We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, But Not Worth It. And Don't Eat Here!”
Review of Hotel Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eldorado
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice, But Not Worth It. And Don't Eat Here!”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night as a getaway. We got a great deal because it was very much off season. So the place was worth about what we paid. It's a nice place, and it's right on the lake. But because most rooms are not facing the lake, and there is a public beach a short walk away (the hotel itself does not have it's own beach) the only benefit to staying here is the ability to get to the lake quickly. But if you are going to the beach, and don't mind a 10 minute drive, you can probably save $100 and get the same thing.

But I must caution anyone against eating dinner here. We ate both breakfast and dinner here because we felt the hassle to drive to another place (local options are very limited) wouldn't be worth it. For breakfast, we were certainly right. The menu was somewhat limited but reasonable (very tasty) and reasonably priced ($12 for an omlette). But dinner was a disaster. The food itself was quite good. But the menu was more limited than I've ever seen, and the prices were way too high to justify. Here was the menu lineup: 6 entrees, 3 of which were steaks. And there were two specials that night. Guess what they were? Steaks! I love a steak, but I also love to have a bit of choice when I go out to eat. As it happens I didn't feel like steak so I had the $26 chicken breast, which actually came in the form of a very small chicken leg. Whatever. If you stay here, do yourself a favor and take a trip into town to a different restaurant. It's not that far and well worth for both selection and cost. Now, if you are not that hungry I have to say the appetizers could serve as a small meal, but you're still paying $16 for a very light meal. Not worth it, and again only about 6 selections to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palooka32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    120
    23
    15
    19
See reviews for
92
222
21
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2009

My husband and I along with our 18 year old daughter stayed in the hotel over the weekend. We were in Kelowna to attend my Nephews wedding which took place in a nearby winery. We found the staff very helpful from the first phone call to inquire into rates. The 3 of us had a wonderful room in the Arms section of the hotel with 2 queen beds. The room was stylish with its antique looking furniture and cork flooring and it was immaculately clean. We booked the Romance package (cheaper than the hotels regular rates) which meant our sheets were turned down with fabric rose petals and a dish of really good chocolate strawberries were on the night table. The beds were very comfortable and the room was quiet. The bar in this Hotel is popular with the locals so we were told by the staff that the arms wing of the hotel was quieter on the weekends then the main hotel. Our package included $10 per person (for 2 people) towards breakfast. The restaurant overlooks the lake and docks. We put our $10 towards their breakfast buffet which was small but all the food we had was excellent. Cost of the buffet was $15 so we only had to pay $5! In the rooms there is the standard coffee machines but in the hallway in the morning the staff set up thermal carafes of coffee that you can help yourself to before that early morning walk by the lake. We really enjoyed this hotel and their staff. The value was excellent.We would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winks_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We found this place thanks to a Travel and Leisure review on the Okanagan Valley wine region. We were very pleased with the hotel. Upon entering once should ignore the motel like sign and big car park and proceed though to discover the lake frontage and marina view which justifies the boutique hotel label.
We were given a spacious room with a King bed and sofa bed for our child. This room did not have a prized lake view but a pleasant vista on the side of the building looking into a claret leaved deciduous tree and down into the indoor pool area. Our room was in the new Arms Wing of the hotel. I would recommend staying in this area of the hotel as the original Heritage rooms are over the buzzing bar and restaurant and ay be noisy.
The room was spacious, stylish, comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was of a modern design and very functional. Free WiFi worked well, the gym was small but well equipped and the pool pleasant for a splash. Three minutes away was a huge H2O aquatic centre with 50 m pool and all other manner of pools.
The restaurant served very good food and had a great view over the lake.
Well worth a visit. It's a pity that Canadian Wine is rubbish !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had excellent service from very friendly staff. The hotel is situated on the lakeside with great views. There is a very attractive terrace restaurant/bar area overlooking the pier where various water sports are available. We had a room overlooking the lake which was of an adequate size and well equipped. Our only complaint was that you would have needed very long arms to reach the toilet roll from a sitting position. A relatively minor complaint but you have to ask "who who designed the bathroom?" We found the restaurant very good with three separate menus that could be used in any location. The bar area was very popular with the younger set and could get noisy in the evening but had a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eglintonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

This hotel is right on the lake. It has a nice restaurant that opens out on to the dock. The hotel is old but is well maintained. We were very surprised at how spacious our room was. The bed was awesome. Lovely pool/spa area with a gym. Free parking. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoLoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

When you walk into a hotel room and it is literally one of the smallest rooms you have ever checked yourself into, you look behind the door and into the washroom to see if you might have missed some space. Unfortunately, upon further investigation there isn't anymore space, you sit there dumbfounded that you just paid $170 a night when you know that there is better value to be had at other hotels in the area. (This was the off season rate for for the Heritage section). It is a charming hotel, but really over priced for the room you get.

I did ask to see another room and was shown a room in the newer section of the hotel and would recommend that you book in that area if you decide to stay at the El Dorado as the rooms are much larger (and about $90 more per night).

While the pool area is also small, it is kept clean and on a nice day, all of the windows open out into a small garden - would have been a really nice place to be on a beautiful day.

The hotel is basically in a marina, but within walking distance is a nice public beach that is much nicer than the downtown beach. This would definitely be a plus.

We ate at the restaurant and the burgers are fantastic so would recommend eating there. Also, would recommend eating at the new restaurant across the street, Cabana or at Bouchon's downtown (about a $15 dollar cab ride).

  • Liked — The charm of the older hotel
  • Disliked — Room size vs. value in the Heritage section of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blondzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We just got back from staying in the new addition to the Hotel called "the Arms". We were recommended to this part of the hotel by the staff as the existing portion is located on top of the bar and is noisy. The Arms building could have been designed by a 5th grader. It is a square box with an entrance that was changed amateurishly to accomodate handicap access. The room we had #417 was next to the elevator and we were charged $275 for this TINY room. It had a juliette balconey which is basically a space which cannot accomodate a single body let alone furniture. The 2 beds were supposedly queens but were really 2 doubles which in a feat of dramatic stupidity, faced each other sepearted by a TV on a swivel hanging from the ceiling! The flooring was promoted as cork but was actually vinyl and ugly. To add insult to injury they charged a "RESORT FEE" of $7.50 per day and had the unmitigated gall to charge us daily for a CIty of Kelowna fee for tourist promotion.
This is at best a 3 star hotel charging a 5 star fee.

Do yourself a favour and avoid this overpriced "boutique" hotel which is basically a big box with no balconeys next to a parking lot. There is only one solution to Kelowna and they call it competition which is very lacking

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank goldlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
The Royal Anne Hotel
The Royal Anne Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#6 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eldorado

Property: Hotel Eldorado
Address: 500 Cook Rd | (On the Lake), Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kelowna
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Eldorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Eldorado has been part of BC's destination hotel resort experience since 1926. It is a story of Austrian blue bloods and thrilling vacations, a story of a famous honour bar and Olympic rowers, a story of London cabs and dog shows. From the beginning, it has always been a story of unique hospitality, social events and a welcome that knows no borders. It was then what it is today; a singularly unique social and vacation experience set in one of Canada's most spectacular destinations, the Okanagan Valley. 300 kilometres from the Lower Mainland in the BC Interior and an easy flight from all major airports, the Hotel Eldorado is located on the shores of Okanagan Lake. For those who have travelled in other countries, you will recognize that this place is one of the most scenic in the world. The Hotel Eldorado is as storied as our town and all those who have graced our doors since 1926. It is a gem and we all look forward to welcoming you to The El. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Kelowna
Hotel Eldorado Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing