We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, good location but that's about it”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean room, good location but that's about it”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We booked last minute and this was one of the only rooms available. While the location is convenient (close to beach, wineries & directly across from a strip mall) and our room was clean that is about all the hotel has going for it. The pool was old but again clean & our daughter had a good time. We skipped breakfast completely & opted rather for the Starbucks which is across the street (the hotel staff was honest in their explanation of the breakfast at check-in, simply muffins, bagels, coffee & juice). If you're just looking for a roof over your head & a clean bed to sleep in then the hotel would do but don't expect any comforts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    19
    10
    9
    18
See reviews for
21
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

First off i'm never one to post anything good or bad but this warrents a complaint. For starters the room rates are very high 140.00. The continental breakfast is extremely chintzy consisting of a bagel, muffin and juice or coffee.
The pool is not at all private! Very large windows with no blinds, very dirty windows and the sun blaring in so that you cannot see into the deep end.
The railing into the pool was completely broken and easily disengaged.
The room was large enough but not overly clean! the smoke detector went off at 4am with a smell of electrical smoke coming into the room. My family evacuated and realized no one else was getting out of their rooms. My husband suspected it to be a burnt out air conditioner. The smoke was terrible so we left at 5:30 am! We contacted the manager and he had a very poor response to the whole event as much as calling me a liar.
NEVER would i recommend a place where the staff does not accomodate their guests whatever the circumstance may be.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roxanner125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here because it had a kitchen suite. The room and kitchen were small but we were still pleased with the amenities. Very clean and the staff was friendly.
The kitchen had everything we needed, free internet (quite fast actually!) and the place was very clean. They have an indoor swimming pool which looked well taken care of. They also offer a free continental breakfast.
A little pricey for what you got but it could have been because it was a long weekend holiday when we stayed there.
I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a short term stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_HolidayGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had a kitchenette-convenient for our family. Our rooms were very clean, and cleaned & made up every day, even though we stayed 4 nights. All staff that we interacted with were friendly and polite. The kids loved the pool-which was also clean and in good condition.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

There was a big concert in town (Supertramp), so not a lot of rooms were available at other properties when I booked at the last minute. While the rate wasn't exactly cheap, the room did come with a microwave, fridge, and a coffee maker so I felt I got what I paid for. In addition, there was a free limited breakfast, and a nice indoor pool so this was a motel that would be worth staying at for anyone wanting more than just a place to sleep for the night. The flat screen TV actually included the original remote meaning you could adjust the picture to the correct aspect ratio! Unbelievable, as these days you almost never have the option, and the picture is usually stretched to fit the screen, even at expensive resorts. The bed was very comfortable as well.

Adjacent to the motel was a strip mall with a supermarket and a couple fast food restaurants, also a liquor store as well. Thus, you could park and walk if you were done driving for the day. It is possible to walk to the center of town - which I did - but it will take roughly 20 minutes. Traffic in Kelowna is notoriously bad as the city is poorly laid out so at least you have the option of parking and walking (except maybe during the heat of summer).

Room Tip: Some rooms have windows looking onto a hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ydnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We booked last minute, so this is about all we could find. I was not expecting much, but a standard, clean room. The room was super small, and one bedroom had no window or exit leading outside, seemed a bit dangerous if a fire occurred. Each day I had to request more towels, as there was not ne for each person in the room, and also had to go and get a new key card each day, as it kept expiring, a bit of a hassle to make multiple trips to the front office each day. At night, it was so loud, cars, people parting, not restful at all. The parking was a nightmare, we witness a couple of people bump other cars while trying to park or back out. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

The hotel Manager is a de-ranged psycho-path. He woke us up, ignoring the Do Not Disturb sign and literally forced us out of bed so the maids could clean our room. Although we were outraged at the fact that we wanted to sleep we were compliant and got up and started getting dressed. That is when the manager attempted to open our door! My boyfriend slammed the bar lock quickly to avoid an old man seeing his girlfriend half naked. We immedietly stated we were checking out and he said it was 3hrs past check out so he would be billing us for a whole day. Even more angry we said we would not pay for a room and not stay but we immediatley wanted our $ back 4 upcoming Sunday as we would definitley be leaving. He refused saying it was a deposit even though he had a credit card for that. We decided that if he would not give us our $ then we would stay. Sunday came and he asked if we were leaving. We said we paid until mon, we stay til mon. He then says he's evicting us for being upset that he woke us up to clean room and he refuse to give me a written notice for my lawyer.(I wonder why) I threatened to call police because of his illegal behaviour and he got scared and HE called police. We spoke to them and explained the situation. They had expressions on their faces that the manager-made call was ridiculous. The room was immaculate even though the manager told the police he was scared it was damged. There was nothing wrong. This man should lose his licence to run a business and should be jailed for the invasion of peoples privacy. It would not surprise me at all if ther are hidden video cameras in these rooms. I strongly suggest staying as far away from this place as possible.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank angry154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kelowna
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1780 Gordon Dr, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 3H2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Kelowna
Choice Hotel Kelowna
Econo Lodge Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing