We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Kelowna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The staff were friendly, helpful and the room was clean and pet friendly.
It was nice to have a good staying and relaxing in this hotel.
The bed and pillows were comfortable and room was quiet.

I will definitely stay again when I back Kelowna again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruce k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

My check in experience was fairly amusing until I was assigned an occupied room by the friendly but fairly ditzy front desk clerk. The occupied room was located in the older main building of the Sandman. On my way to the room, I walked past a number of people (this was at 10:00pm) who were sitting on the floor of the dark and somewhat dingy hallway drinking and socializing. I began to wonder how much sleep I would be getting. When I got to my room - it was already occupied. Back to the front desk to get another room assignment.

This time, I was assigned a suite in the Tower (which is what I had reserved in the first place) and this was a completely different environment. Quiet, no party animals hanging out on the floors of the hallways and a very nice one bedroom suite decorated in the "urban chic/retro" look. Room was very quiet except I was awakened each morning at dawn because of the lack of blackout curtains in the bedroom. There are white blinds but they do nothing to keep out the light. Strangely, there is a set of blackout curtains on the living room sliders (but not on the living room window), but since there wasn't a pullout sofa bed (just somewhat odd and mod round Austin Powers type chairs - yeah, Baby) no one would be sleeping in the living room and no need for 50% of the windows to be covered by blackout curtains.

Anyway, the suite was quiet and very clean, so can't have it all. Would have been nicer to sleep past dawn, at least until 6:30am. The front desk clerk did leave a note for me to receive a $10 Denny's voucher for breakfast because of the occupied room mix up. When it wasn't available on Saturday morning, the fellow at the front desk reduced my Saturday night room rate by $10.

Anyway, in closing, I would NOT want to stay in the older main building -it's dingy and probably noisy from party people who sit on the hallway floor and drink, plus the lower floors are right beside the parking lot. If you stay in the Tower, make sure you ask for a room with blackout curtains because the blinds just don't cut it - or take your own sleep mask.

Had breakfast at Denny's both mornings and service was excellent - fast and friendly. My healthy breakfasts, including coffee & 20% tip, were both under $10. No complaints there.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the elevator in the Tower, when I was at the front desk on Saturday mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wet_Coast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Sandman hotel on Harvey Avenue - Convoluted floor plans-hard time to find a room. My reservation was for $107, but they charge me ~$140. Hotel rooms definitely need upgrade-squiky floor, carpet, little bit dark hallways that are going around building. Poor choice of beer in bar, room was clean, good water pressure in shower.

Room Tip: Ask for room in tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Late arrival (1a.m.) hotel parking lot appeared empty, but still had to carry bags up two flights of very dirty stairs, down two long corridors (very dirty and dim) to find my corporate room located across from a very loud, probably broken, pop machine and ice maker. So loud that when I closed my door, I could still here it above the AC.

The toiletries were scarce as were the towels. Tub could use a good cleaning. I felt dirtier after my shower.To plug in the hair dryer, I had to use the outlet outside the bathroom beside the coffee maker.

Breakfast at the adjoining Denny's was palatable, but far from healthy and a little pricey.

The front desk staff at checkout was very friendly. That is the only positive thing I can say about this location.

Second Sandman stay, second disappointment. There will not be a third.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank TL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Check in was quick and easy, front desk staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel recently had a facelift, new décor and modern fixtures gave it somewhat chic feel.

If you can get an upgrade to the newer tower, do it! Unlike most hotels if they have an empty room they will do this complimentary, however they wanted approx. $50 more per night.

Room 242 was on the main floor, facing the back parking lot, there was a lot of noise from many sports teams staying there this weekend, this is of course not the hotels fault, but be aware of the issue.

The room was a decent size, small kitchenette, updated colors and fixtures with the exception of the furniture, the chairs in the room were extremely filthy, and the bedspread was a throwback to the 1980's. I can handle a dated room if it's clean, sadly this was not the case, long black hair was found everywhere. under the pillow, in the sink, in the bathtub, I know it happens, once I can handle, but EVERY...SINGLE...DAY! Sometimes they would even empty the garbage. And if I was really lucky I got a bathmat. But the worst was a used Kleenex in the closet. I finally said something to the front desk, the staff were very good at dealing with the issue.

I later received an apology gift bad from the sales manager, they did handle everything very well, so I will give them another try.

The location is great, however parking is a challenge, very narrow spots even for a small car.

However with so many other options, this will certainly not be my first choice for the price they offer.

Room Tip: get a room in the tower or higher floor away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Travelled to kelowna for medical appt. Last minute booking. Hotel gave good rate and was very accomodating. Recent renovations have made it a nice place to stay. Convenient location near shopping and restaurants!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank cascade411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Four of us (2 kids/2 adults) stayed in a room on the third floor which over- looked the pool. The room was quite small and there are no elevators to these rooms so the hotel staff were very helpful in taking our luggage up the stairs to our room. Because the pool was outside the window of the room it actually got very noisy but the staff made sure everyone was out of the pool by 10 PM- so if you like quiet these are not the rooms to stay in. The kids loved it though as they could look out the window and see who was in the pool at any time. These rooms are good for just a few days and the hotel location is fantastic- close to Tim's,good restaurants very close by, and Orchard Mall is right across the street if you like to shop.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower rooms if you like it to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
697 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna

Address: 2130 Harvey Ave, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6G8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range: £62 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna is located in the heart of the beautiful Okanagan Valley; a world class destination featuring an endless variety of summer and winter recreational activities, making it the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelowna Sandman Hotel
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing