We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offensive”
Review of Okanagan RV Park

Okanagan RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelowna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Okanagan RV Park
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Offensive”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We actually had to send a western union money made out to "Mary " personally in order to secure a nice spot which was supposedly sheltered from traffic and suitable to our small unit . On arrival - no host present ( she rarely is ) , tried hooking up found wasps nest present at at least half of the electrical hook ups , was bitten in three place ( luckily not allergic ) . The sites are untidy , weedy with prickly stuff and extremely loud due to location . While the washrooms are not dirty ,they consist of a container type unit divided into 3 sections - centre laundry , then men's on one sides women's on the other . The unit is shut tight and not ventilated until some goes in and showers , at plus 39c outside I would guess the interior had a humidex of over 50 when I went in to shower nearly fainted and staggered to the window for a breath of air only to realize why it was shut tight even though there is no air conditioning - when one opens the window it looks straight into the shower and change area - the shower curtains are light and offer no privacy from any thing . I would suggest a Walmart parking lot on a busy highway to be a luxury location compared to Okanagan RVPark in West Kelowna .....knew right away why the park was empty ! Also not everything there is done in cash ...or Western Union money order made out to Mary personally - not the RVPark ......beware !! And then beware again ! Our experience was terrible July 13,2014

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Escapee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    0
    2
    15
See reviews for
6
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our slide outs weren't working and we needed a place to hang our hat for a few weeks. We found Okanogan RV to be be very reasonable and centrally located to shopping and RV dealerships. We needed 50 amp for our brand new Big Country fifth wheel and Mary had it. One of the very few around. Mary was so FLEXIBLE, accommodating and helpful. We are shocked at the review below as we found her to be very kind,flexible and helpful, (and certainly NOT drunk!!!) especially as we were stranded with a repair problem. In the end, due to the repair problems, we ended up storing our fifth wheel there for about a month, and it was a fantastic place to have it. If you are looking for a low key, friendly, basic RV park with an excellent electricity supply, Mary has you covered! Thanks Mary, you were wonderful!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This park has permanent residents and a park manager who is obviously drunk, we were greeted by three adults and one child in a trailer with two dogs and a small child who had apparently been living there for three years. The older couple looked like they were of the lowest dignity, their daughter who seemed to be about 17 years old, looked to be on drugs, and her small child, as pretty as that poor child is, was dirty and smelled of urine. The police have been to this trailer on three occasions during our stay, as well as mental health, and the constant fighting and yelling were unbelieveable. This trailer park had poor wash facilities, washers reeked of dog urine, and were full of hair. Our stay was awful, and we would recommend that this park be inspected by the health and safety commission. This park is disgusting and the residents are and manager are creepy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

the wife and I spend the August long weekend in Kelowna and had made reservations at Okanagan RV Park and we found Mary, the owner, most accommodating and helpful; a very clean, pleasant park to stay in; if your looking for a swimming pool or grassy areas for children to play then that is not the place; the washrooms and laundry room was the cleanest anywhere. can certainly recommend !! and the price was reasonable; GREAT PLACE, GREAT VALUE !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, BC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

For the people complaining about the rude woman at the park, I don't know who you were dealing with but Mary (the lady who has owned the park since 1986) was awesome - very welcoming and helpful. She gave us a nice card with our receipt wishing us a great time at the wedding we we attending.
Yes, it is a little like a parking lot but there was ample room between sites, We didn't hear any noise from the truck fuel cardlock next door and the highway traffic was no problem for us either. I do agree it was a bit expensive at $55/night for what you get but it was the August long weekend as well as a huge music event going on and everybody in Kelowna was gouging. Bathroom and showers very clean. We do a lot of RVing and I can tell you this is quite acceptable for a night or two. We camped in a 32ft Class A motorhome. I gave it a 4 only because of the high price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpankyNanaimo_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kootenays, BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We arrived in Kelowna last spring just looking for an overnight spot. Saw this "RV park" off the highway & pulled our 40' motorhome in. I was not impressed with the park, as it was unkempt & dirty-looking, but we were tired & my hubby said, it's only for 1 night. The woman who runs it wasn't there, but a man approached us from a trailer & said he could help if we wanted a site. I asked how much, and his response of $40 shocked me, considering how the park looked! When I mentioned it, he said he'd call the woman responsible for the park. Her reply? Tell them to go to Walmart!

We opted to go to Lighthouse RV up the road. Less money, more amenities, lovely clean park, and NO ATTITUDE! Avoid this park at all costs - the Walmart parking lot IS a better option!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank KellyBS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Recently my family and I stayed at the okanagan rv park when we got there the owner (Mary) was very polite and welcoming as are stay went on I must tell you we were waiting for a spot to open up at lighthouse rv park as I was saying things turned and fast like other reviews it's right beside a very busy cardlock station and we drove right by because u don't think rv park in between and rv dealer and gas station we where there over a week $50 plus tax a night bathrooms were not cleaned once in our entire trip and the showers cost $1 for maybe 7 minutes overall this women is a con artist we payed for a month stay at $700 plus tax a month totalled $784 when we said we would be leaving that's when she turned around refused to refund would only give us a statement of payment after repeated phone calls and after a threat to go to Castanet and call the government about her pocketing money she agrees to refund but we had to pay the daily rate over $454.00 so in my experience at the rv dirt park it's a waist of space it makes the okanagan look bad and it's an insult to use the words okanagan in its name

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tipsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelowna
Super 8 West Kelowna BC
#5 of 5 in West Kelowna
409 reviews
Holiday Inn West Kelowna
#4 of 5 in West Kelowna
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A View to Remember B&B
#9 of 26 in West Kelowna
73 reviews
Central City
Samesun Kelowna
Samesun Kelowna
#2 of 35 in Kelowna
276 reviews
Alexandria House Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 26 in West Kelowna
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okanagan RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okanagan RV Park

Property: Okanagan RV Park
Address: 1865 Ross Rd, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3G4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kelowna
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Okanagan RV Park Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing