May). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mission Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Park Inn Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing