We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the Bare Essentials” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kelowna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just the Bare Essentials”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I went for a pleasure/business trip to Kelowna for the past 3 nights over the May long weekend. I'm usually a big fan of the Holiday Inn Express chain but this one didn't impress me as much as the ones in the US. Maybe it was because it was the long weekend.

No hot water in the morning. I asked reception if there was a potential that all the hot water had run out but they were in a state of denial. I get it, if it did, but that's got to affect service.

No thanks free breakfast. This room certainly can't accommodate all of it's guests. Thank goodness there is a Ricky's sharing the same parking lot. Certainly don't depend on having a comfortable warm breakfast there. They should really have made accommodation of a larger breakfast area to take into account the extra rooms. Last year we were at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott and it was so much better of an experience.

Slim pickings for parking. Man, parking is hard to find in this place. I'm not fickle but really, I don't think there are enough parking spots for all their visitors. Again, I think this may have been due to the long weekend. I contemplated parking on the street before squeezing into a tight spot. Good thing I didn't bring my Vette and you shouldn't either.

None of the US chains suffer from the above, in fact service is an enhanced experience for Priority Club members, but not here. On a positive note, the room was clean with full amenities such as a fridge, microwave and a single armchair (I think the couch was missing as there was a huge void in the room). Anyways, I would probably stay again but certainly not during the busy summer season. Pick it up Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, you're making the rest of the chain look bad!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs. One side faces the main road, Harvey Avenue (97). The other side faces an industr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandAficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest (oa47),

I would like to apologize for the experience that you had at our property. It sounds like you caught us on a very busy weekend, and that we missed opportunities throughout your stay.

I have definitely asked the Maintenace team to look into the hot water issues that you mentioned so that we can ensure that this doesn't happen to yourself or other Guests for future stays. I am also following up with my breakfast bar host in regards to the issues that you found in the Breakfast Area.

If you would like to send me an email at jkuiack@fortisproperties.com I would love the opportunity to speak to you in person about your experience at our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    177
    65
    12
    16
See reviews for
149
104
17
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stay at this hotel A LOT and I still love it. They have perhaps the most comfortable beds - even if I'm jumping from one town to the other, I know that if I have a nigh or two here I can look forward to a good night's sleep. The hotel is clean, has great amenities and is across the street from several restaurants. It's only about a 10-15 min walk to Orchard Park if you really wanted to shop as well. The breakfast is always good but the best part is the staff. There are always such great people at the front desk and even staff you pass in the hall smile and say hello no matter what they're doing.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank xtinecarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest (Carmenzoe),

Thank you so much for choosing us as your "Home away from Home" when visiting the Okanagan!

Our team truly is a pleasure to work with and they love going above and beyond for our Guests! I will ensure that your review is posted so that they can read the great compliments that you had regarding their service and friendliness.

We get a lot of compliments on the beds, and have on more than one occassion given the Guests the contact information to purchase one for home! They are so comfy!

Thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

My family stayed here during our first trip to Kelowna... I was happy that they can accomodate all of the members when I called them in a short notice. Breakfast was yummy and busy in the morning..Although the pool look green like algae and a unclean so we did not try it. The price of the stay came to be a surpirse because I did not pay the price they told me when I booked. I paid more than what I was told over the phone. Overall, it was a pleasant hotel...

Room Tip: nonsmoking and choose the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laaglaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest (laaglaag),

Thank you for sharing your review of our property!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, it always smells so good at the Front Desk, and the pancake machine is pretty cool!

We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the pool cleanliness and rate, I am in the process of looking into both of these things for you.

We are happy that we could help with accommodations with short notice and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in future. Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chase, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

My family and I went to Kelowna for two nights at the Holiday Inn Express. The complementary breakfast was great, it offers several options for everyone. The kids really enjoyed the pool and the two water slides, and what I liked is that there is a lifeguard on duty to watch kids going down the slides. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The only negative we experienced was the pull-out couch for my son, he found it very uncomfortable and had a sore back in the morning.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the cleaning staff were great at their job. The hotel is very close the restaurants across the street and well and having the Ricky's restaurant right beside the hotel. The Holiday Inn offers discounts to a few of the restaurants nearby which was very helpful travelling on a budget.
I would also like to mention that the tower is much quieter than the main building, as we have stayed in the main building in the past.
We enjoy this hotel, and we will continue to use it for further trips to Kelowna. We know it, and like it!

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower are quieter than the main building if that is something that concerns you, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneyfan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guest (Disneyfan35),

Thank you for sharing your review of our property!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was our absolute pleasure to be able to welcome you back!

We are very proud of our Hotel, and we are very lucky to have our beautiful tower. I am glad that you enjoyed these rooms and the facilities that we offer at the Hotel.

I am happy that you had the discounts available at East Side Marios and Boston Pizza for your stay. They continuously tell me how they love welcoming our Guests to their locations as well!

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home soon, and thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed for several days on business. Rooms are spacious and clean. Beds are comfortable. Room was facing the rear parking lot and there was noise from the many tour buses. Breakfast was good. There were a few high school bands staying at the hotel, so breakfast seating was limited on a few mornings. There are many restaurants within walking distance and the Walmart is across the street. Overall, a good place to stay in Kelowna.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guest (Theresa W),

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

I would like to apologize for the limited seating in the breakfast bar while you were here, and the noise from the buses at the back of the Hotel. It is not a regular occurrence that we have buses back there during mid-week but we did have a couple of school's travelling to Kelowna during your stay with us for a band competition. If you would like to send me your last name to jkuiack@fortisproperties.com I can put in a note to block your room away from that area in future so that you don't have to experience the bus noise when we have teams in.

I am happy to hear that overall you felt that we were a good location, and close to all of the shopping areas and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Enjoyed a weekend stay with our family. Rooms are very clean and nicely appointed. Very comfortable beds too. The complimentary breakfast was great. Lots of food/beverage choices and well stocked for the entire time it's available. Was able to take breakfast up to room as an option also. All staff that we encountered were friendly and polite. Didn't have time to use pool and hot tub but they looked good. Excellent location in Kelowna as on main road and central to all shopping, restaurants and activities. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guest (Bunny A),

Thank you for your review of our property!

We are glad that you were able to enjoy your weekend away with us in Kelowna. I am happy to hear that our team was able to ensure that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that you found us in close proximity to all the amenities that you needed.

Breakfast always smells so good at our front desk, and the pancake machine that we have added seems to be a hit in there for sure!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property when you are in Kelowna next, and thank you for choosing us when there are so many options out there for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

There was some mix-up with the initial reservation but it got resolved - and the room assigned was big and bright with all the modern amenities. Breakfast offerings were fantastic - and location on the main route made it an all-around good choice. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the renovated part called the "tower" - faced the back which was probably best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest (Bill R),

Thank you for choosing our property and sharing your review with us!

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the spacious room in our tower! However, I would like to apologize that there were issues with your initial reservation and I am glad that we could get that resolved for you.

The breakfast is one of my favourite things about the Express hotels, and I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy it during your stay with us. Isn't the pancake machine great?

When you have so many options when visiting the Kelowna area we are happy that you chose us and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#7 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kelowna

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Address: 2429 Highway 97 N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1X 4J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kelowna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kelowna
#7 Family Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kelowna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Kelowna HotelOur downtown Kelowna hotel, conveniently located on Highway 97, is located in the heart of Kelowna but still close to championship golf courses, world-class wineries as well as great shopping.Business travelers will certainly appreciate the hotel's proximity to the Kelowna International Airport. Kelowna is home to many championship golf courses including Gallagher's Canyon, Predator Ridge and the Harvest Golf Club. Our hotel in Kelowna has an assortment of amenities for the business traveler, including free high-speed Internet access, a business centre and a meeting room that's ideal for up to 35 people.We provide guests who are looking for comfort and value with the smart choice for lodging. Vacationers to Kelowna will find that we offer excellent ski packages to Big White ski resort. The Okanagan Valley's wineries host spring and fall wine festivals that are always popular. Guests will be able to wash away their worries as they walk along Okanagan Lake or through one of the many orchards. Our hotel is the perfect leisure vacation choice.With 190 guest rooms, including executive king rooms and two Jacuzzi suites, there are plenty of options for our patrons to choose from when staying in our hotel. Kelowna is a great travel destination for anyone looking for natural beauty in a relaxing environment that is perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna Hotel Kelowna
Holiday Inn Kelowna
Kelowna Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing