We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the worst ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just the worst ...”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Once upon a time, Lake Okanagan Resort, was the best in the Okanagan. Their buffet touted a dessert bar that spanned what seemed like forever, omelet stations, huge carving stations with the most amazing gorgeous cuts of meat, crepes, pancakes, waffles .... it was an absolute treat to have the chance to eat there ... boy how things have changed.

I took my Mom to the Mother's Day brunch this morning, and boy, there is A LOT of work to be done.

In no particular order, here is what made this trip a "so bad it was laughable" experience.

Instead of hosting the brunch in the beautiful dining room I remember from my fond childhood memories of this once exquisite resort, we were downstairs in the "cabana" and 'banquet room".

Understaffed and quite possibly under experienced staff who did not know how to provide a quality experience to the guests. Upon our arrival one guest pointed out that the hostess had all of the credit card information for those with reservations sitting on the podium for anyone to see or easily take. Would you like some more coffee? Don't count on it! Special requests? Sorry, the kitchen is too busy!! The looks that one poor couple received from the other patrons after they managed to score some whipping cream after hounding the staff, could've killed.

The food: soggy bacon, chewy but extremely dry waffles, crepes without filling, runny "summer camp style" eggs, undercooked sausage, sub par and small cuts of meat for the carving station, "Costco"-esque pies and bars for the dessert table, some sort of wretched looking seafood lasagne that was so runny Gordon Ramsey may have dropped dead at its very sight, yoplait yogurt cups (not sure how these fit in the buffet?), lumpy and overcooked eggs benny, and other subpar specialties.

The only good thing this buffet had going was a humble little fruit platter, and the satisfactory cubed hashbrowns.

At $27.95 a head, I had high expectations. The brunch at Lake Okanagan used to boast "The Best", this buffet is about as satisfying as the free breakfast buffet you get when staying at 2.5 star hotels. But wait, there wasn't toast, jam , whipping cream, fruit toppings, or the other things that you get at a 2.5 star hotel free breakfast bar! So, worse than that?

EVERYTHING WAS COLD. We were at the 9 am seating for the brunch, and arrived before the brunch was ready to be served. As one of the first few through the line, our food should have been toasty hot, but sadly it was not. I saw numerous plates go back in the kitchen to have their food heated up. Ridiculous!!!

One of the patrons ahead of me said they wouldn't pay for their brunch, because they didn't eat any. No kidding!

It really was one pathetic excuse for a brunch. I feel TERRIBLE for families who came as a special treat, who normally don't have breakfasts out. They must've felt heartbroken that their meal was so costly, so disgusting and awful. I'm lucky that my Mom and I were able to laugh it off as the WORST, and go for Tim Hortons afterwards.

Management, time to get a grip. If you're going to serve horrible food, offer it at a price that warrants a horrible buffet.

At this rate, this place will be out of business in the next two years.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Crystabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Last Sunday Lake Okanagan Resort hosted a Mother's Day Brunch to over 400 guests. We were happy to hear all of the kind and positive feedbacks from everyone regarding the food, ambiance, facilities, and staff. But with that being said I would like to thank you for your review for it is great to hear from everyone.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    91
    75
    91
    95
See reviews for
169
133
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rossland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Lake Okanagan Resort for a week! Beautiful property and waterfront setting, with a nice variety of different styles of accommodation. Food is very good and staff are great! Just wait until the Lake warms up enough to swim and then it's perfect!

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JRmudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
I am glad you had such a great time while at Lake Okanagan Resort! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed during the first week of May, the place is run down, rooms are old and have that terrible aged odor, carpets are filthy, damage throughout the room, worn appliances, burnt countertops, worn/scratched/ dirty sink & tub, no repairs/replacements. I would expect to find this in a northern work camp. Services are non existent (restaurant??), during our stay there was a marathon taking place, you would think that the restaurant would be open?? They don't clean the rooms, just make the bed, grounds have garbage/trash/litter all over the place.

Highlight - great view and fishing but this has nothing to do with management!

Room Tip: You won't find it here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry the resort did not reach your expectations. Since the resort has been under new ownership we have been and will continue to keep implementing renovations and updates.
This weekend the resort was the host to over 1000 people for the Mudd Sweat & Tears event. Unfortunately with that number of people the property does get affected with quite a bit of litter which our staff had to keep up with. On Saturday the resort offered a public BBQ under our Cantina on the beach. It was a great time with delicious food and great entertainment from SUNFM. Our Vantage Pointe Patio & Restaurant was also open from 9am-9pm daily for all of our guest's convenience. A misunderstanding which could have occured in this case was if it was mistaken that the upstairs of the Vantage Pointe was the restaurant, for it was indeed closed because it is only rented out as a specific event venue. I hope that Lake Okanagan Resort does get another chance in your books :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We recently photographed a Spring wedding at the beautiful Lake Okanagan Resort. The venue was breathtakingly beautiful...an incredible location. The people were also extremely accommodating, generous, pleasant and friendly. The Resort has undergone many updates and we would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a Kelowna retreat, accommodation, or wedding venue!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spruce grove
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A Beautiful location . Nice 9 hole par 3 golf course. Buildings poorly maintained. 1 stairway was roped off due to unsafe condition. Resort had no amenities for time share group, such as an evening group dinner or organized activities.

Room Tip: Don't go if you can't walk up hills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank applecart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for your review. Since the resort has been under new ownership it has had many nice upgrades and renovations occur over the last few years. Some of these include brand new mattresses and flat screen tvs in all of the accommodation suites. We are also very excited for our new Bearfoot Bar which allows our guests to enjoy our new Summer Menu & Draft Beers on our newly renovated Poolside Patio. Sit back and relax on our new patio furniture and relaxing loungers while soaking up the warm sun rays and amazing views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed during the second week of April. Our first walk around the property was our last. Winter debris litters the grounds, the pool is filled with green scummy water, the pool area not cleaned and set up, virtually all of the buildings are locked, the suites is adequate but dated, no maid service to change sheets and towels, kitchen poorly equipped, lacking sound deadening between suites staff friendly but not uniformly trained--a great disappointment. Greatly overpriced considering the state of disrepair. We stayed on an RCI Exchange which is no way comparable to our home facility.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Me and my husband drove 14 hours to go on a nice romantic get away, we thought this would be great! It was a disaster to say the least. It is half hour up a mountain not close to even a convenice store nothing at the resort was open and the whole "resort" was so un-maintained and filthy it was very disgusting to be honest. The area around the resort is cluttered with garbage the pavement on the very steep roads leading to the rooms are corroding away, the golf course is covered in deer feces and the building that is supposed to look white is brown. As well the pools were left opened with dirty water and bugs in them right next to the hot tub didnt even bother to put a cover on them during the off season. The first room they placed us was so outdated, scraps all in the walls and side boards and to top it off reaked of fish. I tried to clean it myself even bought candles and ended up not being able to handle the smell and changed rooms the second room wasnt much better but I decided to suck it up. That night I went to take a shower and the hot water wasn't working because they hadnt put in a heating element I called down to front desk and she told me the maintenance guy would not be in till later the next day and we could use the shower in the room beside us. By this point I had it, I ended up calling a hotel within downtown kelowna and double booked me an my husband elsewhere after we changed hotels the second hotel seemed like paradise compared to lake okanagon "resort". I will never recommend this place to anyone and would never suggest anyone to pay to stay there. As well if you are a physically disabeld person dont even think about trying to get around this place it is very unaccomadating!! It was a horrible experience a nightmare actually and needs to be MAJORLY renovated before it is even half decent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JEM_JEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
668 reviews
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Property: Lake Okanagan Resort
Address: 2751 Westside Rd N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing