We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, small and not thje best service”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We booked last minute, so this is about all we could find. I was not expecting much, but a standard, clean room. The room was super small, and one bedroom had no window or exit leading outside, seemed a bit dangerous if a fire occurred. Each day I had to request more towels, as there was not ne for each person in the room, and also had to go and get a new key card each day, as it kept expiring, a bit of a hassle to make multiple trips to the front office each day. At night, it was so loud, cars, people parting, not restful at all. The parking was a nightmare, we witness a couple of people bump other cars while trying to park or back out. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

The hotel Manager is a de-ranged psycho-path. He woke us up, ignoring the Do Not Disturb sign and literally forced us out of bed so the maids could clean our room. Although we were outraged at the fact that we wanted to sleep we were compliant and got up and started getting dressed. That is when the manager attempted to open our door! My boyfriend slammed the bar lock quickly to avoid an old man seeing his girlfriend half naked. We immedietly stated we were checking out and he said it was 3hrs past check out so he would be billing us for a whole day. Even more angry we said we would not pay for a room and not stay but we immediatley wanted our $ back 4 upcoming Sunday as we would definitley be leaving. He refused saying it was a deposit even though he had a credit card for that. We decided that if he would not give us our $ then we would stay. Sunday came and he asked if we were leaving. We said we paid until mon, we stay til mon. He then says he's evicting us for being upset that he woke us up to clean room and he refuse to give me a written notice for my lawyer.(I wonder why) I threatened to call police because of his illegal behaviour and he got scared and HE called police. We spoke to them and explained the situation. They had expressions on their faces that the manager-made call was ridiculous. The room was immaculate even though the manager told the police he was scared it was damged. There was nothing wrong. This man should lose his licence to run a business and should be jailed for the invasion of peoples privacy. It would not surprise me at all if ther are hidden video cameras in these rooms. I strongly suggest staying as far away from this place as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank angry154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

First off this place is way over priced. I stayed at Toronto airport for cheaper price. The continental breakfast was muffin and bagel with juice. We got a noise complaint and instead of the owners coming and politely asking us to go inside they came and very rudely asked us to leave. When you come and lip off drunk people you what do you think they will do back. Not very classy at all. 3/4 of the hotel were baseball teams since we were there for a ball tournament. They told us to go to our rooms and do what ever we want there so we did. Then they come threaten us. Not cool. If they would learn to be polite we would have cooperated with them and turned the noise down. I would not recommend staying here at all. I was staying with another guy and they gave us one bed (don't even think it was a queen). We asked for another one and wanted to charge us another 40 dollars. I travel a lot working for an airline and this place is the most expensive Ive paid anywhere in Canada considering what we got for it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluejays17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Stayed with my family here who were visiting for my grad. stayed 3 nights first 2 4 of us shared a suite with a kitchen. The suite was decent sized newer furnishings and cabinetry. Oven, stove and fridge were all newer and the nicest ive seen in a hotel kichen, sitting area with couch/sofabed as well as dining table. kitchens featured all cutlery and pots and pans, plates etc as most hotels wont do. sofa bed could of been more comforable. third night i had a room to myself which featured double bed and room had microwave fridge, mini balcony and couch and sitting area. and LCD tv which the other didnt have. rates are very very good for kelowna in the summer

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We found the rooms very clean but had a musty smell and we opened all windows but finally went and bought room freshener and burned a candle to help. The mattress was very uncomfortable and needs to be replaced also the pillows were flat. Lead to an uncomfortable sleep. The room itslf was very nice and clean. I would not recommend this room until they got rid of old mattresses.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank ElaineBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

I stayed at this motel with my 2 adult (18 & 24) sons from August 14-18, 2008 for the Canadian Triathlon Championships. We needed a place that would comfortably sleep 3 adult men, i.e. 2 double beds wouldn't work, and we wanted a place with kitchen facilities and easy parking. We originally picked a place downtown, but taking a triathlon bike up and down the elevator and finding adequate parking would have been issues so we chose the Traveller's Choice. Paul Ross, the owner/manager, is a very friendly host. We rented a family kitchen apartment on the second floor, unit 217, which had a bedroom area with a single and double bed and large closet, and a living area with a sofa bed, TV, closet, table and chairs, cupboards, fridge, stove, microwave, sink, pots and pans and cutlery. Adjacent to the kitchen was a small bathroom sink and mirror, and a toilet and bathtub/shower were separated from this area by a door. The bedroom area was separated from the living area by a sliding divider. The apartment was big enough for the 3 of us and we had no issues with the facilities. There is daily maid service. A continental breakfast served in the lobby from 7:30-9:30 a.m. consisted of coffee, cream/milk and sugar, orange and apple juices, bagels, large muffins and butter. There is a toaster but no cream cheese. There is really nowhere to eat in the lobby so trays are provided to take food back to the room. The motel has an indoor pool, open 10-10, but we didn't use it. There is a nice grocery store in the plaza across the street, a 2-3 minute walk. There is a Dairy Queen next door to the motel and an A & W across the street, and many more national franchise restaurants nearby. Kelowna is a beautiful clean city with expensive housing, and watch for the many tame-looking rabbits that roam the boulevards. A google search of "Kelowna rabbits" will give you a better idea.

Our only real complaint resulted from a midget boy's football team from Nanaimo, BC that stayed at the motel from Friday to Sunday. The large number of teenagers wandered the property like ants at a picnic and were generally inconsiderate of other guests, while their parents set up tents, lawn chairs and a BBQ at the end of the parking lot and interfered with traffic. The children ran up and down the stairs knocking on doors, loitered in the parking lot, and were generally noisy. When we enquired in the office about the situation, we were told that they would be told to be quiet after 10:30 p.m. but that didn't seem to be necessary.

Overall, we would stay at this motel again in the same circumstances.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Moose4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

On the phone the staff were pleasant when we booked; but, when we had to cancel they were extremely rude. Make sure they advise you of their cancellation policy as they didn't advise us and now they are trying to stick us for one night's accommodation. Even their brochure does not indicate a cancellation policy.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#18 of 34 in Kelowna
319 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Central City
The Royal Private Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1780 Gordon Dr, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 3H2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range: £34 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Kelowna
Choice Hotel Kelowna
Econo Lodge Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing