We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel has everything you need” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eldorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eldorado
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel has everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Great ambiance, fantastic restaurant, incredible view of the lake. Staff are happy and helpful!

I will definately return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theshlepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    117
    23
    15
    19
See reviews for
89
219
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

The location was very noisy. People were rowdy in and around the hotel. The staff was rude and impolite. They did not inform us that there was a rowdy wedding event there. The furniture was old and really of another era! We couldn't sleep all night long. When we complained in the morning to the Front Desk, the reply was that they did send someone to try to stop the noise. When we requested to speak to someone in charge, we were told nobody was available. We stayed just one instead of more nights! We couldn't wait to leave that hotel! Upon return in Toronto, we emailed to the General Manager, Brad Sieben, explaining in great details our terrible experience - his reply? Phone him at our expenses to further discuss our stay! We weren't going to waste any more time on this. We would not return nor recommend it to anybody. It was very expensive and absolutely NOT worth any cost! :-( We wouldn't return there if it were free! :-(

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cass55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Quick notes about our 4-day stay here:

- If you're going to Kelowna for the wine tours, note that the big wineries are in Kelowna... but the quaint ones are in Naramata Bench, down in Penticton. Go to Penticton instead if you want smaller wineries (i.e., those with character, not money).

- The location was *beautiful*: right on the lake, with a lovely marina out back.

- My partner loved the restaurant; I thought adding a lobster tail for $30 and getting no butter for it was not very cool. Lobster needs butter! :)

- We stayed on the "old" side of the hotel, which is renovated but is not the addition. We'd recommend doing the same. Rooms in the addition don't come with a patio, which is actually where you may find yourself spending a lot of time. We're glad we had a patio.

- The noise --- ugh! What are the hotel owners thinking? On Friday and Saturday nights, the hotel lounge becomes an actual bar... which means loud music and drunk people out front, in the lobby, and on the waterfront. Saturday night, we had to turn our TV up loud just to drown out the party 2 floors below.

- They call this hotel the "Fairmont" of Kelowna because it's got a lot of character and they charge a lot for rooms. But the Fairmont would never allow partying to keep its paying customers up on weekend nights.

- Strangely, our bathroom garbage didn't get emptied the whole time we were there, and the cleaners kept leaving our used water glasses on the bedside table. Huh?

- The valets and the people at the front desk are helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank joieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed at the Eldorado in Kelowna last weekend. We booked mainly for location but also because it is advertised as a non smoking hotel. Our room was non smoking as was the room to our left. They had adjoining balconies overlooking the marina seperated by just a thin wall in between. We could not use the balcony or have our door open because the man in the next room was out on the balcony smoking constantly. When we went to the desk the first time about it we were told although the rooms are non smoking they are allowed to smoke on the balcony. We mentioned it at check out and were told sorry our policy is they can. We have health issues and were not complaining for fun. We could not use a balcony for which we paid because although the law says no smoking the smoker had more rights than us. I have emailed the hotel but so far have recieved no reply so I emailed them a second time this morning. Over priced and not advertised correctly I would never stay there again. The service in the restaurant and bar was extremely good and all the staff were freindly. But the noise was excessive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisebuchart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Noisey as hotal management insist on playing loud music on their waterfront boardwalk patio area along the entire front of the hotel until 11pm - to sleep you have to close your windows.
Next door is the public boat ramp where un-muffled V8 powered race boats are launched and fired -up. This hotel caters to the 25 to 40 year old set who drink and yell alot

On the positive side, great location right on the lake, the old part is quite charming, the young valets, hostesses and waiters gave good service.

Kelowna hotels are pricey and poor value generally

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

My friend and I decided to dine here the other night. I love the location of this hotel and dining here is truly a "Kelowna" setting. It was a decision we did live to regret though. The service was terrible. Fortunately we were not in a hurry so the neglect of our wait staff was more annoying than anything. We were offered the special which was steak oscar and it sounded wonderful so we chose this. We were told we could choose any steak on the menu and it would be served with crab meat and sauce topping. No price was quoted and we did not ask. The meal itself was just ok. I've had worse and I've had better. We waited over half an hour for our coffee to be served and finally received our bill. The steak alone was $53. $33 for the steak and an additional $20 for the crab topping. Ouch! We won't even discuss the overpriced local wine because we knew the price of that when we ordered it. So enjoy the setting but beware of what you order. It could break the budget!

Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wallybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night as a getaway. We got a great deal because it was very much off season. So the place was worth about what we paid. It's a nice place, and it's right on the lake. But because most rooms are not facing the lake, and there is a public beach a short walk away (the hotel itself does not have it's own beach) the only benefit to staying here is the ability to get to the lake quickly. But if you are going to the beach, and don't mind a 10 minute drive, you can probably save $100 and get the same thing.

But I must caution anyone against eating dinner here. We ate both breakfast and dinner here because we felt the hassle to drive to another place (local options are very limited) wouldn't be worth it. For breakfast, we were certainly right. The menu was somewhat limited but reasonable (very tasty) and reasonably priced ($12 for an omlette). But dinner was a disaster. The food itself was quite good. But the menu was more limited than I've ever seen, and the prices were way too high to justify. Here was the menu lineup: 6 entrees, 3 of which were steaks. And there were two specials that night. Guess what they were? Steaks! I love a steak, but I also love to have a bit of choice when I go out to eat. As it happens I didn't feel like steak so I had the $26 chicken breast, which actually came in the form of a very small chicken leg. Whatever. If you stay here, do yourself a favor and take a trip into town to a different restaurant. It's not that far and well worth for both selection and cost. Now, if you are not that hungry I have to say the appetizers could serve as a small meal, but you're still paying $16 for a very light meal. Not worth it, and again only about 6 selections to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palooka32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
The Royal Anne Hotel
The Royal Anne Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#7 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eldorado

Property: Hotel Eldorado
Address: 500 Cook Rd | (On the Lake), Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kelowna
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Eldorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Eldorado has been part of BC's destination hotel resort experience since 1926. It is a story of Austrian blue bloods and thrilling vacations, a story of a famous honour bar and Olympic rowers, a story of London cabs and dog shows. From the beginning, it has always been a story of unique hospitality, social events and a welcome that knows no borders. It was then what it is today; a singularly unique social and vacation experience set in one of Canada's most spectacular destinations, the Okanagan Valley. 300 kilometres from the Lower Mainland in the BC Interior and an easy flight from all major airports, the Hotel Eldorado is located on the shores of Okanagan Lake. For those who have travelled in other countries, you will recognize that this place is one of the most scenic in the world. The Hotel Eldorado is as storied as our town and all those who have graced our doors since 1926. It is a gem and we all look forward to welcoming you to The El. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Kelowna
Hotel Eldorado Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing