We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart & soul of Kelowna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Anne Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked online, knowing not what to expect from this 104 year-old hotel. We left with the feeling that the choice to stay at the Royal Anne Hotel could have been the omen to a great, flawless wedding weekend. This hotel has the appeal, comfort and cleanliness of any current, or newly constructed choice in the city with one wonderful exception, it's a hidden gem, with it's footprint firmly planted in the heart and soul of the beautiful city of Kelowna. The wonderfully framed photographs adorning the walls of this creatively redecorated lodging, takes you on a walk through time, history and a museum style pictorial journey. Walk out the front doors and you are immersed in a cultural sidewalk stage-show, different depending on the direction you choose to turn. You will find yourself in the middle of some of the best restaurants and eateries in the city, not to mention a one block walk to the south and you are on the boardwalk with the beaches, parks and marinas. A block to the west lands you at the Japanese Gardens, as well as the the museum and other historical amenities. A little further to the west and you can tour canneries and brewing companies. Just past that at the end of Ellis Is a Drive up Knox Mountain Dr. taking you to the most breath-taking views of the city and surrounding area atop Knox mountain, you will usually have deer within feet of your vehicle! The staff are very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast & elevators. We rate it a 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back or west side are quieter than on the street side. An upgrade to an executive suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

A recent conference brought me to Kelowna, and a number of interesting experiences were had making my time both rewarding and interesting. After reading a number of helpful hotel property reviews by Trip Advisor contributors (thank you!), we opted for the Royal Anne Hotel (our conference hotel was unable to accommodate us). I remember it being on the main downtown street, and expected that there might be some noise. Having received the sage advice of my fellow contributors, I made my reservation accordingly.

The location was very convenient, and I truly enjoyed walking to my conference site, restaurants, shops and on the beautiful boardwalk along the lake. The staff were very friendly, and renovations are under way.

This is a budget hotel, so please do not expect doormen and bellhops, or room service. As well, if you have difficulties with carrying luggage up stairs, it is recommended that you ask your cab driver to please assist you to carry your bags to the lobby for check-in - it's worth a nice tip. You will also have to use the luggage cart to haul your bags to your room.

My room was modest but clean and tidy, and there were no issues other than the room mechanical system, which seems to be somewhat oversized for the room and very noisy. However, the good news is that it heated the room quickly, and I was able to shut it off and still be comfortable.

I particularly appreciated the morning continental breakfast bar, which was convenient and nicely stocked with hard boiled eggs, fruit, toast, muffins and danishes, coffee and cereals. Perfect for getting me going. The daily Globe & Mail newspaper is a nice addition to start one's morning, as is the flat screen TV with the national news.

The hotel we were to stay was a five star, and we cannot compare the two. Saying this, the rate was excellent and I considered it of very good value; albeit my colleagues were less impressed. The savings had by being able to walk most places, and the convenience of coffee shops and restaurants in easy walking distance definitely were a bonus. The staff were helpful, friendly, accommodating and professional. I would not hesitate to recommend it under the above conditions, and with a caveat that this is a three-star hotel, and not a five - gear expectations accordingly, and enjoy,

Room Tip: Specify that you wish a quiet room, and they will accommodate. The pub very close by can be a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msfirefly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have always stayed at the Delta Grand Okanagan hotel while in Kelowna, however they were full this time, so we booked at The Royal Anne Hotel. From now on, we will be staying at this hotel. The price at Delta is more than 50% (Delta quoting $239.00 for standard room and Royal Anne quoting $99.00; our room is an executive suite and is absolutely huge and the quoted price is $109.00) less than the Delta and the rooms are much more spacious. The Delta is more updated, but the Royal Anne isn't badly furnished. Plus, as others have noted, the location is excellent. All you have to do is walk out the front door and you are smack dab in downtown and close to the lake. In point of fact, our room (large king with two balconies) had great lake views. True, the balconies are rather narrow, but they serve their purpose. Also, the parking is very limited. We are avoiding parking in the underground parking because it is difficult to find parking and if you do, it is difficult to angle your vehicle into the spot. Rather than hassle with that, we are now parking just behind the hotel in a designated parking lot that is owned by the hotel and provides free parking.

If you book at the Royal Anne, check for specials on line. They discount for AAA and Senior Citizens and so on. Also, I noticed in one of the brochures in the lobby that there is an advertisement for 15% off your price when booking.

Our room was on the third floor, looking towards the back (i.e., away from Bernard Ave.) and it was at the end of the hallway. It's super quiet and for those who care, the air conditioner works perfectly and actually cools the room with out shutting off. Loving it!

Room Tip: Room Tip: room 333 is a great pick with lake views and quiet surroundings; away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tokyohos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I'm not impressed by this hotel. The location is good but the service we got was horrific. the location is great but that's about all I can say about this place. room was clean but the man at the front desk during the night was unfriendly, unprofessional and rude.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Good points,
Executive room, good sq footage, good bathroom, fridge
, coffee maker, paid for lake view, room description said 2balconies which it had but very narrow, standing room only.
Not so good,
Room on back so noisy from air con and very early bin men, microwave, tv remote didn't work, robe missing, we're rectified on asking, I just find it annoying that things aren't checked.
Limited parking.

Breakfast ok, continental self serve, good location so park up and walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The small hotel on Bernard Ave was much from the outside. But inside it was different. The lobby was well furnished and looked Victorian. The hotel room I stayed in was small but cozy with modern things like a flat-screen TV and a reliable WIFi system. It has a good breakfast room were there was juice, bread, and assorted pastries that made my day a great one. Overall this is a good hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jerry X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This has to be the best place to park yourself in Kelowna for a couple of days. Even though we hadn't reserved a room, our impromptu trip, still yielded us a nice suite in this hotel. Super location, walk outside the front doors and you're right on Bernard St. It's close to coffee shops, restaurants, shopping and walks to the lake and waterfront park. Service was pleasant and welcoming. Continental breakfast is adequate, especially for me, as I'm not a fan of big meals at the start of the day! Sadly, and probably due to its downtown location, there's no pool, but there is parking included, and WiFi.
Overall, this hotel gives great value for travellers and is somewhere I'd happily stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake view side of the hotel are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 33 in Kelowna
725 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eldorado
#1 of 33 in Kelowna
540 reviews
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 33 in Kelowna
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Anne Hotel

Address: 348 Bernard Ave, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kelowna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kelowna
#9 Business Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range: £71 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Kelowna, just steps to City Hall, commerce, the beach, City Park, Lake City Casino, the Arts & Cultural District, Prospera Place, Kelowna Memorial Arena, Kelowna Museums, boutique shopping, theatre and divine dining. All rooms include complimentary WiFi, and a well rounded continental breakfast featuring fresh Okanagan fruit. Our gorgeous guest rooms feature 1 or 2 queen sized beds and each room comes equipped with a mini fridge,coffee maker and large 42" flatscreen TV. Roomy Executive Suites are also available & come furnished with a plush king sized bed & pull out sofa bed. All our rooms have accessible balconies that offer spectacular views of Kelowna & beautiful Lake Okanagan. Our charming hotel can also accommodate & cater your meeting, banquet or intimate reception up to 120 people. Additional property features include His & Hers saunas & a fitness room with cardio equipment and free weights. Shuttle service is available to Kelowna International Airport for a nominal fee. After a long day, unwind in our very own O'Flannigan's Irish Pub with live entertainment and great pub food. Before you leave, visit O'Flannigan's Liquor Store, featuring a wide selection of the Okanagan's finest wineries. Come and experience the warm hospitality of the Royal Anne Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Anne Hotel
Royal Anne Kelowna
The Royal Anne Hotel Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing