We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed as time share guests in one of the three bedroom townhouses for four days over the July 1 long weekend. Unit was perfect for us -- a wonderful view of the lake -- and very spacious with every amenity you needed -- full kitchen, TV, outside bbq etc. Grounds are spacious and beautifully kept so you never feel crowded with people. You do have to bring all your food and gear as it isn't near any facilities for buying groceries other than items you might have forgotten. The grounds are vast and steep but if you needed to go down to the pool or the beach you could call for a ride on little golf carts driven by cute Aussies any time you wanted to go somewhere. The kids loved the lake and the water trampolines and the resort is safe enough to let them wander. The staff is friendly and helpful and I would stay again in a minute!

Room Tip: Try and get the townhouses as some of the three level buildings have no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowgirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you had such a terrific time at the resort.

You are correct by saying that we are a 20 minute drive from downtown Kelowna so we do not have a grocery store close by so ensure to pack some food. With that being said we do have the onsite Vantage Pointe Restaurant & Patio which is open for every meal of the day; our current hours are 8am-10pm.

If stairs are a concern regarding accommodation I would also suggest that you book a one or three bedroom (which you ever so much enjoyed) Pointe Beach Villa for there is an elevator in the building. If you would prefer to stay in one of our other types of accommodations please just mention at the time of your reservation that you would like a main floor unit.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    88
    73
    84
    89
See reviews for
158
130
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We just spent one night here on our way to Vancouver, BC and that was enough. The facilities and rooms are pretty run down and in need of serious attention and a ton of cash. My biggest observation is that they should not use the word resort in their name as it is misleading - I would suggest they use motel as its more in line with the experience. The pool was disappointing as it was much smaller then expected - round and about the side of 2 minivans, plus it was dirty. Our room smelled damp and musty and the shower head in our room was painful, no ability to adjust and it was like needles - lucky no one poked their eye out. The views are great and I suspect this is why they are still in business.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. Throughout the last few years the owners have done some great renovations on the public and event areas of the resort and I have confidence that the accommodation rooms will not be far behind.

I am sorry you were unhappy with the size of our public pool. May I suggest that if you found the one too small and busy that you could try the other two outdoor pools on the resort?

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This resort looks and sounds amazing on the website however it is anything but amazing. The resort is very old and tired, and the rooms were dirty. The cups in the bathroom were had lip marks and what looked like toothpaste on them. The food is extremely overpriced and of very poor quality. Sure they have golf, if you enjoy golfing on a slope down the side of a mountain. Yes, they have a beach if you enjoy a very steep hike up or down the side of a mountain.
The food was a huge disappointment mainly because when we brought it to the attention of the restaurant manager, he really didn’t seem too concerned nor did he do anything to rectify the situation. Based on the other comments regarding the restaurant the resort manager should probably consider new management in the restaurant.
The staff at the front desk and around the resort were very friendly and helpful, however I felt that they drove way to fast through the resort.
This resort has amazing potential. With some upgrades to management and the resort this could be an amazing resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The place lacks maintained badly. The rooms in the old part need updating in the worst way.
Carpets on the stairs are a tripping hazard the hotel is asking for a lawsuit.
When I asked about a remote for the air conditioner I was to,d there weren't any wasn't I able to get up and turn it off? Who wants to get out of bed at 3AM climb onto the bedside table to turn it off?
Wood around the deck in front of the room was rotten.
We won't be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I am a time-share owner here, ever since 1996 and I would not recommend this resort for anyone. If you have 10 kids and like the sound of screaming kids all day, then maybe this place is for you.

Whatever you do - DO NOT buy a timeshare here. This place has changed management so many time and the costs continually rise and they lie to you about what you get with your timeshare. We were supposed to get Owner Nights for $42 / night and that was really the only reason we purchased here. Not that has been discontinued.

As well, it used to be that the fees were not due until 3 weeks before your arrival. Now they get a collection agency after you if your not able to pay several months in advance.

The place is also invested with wasps. This has not changed in years.

I would sooner camp down the road at Bear Creek then stay in this over priced place.

Buyer Beware. I wish someone had warned me.

At night time when you think it's alright to go sit by the fire, all you will find is teen agers getting drunk. The teens that work there have it made. They run the place literally. There were hardly any adults around last time I stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your review. The timeshare portion of Lake Okanagan Resort is actually not part of the resort. I would suggest that you contact your Time Share Company to express your concerns. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We made the Lake Okanagan Resort the centerpiece of our Northwest vacation because of a segment about the place that I saw on a San Francisco Bay area travel show on television. The TV show highlighted a beautiful, gleaming place sited alongside a sparkling lake where you could rent bicycles or boats to loll along the day. You could also play golf or tennis on the immense grounds. At night, you could dine in an elegant white pyramidal building with a great looking lounge.

Today, Lake Okanagan Resort looks nothing like it did in the travel show. The gleaming white pyramid, shown all lit up in the resort’s advertising photos, is no longer open for dining and is not lit at night. Based on comments left on other TripAdvisor reviews, it closed last year.

There’s a much smaller restaurant that’s still open beneath the pyramid and you can choose to eat indoors or outdoors on he adjacent patio. Both times we used the restaurant, some nearby lout was speaking loudly into his cellphone conducting some sort of business (two different louts) and there was no escape for us, which was unfortunate considering that we and the lout were pretty much the only restaurant customers each time. Dinner was tasty but very, very rich. Breakfast included stale croissants for two of us. These were quickly replaced by the wait staff with hot microwaved (resuscitated) croissants.

A note about the staff: they were uniformly polite, cheerful, helpful, and friendly. No problems there.

Speaking of escape, be aware that Lake Okanagan Resort is 10 miles down a narrow 2-lane, winding lakefront road from the main highway into Kelowna, so you’re pretty much of a captive audience. You’re not going to zip into town on the spur of the moment. That’s OK if you plan to use the finely manicured 9-hole, par-3 golf course, the tennis courts, or the lake amenities.

Of course if it rains, as it did while we stayed at Lake Okanagan Resort you can’t play tennis or golf or use the lake and none of us did while we were there. Perhaps that’s our fault, coming in too early in the season, but we were told the weather we encountered was unusual. Just our bad luck. However, be advised that if it rains, you either drive into town for the day or watch DVDs, which is what we did. DVD rentals are almost $5 a pop at the small resort store behind the check-in desk, which also carries a limited selection of junk food. If you want actual groceries to cook in the kitchenette, be sure to bring them with you. The larger resort store is also now closed up.

The rooms we stayed in are from the 1970s or early 1980s, as announced by the almond bathroom fixtures. There’s nothing wrong with the fixtures, so no complaints there. However, the mattresses are also quite old and have taken quite a set in the middles (at least for the two rooms our two couples had). As a result, both couples elected to split up and sleep in separate beds. That was much more comfortable than rolling together into the mattress valley in the middle of the night.

The kitchenette studio rooms we had were actually pretty comfortable with the exception of the beds and the between-room floor noise. Another party checked in above us the second night we stayed and they sounded like a herd of elephants clomping around. We also heard a lot of nail squeaks from the overhead flooring. Suffice it to say there’s virtually no sound insulation in the floors of the unit we stayed in, so be sure to ask for a top-floor room if you’re sensitive to noise. However, be aware that there are no elevators, so you’ll be carrying luggage up those stairs.

There are spacious grounds, which require a fair amount of uphill and downhill walking. I’m not in particularly good shape but I was able to walk back and forth to the restaurant without much trouble and I enjoyed the walk. The grounds are actually very well kept and very pretty. We attempted to take a less hilly route back after dinner the first night and discovered some clay tennis courts that are now cracked and weedy and are being used for boat-trailer parking. We also discovered a couple of dumps for fill dirt, concrete, and old discarded furniture. These too don’t appear in the advertising photos but they’re hard by the walking trails prominently featured in the resort’s marketing.

One day was enough for us. We decided to check out a day early (there’s just nothing to do when it rains but read, watch TV, or rent DVDs). The power went out at 2:30am prior to our departure confirming our decision to leave early. Without power, there’s truly nothing to do during a rainy day at Lake Okanagan Resort. I followed up on this incident online and found out that nearly 2000 BC Hydro electricity customers lost power along the west shore of Lake Okanagan that day, thanks to a bird’s nest built on a power pole that shorted out the power lines in the heavy rain. The power pole caught fire so the repairs took a while. The power didn’t come back on until 7pm that evening. By then, we’d driven back across the border and across the state of Washington to Seattle.

We paid $139 a night for our rooms. That’s about what we’d pay for a chain motel but on a nice day, you could have gotten tennis, golf, and a spectacular view for the same price at Lake Okanagan Resort. Instead, unfortunately, it rained. It could have been great, but for us it was all more of a disappointment.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, ask for a top-floor room but be prepared to carry your bags up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is a older hotel with a nice character. We stayed near the lake and really liked it. The restaurant food was quite good and the service was very good. We used the gym each morning and it was a good warm up climbing the hundred plus stairs to get there.
I absolutley loved the drive into the resort winding along the lake in my old Porsche.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
The Royal Private Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eldorado
#2 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Property: Lake Okanagan Resort
Address: 2751 Westside Rd N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing