We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Booked this resort on RCI points and upgraded to the 'pointe beach villas' for $100 more per night (3 bed/3 bath). The Pointe Beach Villas were gorgeous, brand new with all the high-end finishes and phenomenal views. Free internet was good and well used by our entire party (a bit glitchy now and then but no major problems). I toured villas that we would have rented with the RCI points and they were fine.. updated flooring and new beds. Definitely not the 'executive' type accomodation of the Pointe Beach villas however. The upgrade was well worth the money.

The resort itself is very large and you can tell it is an older resort. There is a lot of upkeep here and you can see that there is quite a bit of effort being made to keep things up and maintain the property. There are a few rough edges here and there - but nothing that took away from our enjoyment of the facility.

We visited during the beginning of June and the resort was probably only 1/3 full. We felt we had most of the facilities to ourselves, which was wonderful. Not sure if we would have enjoyed it as much if we were there in summer months when the pool/hot tub was more crowded. The marina was nice and had a few rentals at a fairly reasonable cost. Bring your own tennis racquet as they do charge for rentals.

Many in our party enjoyed the hiking trails and seeing wildlife such as deer, marmots, bald eagles and loons. The views from all over the resort to the lake are stunning. That being said it would be a difficult place for any older or guests with mobility issues to get around as there are extremely steep hills everywhere - ie, to get to the beach, restaurant, pool. We enjoyed getting a bit of exercise going from place to place so this didn't bother us.

We tried the restaurant on the last night of our stay and it was fairly decent, though a bit pricey.

Overall we found this to be a perfect family resort with interesting activities for everyone from kids to grandparents. Early June was a perfect time to visit as we had the benefit of nice weather and no crowds.

I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to families.

Room Tip: request Pointe Beach Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahgoodhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

We really appreciate you taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your stay with us! Under new management, we are doing everything we can to improve the quality and service that Lake Okanagan Resort provides, and we are so glad you noticed. This past year alone, we invested over 3 million dollars into new amenities, the property, and our guest suites. Key projects included a brand new full service marina, new mattresses, linens, and televisions for all guest suites, renovations to our restaurants and meeting spaces, and new indoor and outdoor hot tubs.

While being built onto a mountainside does make a lake view possible from every location, it can also make for a challenging walk around the property in some areas. We are very much aware of this unique situation, and we provided a 24hr complimentary shuttle service for our guests staying on-site.

Thank you again for your encouraging feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you to the resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

The website makes this place look great. But it is not. The rooms are old, smelly and infested with mice and bats. Overpriced and nasty. Food is a joke - Mcdonalds drive thru would have tasted better. Would not recommend this place to anyone. Keep looking for a better place to stay - a tent would cost a lot less and be cleaner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we would very much like to hear from you directly to address your concerns. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime at (250) 769-3511.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This place reminded me of a horror film set..it just had an eerie feel to it. Maybe because the buildings were extremely old and dated, or maybe because the entire resort was abandoned. The surroundings of the building were unclean and in desperate need of reno's. The rooms look as though they have been somewhat upgraded, but are still creepy and have a musty odour to them.

There was really no one staying on the resort, aside from a handful of seniors. This is not the place to be if you are under the age of 75. There are two restaurants on the resort, the food wasn't bad at all, but the service is horrid. The location of the resort is inconvenient, in that if you want something to eat, your only options are to drive 25 minutes into town, or eat at one of their places. I'd say the best part of this resort was the view from the restaurant area, but then again - the view is Lake Okanagan, and you can find this same view at many other places in Kelowna.

In sum, this place is not worth the prices they charge, especially given that they are so far from town, and the 20 minute drive down the windy lakeside road is so dangerous.

And to make our stay even lovelier, we got a call after we checked out advising that housekeeping was going to charge us an extra $50 because the room "smells of smoke"...meanwhile we don't even smoke!! What a scam!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. In July of 2010 Lake Okanagan Resort became a new company owned by Northwynd Resort Properties. Since that time, we have been working hard to update the grounds, amenities, and accommodations for our guests. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the room you were staying in. While we strive to ensure that each guest room is up to the standards of its occupant, we clearly didn’t meet your expectations. If the deficiencies with the room had been brought to our attention during your stay, we would have been more than happy to correct the problem or to move you to a room that was more to your liking.

We are primarily a family resort, and our summer season really takes off in July and August when the children are out of school. While we are quieter in the shoulder seasons, many of our guests enjoy the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere of the resort before the summer guests roll in. During these peak months, we offer two additional options for dining, and all of our guest suites include kitchen facilities should you not wish to dine out.

If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, I would be happy to assist and can be reached at sales@lakeokanagan.com or (250) 769-3511.

Again, we thank you for your comments and we hope that you will come visit us again as we continue to improve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A dated hotel with bad dining, but a gorgeous location. I found it a bit depressing but the price was right . . .

Room Tip: Ddon't eat here; use the kitchen to make your own food even if you do not know how to cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FlyingDutchman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Pointe Beach suite! Very nice room!! LCD tv's in living room and bed room! Nice stereo system! Great deck with awsome view! The drive to the hotel has breathtaking views Lake Okanagan....

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueoceanskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

What a spectacular hotel this is with tons of amenities and a very friendly staff, not to mention the incredible view and great hot tub set up with view. The outside patio I really enjoyed and look forward to staying there again when I can locate a deal off Travel Zoo or something as just a little pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nolpreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We just returned from a few days away at this resort with friends from England and stayed in one of the RCI chalets with three bedrooms. When we first arrived the chalet 404 that we were assigned was very dark. We had one person who had a mobility problem and found it hard to get down the ten steps to even get into the chalet, then there is a steep flight of stairs up to the bedrooms. The three bedrooms were 2 doubles and 1 room with single beds. The beds were new and very comfortable but the duvets and pillow shams were slippery, old and fell off the beds, none too clean either and one of the pillow shams on our bed was torn.
When you first enter the chalet it looked so old, dark and dingy that we were quite dissapointed but decided to make the best of it. We always had to have the lights on because we were surrounded with trees. It was very peaceful and we even had a deer outside.
The chalet was not well equipped but we managed. The appliances were clean and worked well, not to grumble, however it is not up to RCI standards.
The only problem was the issue of getting arround everywhere we went we had to take the car, even for a normal person it was too steep to get get around without driving.
The staff were very friendly, who were making use of the pool and hot tub before the long weekend.
I don't think I would go back again. It looks as if the new owners are trying their best to get everything in order but it is going to take a lot of time and money to get that place up to standard. Kate and Dave, Calgary

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
The Royal Private Residence Club
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#4 of 34 in Kelowna
768 reviews
Central City
Prestige Beach House
Prestige Beach House
#16 of 34 in Kelowna
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Address: 2751 Westside Rd N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range: £76 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing