We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chop Steakhouse”
Review of Chop Steakhouse & Bar - CLOSED

Chop Steakhouse & Bar
Price range: US$10 - US$29
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cooper
Description: Chop blends the fine dining experience with a casual setting to bring you "fine casual dining". With an extensive wine list, prime cuts of meat and fresh seafood, Chop is the restaurant to choose when you're looking for a night of indulgence.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Chop Steakhouse”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We ate here while visiting Kelowna on holiday. The service was good, the only comment being one steak which was asked for medium/rare had only been flash fried and extremely rare. My steak was also not medium/well done as requested and was rare inside. There is nothing worse for spoiling a meal than sending food back so we didn't bother. Bit dissapointing for a steakhouse to get this wrong but other than that the rest of the meal was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpkljp2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    32
    10
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chop Steakhouse Kelowna - Service”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

While I wrote earlier, that I had an extremely bad meal in July, I must say, the follow-up I had with the Owner/Manager was outstanding! After numerous caring emails, he not only sent me a gift card for the amount I had spent, but when it went missing at Canada Post, he hand delivered another gift card to me, personally, at my home. I will be trying out this restaurant again in October when I have family visiting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Summerswish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“group of 6, enjoyed immensely”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

when the 6 of us get together we are rowdy to say the least. we had a fabulous server! the food was amazing, steak and lobster shared having steak done Chicago style, nothing better. we phoned first a brought our own wine, they charge $20 corkage, which i thought was very reasonable. i would definitely go back, just might try the chop steakhouse in richmond. worth every penny

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fine restaurant, but over-priced”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The ambience is great, and staff were friendly and helpful. Between us we had prime rib, baseball sirloin with lobster topper, lobster stuffed haddock, and lobster fettucine - along with a few beer and desserts.

Overall the food was good, steaks seem to have a bit too much fat and gristle, and the seafood and a couple of sides had a bit too much garlic.

All in all would have been close to perfect, except the pricing was high compared to similar restaurants in the Okanagan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeaG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst Food Ever”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Went to the Chop Steakhouse in Kelowna last night and it was the worst experience I've ever had in a steakhouse. I order the large cut prime rib meal. The French onion soup was so full of beef gravy and very thick, you couldn't even tell there were onions in it. The stuffed tomato was nice, but that was all. The mashed potato was very spicy with wabasi in it, and the large cut of prime rib was so marbled and grizzly I couldn't even get my knife through it. I did eat one bit and there was NO beef flavour whatsoever in the meat. Took the rest home to my dog. Gave her a handful of the beef and within minutes she threw it all up, and this is a dog who eats everything! That evening, I was awake all night with severe indigestion and pain. I would never go here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Summerswish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chop Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing