We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not transfer you to another date even if you are sick”
Review of Hotel Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eldorado
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Summerland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“will not transfer you to another date even if you are sick”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I have already blogged Expedia who tried against all odds to persuade Hotel Eldorado in Kelowna B.C. to transfer my booking to another date because of ill health. Hotel Eldorado were steadfast in their policy of no cancellations accepted whether it was flood or high water they were not going to budge on their policies.
Expedia apologised to me most profusley that a room I paid $144. canadian at the Hotel Eldorado of which I was unable to occupy would not let me book another date. Despite involvement of Expedia Hotel Eldorado wanted to stand out as the most insensitive and non professional hotel out of many a hotel. One can almost contact any hotel and ask for an alternative date without the downright refusal of person on desk including I understand from the Expedia the Manager of Eldorado who reiterated the same policy without any apologies.
I wish I had been well enough to gather some "Homeless People" and take them to the Eldorado Hotel in Kelowna and book them into my room. Did Hotel Eldorado rent out my room whereby receiving twice the price for the room? Debatable don't you think. ? and ........ could be the reason why they do not budge on a written policy. Most patrons would not be aware of how they would be treated if they were unable to occupy booked their room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesley645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    127
    23
    15
    20
See reviews for
97
235
21
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The EL is a must on your list of things to experience in the Okanagan. Lakeside Hotel with all the creature comforts one could ask for. Well appointed rooms and great service with amenities at your fingertips. Nuff said.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 989Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

great staff, they defintely went the extra mile on our romance package stay! the rooms were quant, and obviously its in the best place in the world!! We had a great weekend at the EL!
Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JandEZilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Really nice rooms that are very quaint, great service and amazing views. We held our Christmas party here for the second year and they really did a good job of looking after us. Hotel is not close to downtown (for walking) but is right on the lake and has stunning views.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pdarnold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

As locals, the El is our favourite hotel to sneak away to for a little luxury and romance in the midst of our busy lives. It goes without saying summer is a spectacular season to stay on the lake. We packed a picnic (valley wine included, of course!) & paddled kayaks across Okanagan Lake for our August anniversary, heading back to a heritage, lake-view room to freshen up for an incredible meal downstairs on the veranda. Vince is a fabulous a server and we love to request him. The setting is so romantic, with candle-lit tables & open windows taking in the shimmering lake. Recently we booked a room in December and general manager, Brad Sieben, generously upgraded us to a spectacular suite (221). With windows in the sitting room, kitchen, and of course, the corner windows surrounding the jet tub offering lovely lake views, we were thrilled. The decor is tasteful and clean, the fireplace cozy, the bed incredibly comfortable, the pillows plump, and breakfast the next morning beautiful! The sausage was sizzling, the potatoes piping hot, served in a stainless bowl to keep them that way, the eggs poached to our liking. And the coffee? The best brew, apparently thanks to owner Jim Nixon's panache for the perfect blend. No matter the season, the Elderado is a lovely location for romance and superb service.

Room Tip: The heritage side is quaint and good quality for the price but if you're looking for a suite, 22...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in the old part.
It was very lovely,antique type furniture,lake view,big bathroom,very clean.
After dinner(excellent) I had the salmon,my husband steak,we took a short stroll outdoors.
The Christmas lights added to the ambiance.
Back in the room,bed turned down,a rose in centre & a platter of chocolates!
Very romantic.

Room Tip: A bit noisy earlier.....holiday time at the end of Nov.....the new part is larger but no lake view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mado070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Hotel was booked out of normal rooms so had to stay in an arms deluxe room, bit on the expensive-side but the room was spacious and clean. Did not try the dining facilities but they looked the part. Would I stay here again? Probably not for the price, but I'm sure other Kelowna hotels offer similar pricing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IFRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
The Royal Anne Hotel
The Royal Anne Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kelowna
436 reviews
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eldorado

Property: Hotel Eldorado
Address: 500 Cook Rd | (On the Lake), Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kelowna
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Eldorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Eldorado has been part of BC's destination hotel resort experience since 1926. It is a story of Austrian blue bloods and thrilling vacations, a story of a famous honour bar and Olympic rowers, a story of London cabs and dog shows. From the beginning, it has always been a story of unique hospitality, social events and a welcome that knows no borders. It was then what it is today; a singularly unique social and vacation experience set in one of Canada's most spectacular destinations, the Okanagan Valley. 300 kilometres from the Lower Mainland in the BC Interior and an easy flight from all major airports, the Hotel Eldorado is located on the shores of Okanagan Lake. For those who have travelled in other countries, you will recognize that this place is one of the most scenic in the world. The Hotel Eldorado is as storied as our town and all those who have graced our doors since 1926. It is a gem and we all look forward to welcoming you to The El. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Kelowna
Hotel Eldorado Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing