We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kids love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“kids love it”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

its a great family hotel,the rooms are a fair distance from beach and clubhouse. if your afraid of bats and wasps its not a good choice. rooms are clean,balconys need to be spruced up.
The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to accomadate

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yukoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. Being my office is on the property, I get to see our guests enjoying the resort.

I am not sure if your children were part of our "kids camp" program, that we offer daily, but it is so cute to watch the young ones do all these activities. I was watching the kids the other day taking tennis lessons and it was just so nice to see them so happy.

About the bats - I don't care for them either, but they are all over - not just the resort. I had one fly into my deck at my home in town. Not so pleased with that!!!

Anyhow thank you again for your comments - it is nice to hear positive feedback.

We look forward to having your as our guests again.

Best Regards,

Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    91
    75
    91
    95
See reviews for
169
133
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We are currently staying here. With little two children, the room ( lake side rental chalet ) is ok with full kitchen and spacious room. However the pool and and all the other facilities show no maintenance... Food and empty cups were left here and there. Also the resort itself is too hilly for little children, so hard to go anywhere. Too far from grocery shopping area although we gave a full kitchen unit... So we decided to stay only one night instead of two... I think it costs too much to keep good maintenance since the place is only for sumner ... Maybe the planning mistake ???

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kchan3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Guest,
We are sorry your visit was not to your expectations and you only stayed one night.

In response to your concerns which are important to us, I am sorry you did not have a chance to visit our General Store which is open in the summer until 10pm for our guests grocery and other requirments.

With respect to maintenance we employ a full time department that work very hard at the resort, as well as cleaners for the common areas. Being it is a large resort 300 acres - and 500 guests at any given time, it can be somewhat challenging. I do hope in your one night stay you were able to see all the work in progress to upgrade the resort. We have just built a new marina and are re-structuring the Vantage Pointe Clubhouse area for easier access.

Being the resort is built on 300 acres of mountainside, lakeshore property we do offer shuttle service in the summer by phoning the front desk or by getting on the shuttle that continually goes around the property.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Best Regards,

Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stayed two weeks in the older condos and found the housekeeping staff to be extremely hardworking and very friendly. Donna (housekeeping manager) was AMAZING, taking care of any request immediately...
Thank you Donna, Sheena and Ken (maintenance)
GREAT VACATION!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0lleen512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Old, over priced and dirty. Our room had food on the floor, the air conditioner was frozen solid and loud, and everything was tired! We walked into our room and within 5 minutes we were running for the hills. We received a refund and booked a room at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rudy_and_Candice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This resort is on the older side and needing upgrading, which it looks is happening in places, but the location is nice. It has nice tennis courts (although 5 of the 7 were out of service) a par 3 golf course, that we found challenging because of the number of hills and narrow margins of error before going down a slope, and a couple of pools and hot tubs. The view is spectacular from the casual restaurant deck. The beach is ok but not fabulous. There are lots of expensive boats to rent if you want (I am not personally interested in paying 100 dollars an hour for a motor boat or 25 for a kayak but others might and they seemed to have an excellent marina).
The biggest factor to be aware of is that it is located on a steep hillside with stairs or 15% grade roads to walk up to get to the courts, the restaurants and pools from the accommodations or beach (unless you stay in a chalet which are higher up on the property but then you would have to walk down to the beach and water). Even to get to the elevators is a climb up stairs. I did get a ride from a staffer when walking down a very long steep road one day and the staff were generally pleasant altogether. If you are able to climb stairs and hills then it is a good way to get some exercise to wear off the holiday food!
Our room was clean and the air conditioner worked fine. We were in one of the older condo buildings. There was no housekeeping while we were there. The description online says it overlooks a pool but there are no units in the woods overlooking any pool so I don't know what they are referring to.
The activities were aimed at younger people but we had a wonderful nature walk by an enthusiastic young man for only 5 bucks each ( I think that was to cover the gas to the Bear Creek area). We didn't partake of a wine tasting on site but wished we had as it cost about the same as driving to all the wineries and tasting there. The Activity Centre is for children and has crafts etc although we didn't see any groups together there. When we were there we didn't see many people over 40 there and the focus on young families was disruptive on occasion but hardly preventable. I never saw a fitness facility, or a games room although there was a pool table in the bar. There were no horses kept onsite anymore although there has been no changes to the website to reflect that. I didn't see any bikes and there was no mention of them.
Overall not a high end resort at this time but a very pleasant relaxing one. Since we didn't pay much, as it was a borrowed timeshare, I can't comment in comparison to cost. If you paid over 200 per night you paid too much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motherofthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

AWFUL. TERRIBLE VALUE. NEVER RETURN HERE. This place is also a time-share and private owners vacation property, so a 'resort/hotel guest' is mixed in with all sorts of 'guests' on the property. As others have said, this place is OLD OLD OLD, wooden framed chalets and rooms that haven't been updated since the 80's. ***NO AIR CONDITIONING***. Completely inconsistent from Chalet to Chalet and room to room. The first chalet we stayed in (at $500 a night) was simply uninhabitable. FiLTHY FILTHY FILTHY, hairs all over the bathroom floor, no shower curtain, no bathroom amenities, with the worst concrete slab-hard-bed and dirty bed covers, hard pillows, no lighting and an old TV, a ghetto blaster as a stereo and stained carpets, walls with holes in them. The alarm clocks were all flashing 1200 as well as the stove. Clearly, there is absolutely ZERO care for maintenance and there are NO standards for comfort whatsoever. When I complained, the 'guest services manager' immediately offered to discount the room until I exclaimed that we would not be staying in that room or on their property if they didn't move us - I didn't care if it was free. The second chalet they moved us to was marginally better, still with NO central AC, no TV's in the rooms, a 'bunk bed' as the 2nd bedroom (for adults)...etc etc.... Because the Chalets are all wooden construction, you can hear the people above and below like they are in the room beside you. Even the lightest footsteps make the floors creak and wake everyone up throughout the night. The restaurants were also AWFUL. Breakfast was overpriced and NEVER came out prepared properly. Lunch was no better and we didn't dare stay for dinner. The golf course is basically a pitch and putt. The ONLY positive thing was the warf (privately run) that had boats, water skis/wake boards etc and sea-doos for rental. STAY AWAYS FROM THIS PLACE (calling it a resort is an insult to other resorts) - YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

Room Tip: you can NOT get a good room here - stay away. Don't even try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james5stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We accidently booked this resort thinking it was another resort in Kelowna. Once we realized our mistake we had a look at the reviews of other travelers. We were upset with our mistake given the numerous negative reviews. We called to cancel our reservations but were told that we would forfeit our first night's fee. We were not willing to throw away $250.00 so we thought how bad could it be and decided to make the best of it.

As mentioned by other travelers, you need to drive a long narrow road that takes about 20 minutes from Hwy 97, to get there, if you take it slowly it's not really an issue, but having said that I would not want to drive the road at night.

Once we arrived we were offered a room in the 200 block of apartments, having read the reviews we asked if there was anything else available. The front desk help was accomodating and found us a room in the 500 block. Thinking we had dodged a bullet we happily set off to find the room. The apartment blocks were not very well marked and it took us some time to find the room. Once we found the room, our kids ages 7 and 9 ran ahead of us and came back screaming after seeing a bat on the wall. We thought the other reviewer was making it up, but it turns out the wasn't. Being that we were on the top floor we decided to go back down and take the elevator. The elevator was incredibly dirty and the window was smashed in. So far not a great start, but hoping the room would be at least tolerable, we carried on.

Once we arrived at the room the first thing we noticed was a dead fly on the floor by the door, the further we got into the room the more things we saw that was not up to what one would expect from a hotel charging $250.00 per night. The carpet was not vacuumed, there was little bits of ?? on the floor, (it appeared that they used a carpet sweeper), the cushions on the sofabed were so incredibly stained that I wouldn't dare sit on them and would never sleep on it. Even my children were horrified and started to cry, we can't stay here!!

We returned to the front desk and told them we were incredibly unhappy and could not possibly stay in that room. We offered to pay more to stay at the new villas on the property. The front desk staff were wonderful and were able to accomodate our request but only for one night. We happily accepted and although we did not want to have to move hotels after one night it was the best option available.

The new villa's were AMAZING! So CLEAN, spacious and beautifully decorated, more what you would expect for $250.00 per night.

After settling in, we set out to the pool area. It could be great, but it too has seen better days and I questioned the cleanliness of the water given the state of the rooms in the older part of the hotel. The grounds were littered, the pool deck cracking, and not well maintained. When we arrived at the pool the following morning it was clear that it had not been swept and there was old dried leaves and little bits of debris everywhere making we wonder when the last time someone swept it was.

On Thursday night, they provided a very entertaining evening with Jeff running a "Minute to Win it" type themed evening for the whole family. Thank you to the management and staff for this truely entertaining evening. It was the highlight of our stay.

Luckily the next morning the front desk staff was able to find us another room in the new villas so that we could stay at the resort for two nights as planned.

I felt so sorry for the front desk staff, while we were there they had to deal with numerous complaints both in person and by phone. I have to say that they did the best they could considering the state of the resort. Based on my limited exposure with the front desk staff they appear professional and courteous given the difficult situation they are in.

The hotel has the potential to be a really nice relaxing place to go, but they need to invest in the hotel and hire enough people to properly maintain the hotel and the grounds.

The way it stands, you couldn't pay me to stay in the older part of the hotel. It'sdefinitely not worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the older part of the hotel. My following ratings are based on the old part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
668 reviews
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Property: Lake Okanagan Resort
Address: 2751 Westside Rd N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing