We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Okanagan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I picked up this place on an online special through booking.com where the reviews were fairly good. I was a bit in a hurry because it said one left at this price ($69.50/night! for 3 nights) so I booked it without checking out further reviews. Then I went to TripAdvisor and read these and whoa, I wanted out but alas for the cheap price it was non-refundable.
As my wife and i drove up through the Canadian scenery we were waiting for the "bad road in" that wasn't there. We got in to our room in the old section right on the lake and were very pleased. A full kitchen, large deck overlooking the lake, everything clean and well stocked and front desk very helpful.
This is a timeshare/rental but I've stayed in quite a few of these and this place is at least average if not better. The pool and spa are great, dining room, bar andsmall gym all nice. Yes it can use some refurbishing in places but it's a huge place and it looks like they are doing it. My guess is that we just came at the right time of year. No need for AC, just the breeze off the lake was great. It is hilly but I came here for exercise so that was great. School was back in so no kids so it was quiet. And did I mention $69.50 a night!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellinghamThane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind and honest review. You are correct when you mention the upgrades we are doing at the resort. We are working hard to to make continual improvements.

We are happy to hear our American neighbours are making the trek up here and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    87
    70
    82
    88
See reviews for
155
128
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Well we thought we'd try this resort for our family trip to the Okanagan this year. Overall it was less than average. The pools where merky, we never got housecleaning despite being there for 4 days and calling the front desk twice and air conditioning was only in the bedroom. the room was clean however and the staff that worked there were lovely but we felt that there was problems within management because there was so much miscommunication. The cost was way too much for what we got. THis resort has potential but we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the new side of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

its a great family hotel,the rooms are a fair distance from beach and clubhouse. if your afraid of bats and wasps its not a good choice. rooms are clean,balconys need to be spruced up.
The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to accomadate

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yukoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. Being my office is on the property, I get to see our guests enjoying the resort.

I am not sure if your children were part of our "kids camp" program, that we offer daily, but it is so cute to watch the young ones do all these activities. I was watching the kids the other day taking tennis lessons and it was just so nice to see them so happy.

About the bats - I don't care for them either, but they are all over - not just the resort. I had one fly into my deck at my home in town. Not so pleased with that!!!

Anyhow thank you again for your comments - it is nice to hear positive feedback.

We look forward to having your as our guests again.

Best Regards,

Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We are currently staying here. With little two children, the room ( lake side rental chalet ) is ok with full kitchen and spacious room. However the pool and and all the other facilities show no maintenance... Food and empty cups were left here and there. Also the resort itself is too hilly for little children, so hard to go anywhere. Too far from grocery shopping area although we gave a full kitchen unit... So we decided to stay only one night instead of two... I think it costs too much to keep good maintenance since the place is only for sumner ... Maybe the planning mistake ???

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kchan3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Guest,
We are sorry your visit was not to your expectations and you only stayed one night.

In response to your concerns which are important to us, I am sorry you did not have a chance to visit our General Store which is open in the summer until 10pm for our guests grocery and other requirments.

With respect to maintenance we employ a full time department that work very hard at the resort, as well as cleaners for the common areas. Being it is a large resort 300 acres - and 500 guests at any given time, it can be somewhat challenging. I do hope in your one night stay you were able to see all the work in progress to upgrade the resort. We have just built a new marina and are re-structuring the Vantage Pointe Clubhouse area for easier access.

Being the resort is built on 300 acres of mountainside, lakeshore property we do offer shuttle service in the summer by phoning the front desk or by getting on the shuttle that continually goes around the property.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Best Regards,

Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stayed two weeks in the older condos and found the housekeeping staff to be extremely hardworking and very friendly. Donna (housekeeping manager) was AMAZING, taking care of any request immediately...
Thank you Donna, Sheena and Ken (maintenance)
GREAT VACATION!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C0lleen512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Old, over priced and dirty. Our room had food on the floor, the air conditioner was frozen solid and loud, and everything was tired! We walked into our room and within 5 minutes we were running for the hills. We received a refund and booked a room at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rudy_and_Candice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This resort is on the older side and needing upgrading, which it looks is happening in places, but the location is nice. It has nice tennis courts (although 5 of the 7 were out of service) a par 3 golf course, that we found challenging because of the number of hills and narrow margins of error before going down a slope, and a couple of pools and hot tubs. The view is spectacular from the casual restaurant deck. The beach is ok but not fabulous. There are lots of expensive boats to rent if you want (I am not personally interested in paying 100 dollars an hour for a motor boat or 25 for a kayak but others might and they seemed to have an excellent marina).
The biggest factor to be aware of is that it is located on a steep hillside with stairs or 15% grade roads to walk up to get to the courts, the restaurants and pools from the accommodations or beach (unless you stay in a chalet which are higher up on the property but then you would have to walk down to the beach and water). Even to get to the elevators is a climb up stairs. I did get a ride from a staffer when walking down a very long steep road one day and the staff were generally pleasant altogether. If you are able to climb stairs and hills then it is a good way to get some exercise to wear off the holiday food!
Our room was clean and the air conditioner worked fine. We were in one of the older condo buildings. There was no housekeeping while we were there. The description online says it overlooks a pool but there are no units in the woods overlooking any pool so I don't know what they are referring to.
The activities were aimed at younger people but we had a wonderful nature walk by an enthusiastic young man for only 5 bucks each ( I think that was to cover the gas to the Bear Creek area). We didn't partake of a wine tasting on site but wished we had as it cost about the same as driving to all the wineries and tasting there. The Activity Centre is for children and has crafts etc although we didn't see any groups together there. When we were there we didn't see many people over 40 there and the focus on young families was disruptive on occasion but hardly preventable. I never saw a fitness facility, or a games room although there was a pool table in the bar. There were no horses kept onsite anymore although there has been no changes to the website to reflect that. I didn't see any bikes and there was no mention of them.
Overall not a high end resort at this time but a very pleasant relaxing one. Since we didn't pay much, as it was a borrowed timeshare, I can't comment in comparison to cost. If you paid over 200 per night you paid too much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motherofthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
The Royal Private Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eldorado
#2 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Prestige Beach House
Prestige Beach House
#18 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Property: Lake Okanagan Resort
Address: 2751 Westside Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing