We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lake resort inside the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Eldorado
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lake resort inside the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were a group of ten golfers, in Kelowna for a three-day reunion. We found the rooms and location to be excellent at the Eldorado. Quiet, yet surrounded by all the amenities. The staff was helpful and cheery...very efficient in making/changing all arrangements. The lakefront location has a dual personality: quiet for sleeping in the rooms section; full of life and activity in the public areas and restaurant. Lovely patio. Nice close-by walking areas, both beach and residential. Recently under new ownership--hope it keeps the habit of excellence going.

Room Tip: We would always choose the newer section, fourth (top) floor. Nice north (lake) view, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick-Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    118
    23
    15
    19
See reviews for
90
221
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torfaen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Spent 2 nights here which included a Saturday so we booked the Sunday brunch which I can thoroughly recommend. Anyway, back to the hotel, complimentary valet parking so no problems finding a spot. Welcoming check-in and we had booked a lake view room - fabulous ! Well equipped room with fridge, hospitality tray, toiletries, bath robes and luxurious bedding and very comfortable beds ! The only thing missing which surprised me was a safe. I did ask about this and apparently they are being placed in rooms on a rolling programme. There is an indoor pool and gym which was very quiet when we were there and there is a lawn area outside with loungers- all unoccupied. But, the lake setting is wonderful and there is plenty of seating and drinks area for you to enjoy the views. One of the outstanding aspects of this hotel though is the service- more than helpful and charming too ! Plenty of information available about the area in reception -do visit at least one winery and if you enjoy cheese go and see the goats' cheese farm nearby. Hotel staff will provide all the details. Everything is scrupulously clean , but, there is such a sunny, happy ambiance throughout the hotel - it was a joy to stay there !

Room Tip: You must have a lake view so book accordingly .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretPonthir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Especially from the rooftop. Loved seeing all the windsurfers, people walking, and the beautiful lake views. The hotel itself is one of my favourites, because of it's workmanship and history.

Regarding the rates, comparable to others like it. However the restaurant is more high end, so expect to spend a little bit of money there. The waiters are fabulous and attentive though.

One thing that I would have liked is more information about the hotel amenities from the front desk, for instance the gym, pool, walkways, and Wifi. I had to go down and ask for the info on all these things, so would have been nice for this to happen as I've experienced this at almost every other hotel I've stayed at.

Otherwise, beautiful spot and great people serving us!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hopey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Think past corporate properties in boxes and open your thoughts to amenities and spaces that provide relaxation and comfort, think of staff that want to be there with smiles and efforts that are genuine.
think Hotel Eldorado in Kelowna, BC

Room Tip: be clear of your expectations when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I cannot say enough about this amazing hotel. From the location to the room to the five star service, this place hits ALL the marks.

This hotel takes you back in time. It was built in the 20's to provide a luxurious place to stay for Europeans coming to BC. In the 80s it was put on a barge and brought to its current location where it was restored impeccably to bring you back in time.

THE LOCATION:

Located in Mission which is conveniently located. 20 minutes from the airport. 10 minutes from down town. You are overlooking the lake and the hotel's marina. The views are spectacular.

THE ROOM:
We were in a suite and it was perfect. Modern very comfortable furnishing. Amazing jet tub overlooking the water. Jet stream shower. Great formica throw back kitchen table. Pull out couch was the most comfortable I have ever been on. Paintings throughout are bright and unique. Along with the modern furnishing they have added retro pieces, like the kitchen and in the front foyer there is a really neat writing desk that is from around the 50s. It has a high end Pottery Barn style along with the unique antiques thrown in.

THE HOTEL:
Everywhere you go there is beautiful details. Fresh flowers. Antique furniture. Cork floors. The seems to be a consistent hommage to rowing. There are black and white photos of women diving, and swimming and of rowers. There is an 8 man scull hanging from the rafters of the gorgeous dining room ( located on the sun porch) it is upside down and full of white lights.
There is also one hanging over the indoor lap pool and in the lounge. The staff where white shirts that say "crew" on them. No detail is spared.

RESTUARANT :
Very professional service. Located on the sun porch. Always busy. Make sure you make a reservation. Seems to be a lot of locals going there. Food is amazing. They know their food and their wine. We ate breakfast and one dinner there and the food was excellent. There is a Sunday buffet that is unbelievable.

THE SERVICE:
Best I have ever seen. EVERYONE from the front desk, to the bar, to the restaurant to the cleaning staff were genuinely friendly. Proactively helpful.

I really cannot say enough about this place. I will be back to beautiful Kelowna and I will stay here. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view. It is worth any extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheasamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed in this lakeside hotel several times on business. The rooms are well appointed, with excellent beds and linen, always clean and the service from all their staff is excellent. The food in their dining room (also served in the bar) is very well prepared and tasty. This is my preferred hotel in Kelowna. Some rooms have old furniture, but it is well maintained, functions fine and it is intended to give the rooms the "old world charm" and it works. You cannot beat the view from the dining room (and some of the rooms) on the lake.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sitko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times and have not been disappointed, the rooms were clean with a great view. The restaurant, both for dinner and breakfast is excellent, and it is nice to be able to enjoy a cocktail right on the lake. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
The Royal Anne Hotel
The Royal Anne Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#7 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eldorado

Property: Hotel Eldorado
Address: 500 Cook Rd | (On the Lake), Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kelowna
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Eldorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Eldorado has been part of BC's destination hotel resort experience since 1926. It is a story of Austrian blue bloods and thrilling vacations, a story of a famous honour bar and Olympic rowers, a story of London cabs and dog shows. From the beginning, it has always been a story of unique hospitality, social events and a welcome that knows no borders. It was then what it is today; a singularly unique social and vacation experience set in one of Canada's most spectacular destinations, the Okanagan Valley. 300 kilometres from the Lower Mainland in the BC Interior and an easy flight from all major airports, the Hotel Eldorado is located on the shores of Okanagan Lake. For those who have travelled in other countries, you will recognize that this place is one of the most scenic in the world. The Hotel Eldorado is as storied as our town and all those who have graced our doors since 1926. It is a gem and we all look forward to welcoming you to The El. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Kelowna
Hotel Eldorado Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing