We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location - Good Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Anne Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Location - Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

During our holiday to the south eastern part of BC (Creston and Nelson), my better half decided that she wanted to stop by Kelowna and see what all her friends were raving about (she has only been in Canada for four years and everyone told her she had to go there). I was not that interested, but gave in after a brief discussion. After looking on the internet for rooms, I decided to risk calling the Royal Anne and see if they had room (most other hotels were booked). I must admit that price was the primary motivator (rooms were 60 to 125 dollars less than other hotels). The reviews were mixed, but in my experience, I find that usually most people will really only comment when they are dissatisfied.

First, the good things. Location, location, location. You cannot get a better location unless you are on the beach. Good proximity to downtown, the park, the shops, the beach, and the night life. We walked from the hotel to all of the restaraunts both nights we stayed there. There are five or six good restaraunts within a block of the hotel. The hotel is older, but clean. The finishings are dated, but in good repair. We did not have a problem with either room we stayed in (more later). The continental breakfast which was included was more than adequate to get you started for the morning (fruit, pastry, toast, coffee, and juices). This hotel is a great location to be a base for your explorations of this great city.

This hotel is located where the action is. We found our first room (which was located facing the street) very noisy as there are several coffee shops and pubs located across from it. The partiers were impressive as the noise continued well into the early morning. As we did not sleep that well the first night, we asked for another room, and the management did get us another room not on the street. It was a significant difference. Parking is limited to about 15 underground spaces. We did not have any problems getting a spot, but we were there during the week and not on a weekend.

Kelowna is a terrific getaway city within driving distance of Calgary or Vancouver. If you enjoy being where the action is and enjoy the night life, this hotel is recommended. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, this may not be your cup of tea. The bottom line, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank duffer222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    168
    49
    14
    16
See reviews for
65
177
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

Well, only good thing about this place - location. Other than that - terrible. At first, their parking was full, so I had to park block and a half away in the public parkade, which is not really convinient with a small child. Good thing, that was weekend and parking was free. After that, when I was checking in they tried to charge me twice, I had to print out my credit card statement to prove my payment. Wireless internet in the room didn't work at all, so I had to go downstairs and use their computer. That wasn't really cool experience, especially knowing that the price was pretty high - 230 CAD per 2 queen beds room per night. I'm not even talking about that there wasn't a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Voonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

Should have booked online, would have saved about $30.00. Rooms are way overpriced, there was some kind of stain on the bottom side of the comforter, not sure if it was blood, feces, or what, bathroom sink was very slow to drain, trash cans were still full of previous tenants garbage,. When I informed management of this, they were totally indifferent and had no response. Location is the ONLY good thing about this property. I will never stay there again, nor will I recommend it to any one.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything between check in and check out.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowman1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

When we arrived, I was told that an equipment failure in the bathroom had rendered the room we were to be staying in unsuitable for human occupants and that we had a room in their "overflow" lodge, which was "across the back alley, over the pub". Imagine your worst nightmares about those two statements, and they pretty much describe the overflow rooms. After personally investigating the room and explaining to the desk clerk that "unacceptable" was the only word I could come up with that wasn't obscene, I asked if we could upgrade to another room. I was told that they were completely full. Since I had booked through Orbitz and prepaid, I was SOL for refunds, etc. Obviously it was too late to cancel with Orbitz. After I asked again if there was anything that could be done, she came up with solution - we were upgraded to their "Executive" room, so long as we were willing to pay the difference between my prepaid and their standard rate on the larger room. I accepted.

The rooms are clean, if not overly modern. In ours, at least, there were two skinny balconies, which was a nice touch. The bed was comfortable, which is what really counts. We didn't notice any of the noise that others have complained about on the first night.

The second night, however, we had noisy jerks in the room across from us. Yelling in the hall, slamming the door, etc. - when I complained, the situation was quickly dealt with (after 30 minutes of the noise continuing, they were evicted from the hotel).

When we went to check out, I was informed that the manager had heard of our situation and had waived the extra fee for the larger rooms, which was an extremely pleasant surprise. I can say that we will definitely stay at the Royal Anne again, since its location is incredible, the staff seems to be very helpful and it seems that the manager understands the meaning of "customer service".

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A/C was weak
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thatdamncanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

Convenient, superb location. OK that's the good bit over, we arrived a little early to be told that check in was at 3.00pm. No problem, left the car on a meter & took a walk around the locality. Called back at 2.30 to ask if it was OK to leave the car on the parkade, to be told our room was ready & we could check in now. Looking good, parked, checked in and went up to the room. If that was the room after it had been cleaned it must have been in a really dire state before. Percolator was full of previous occupants coffee, room and most of the public areas were just generally scruffy and run down. Staff were at best surly, no one said a word to us between checking in and out (do they teach them not to respond to greetings?) On going down for breakfast, almost everything needed refilling and no sign of any staff on hand. We just gave up &checked out. Of six canadian hotels we stayed in on this trip, this was the only none chain hotel. They ought to look at what the chains are doing right. It's quite sad that to support a local business yiu have to suffer inferior service & facilities

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireJethro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerkelowna, Hotel Manager at The Royal Anne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2008
Please accept my sincere apology for all the problems and difficulties you encountered during your stay at the Royal Anne Hotel in the month of May 2008.

We at the Royal Anne Hotel, are continually striving to improve on our guest experience and actively seek feedback by calling guests within 15 minutes of checking in, upon check out and via guest comment cards. We do this in order to make informed improvements to our service or facilities and strive for 100% guest satisfaction.

I can assure you that since I was appointed the Hotel Manager, February 1 2008, I have not had or read such comments, such as yours. These types of comments are extremely disturbing to me, as we have failed to provide to you, our guest, the appropriate service you so rightfully deserve. There may be numerous reasons for this type of situation to happen but we do require exact dates of your check in and checkout in order to accurately assess what caused these failures to occur. Regardless, any reason for these failures would not be acceptable to me but more importantly not to you.

As I stated above, we depend on guest feedback to let us know if there is anything wrong, whether that would be with cleanliness, mechanical or of service in nature. This helps us correct or rectify a particular situation immediately, before you, our guest leave the hotel with a negative impression.

Once again, please accept my apologies. If you happen to read this, I would be most interested in speaking with you directly and do whatever we need to do in helping reassure your confidence in our normal high standards.
I may be reached at 1 888-811-3400.

Tim Mather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanagan Valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

The first thing you notice when you enter the Hotel is the beautiful marble floor!!! The Front Desk staff are courteous, professional and very welcoming. Up to my room.......Wow!! What a view of the Okanagan Lake!! Out on my "very private" balcony I watched people coming and going from the Marina and the Casino, which is only a couple of blocks away. The air conditioning was a godsend, as it was a very hot day. My room was clean and comfortable and quiet. Another bonus which I found very comforting is the secured underground parking. My overall rating for the Royal Anne Hotel is a 10 out of 10.
All that and a free breakfast!!! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — view and security
  • Disliked — TV
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank princetongirlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East of England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

Stayed here for one night only as part of a coach tour programme. Hotel a little old fashioned but clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Very well located for restaurants and the lake (2 mins away). We had a great meal at Earls restaurant on the lake's edge, which served great food.
Ideal for a stop over, the Royal Anne was good value, but could do with a facelift decoration wise.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sproutandthebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Prestige Beach House
Prestige Beach House
#18 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Hotel Eldorado
#1 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#7 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Anne Hotel

Property: The Royal Anne Hotel
Address: 348 Bernard Ave, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kelowna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kelowna
#9 Business Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Kelowna, just steps to City Hall, commerce, the beach, City Park, Lake City Casino, the Arts & Cultural District, Prospera Place, Kelowna Memorial Arena, Kelowna Museums, boutique shopping, theatre and divine dining. All rooms include complimentary WiFi, and a well rounded continental breakfast featuring fresh Okanagan fruit. Our gorgeous guest rooms feature 1 or 2 queen sized beds and each room comes equipped with a mini fridge,coffee maker and large 42" flatscreen TV. Roomy Executive Suites are also available & come furnished with a plush king sized bed & pull out sofa bed. All our rooms have accessible balconies that offer spectacular views of Kelowna & beautiful Lake Okanagan. Our charming hotel can also accommodate & cater your meeting, banquet or intimate reception up to 120 people. Additional property features include His & Hers saunas & a fitness room with cardio equipment and free weights. Shuttle service is available to Kelowna International Airport for a nominal fee. After a long day, unwind in our very own O'Flannigan's Irish Pub with live entertainment and great pub food. Before you leave, visit O'Flannigan's Liquor Store, featuring a wide selection of the Okanagan's finest wineries. Come and experience the warm hospitality of the Royal Anne Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Anne Hotel
Royal Anne Kelowna
The Royal Anne Hotel Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing