We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, BUT needs work...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Once again we had a great time at the hotel, our children especially. When it is sunny and you have great outdoors what else can you ask for as a parent?!? Hotel needs help, especially in a form of different workers, more permanent, not the ones that are here for 1 year on work visa and don't care. Some even hard to understand, english is not my first language, but I have been living in North America for 20 years, so I'm not your usual "fresh off the boat" person.
Older property, needs constant work, maybe that time share money can be used towards upkeep!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenaLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

After a crazy busy summer in the Okanagan my fiance and I decided to get away from it all for a night of quiet relaxation; we chose Lake Okanagan Resort. After a scenic 20 minute drive we arrived at the resort and were greeted by a cheery front desk attendant who was eager to please and provided all the information we needed for our stay. We stayed in the Point Beach Building which was absolutely beautiful! High end furnishings, jetted tub, super comfy bed and fantastic Wi-Fi! After a leisurely bevvie overlooking the lake we strolled up to the clubhouse for dinner. Our dinner was outstanding! Steak and ribs cooked to perfection. Our server was great; bubbly and attentive. After dinner we went to the outdoor pool bar and listened to some "entertaining" karaoke! We ran into some friends and had some good laughs. We had requested a late check-out which we took full advantage of.. sitting on our deck in the sunshine drinking coffee. Thank you LOR for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wifitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you had such a great time on your Romantic Getaway at Lake Okanagan Resort! I look forward to welcoming you, your friends, and family back to the resort. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The word resort should not be used at this place since it run as a time share. It is located at a beautiful area but the windy 15 mins drive is not fun at night. Front desk staff are not the smartest cookies and the housekeeping staff are lazy. (when 80% of staffs are on a travel/work permit...I don't think they really care) The was this pack of ice in the hallway outside of our room, it melted and the bag was sitting there for 3 days! Our garbage in the room has not changed in 2 days. There was one time they left cleaning supplies in our room. The "resort" is not wheelchair friendly either. HOWEVER, the restaurant has really good food. The private beach has a spectacular view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubbleSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for your review. You are correct by saying that Lake Okanagan Resort has timeshares but it actually has a variety of other accommodation types on it's property as well. The accommodation types include privately owned, time shares, as well as resort rentals. Please note that the time share aspect of the resort is outsourced to another company.

I am sorry you did not find the housekeeping to be satisfactory. While the housekeeping staff do have about 10 acres of resort and accommodation to cover daily they should still ensure that all tasks are completed.

The resort is indeed situated on a hill, which is why we have so many amazing lake views! With that being said we do accommodate our guests by offering them full time shuttles around the resort so they do not need to walk the hills. With a simple phone call to the front desk you can have a friendly driver picking you up within minutes. Management is aware that there are a few areas on the resort which are not yet wheelchair friendly and they are working this task into the budget so we can build ramps and elevators where they are needed. But until that happens all of our accommodation buildings, other than the studio suites, have an elevator and ground level suites.

I am glad you enjoyed our property as well as our restaurant's dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have enjoyed Lake Okanagan Resort very much. Although the property is not new it is a great place for kids as there is lots of outdoor space and lots to do compared with many other properties which we have looked at. A superb newer asset is the marina which is large, stable, secure and great for family boaters and minnow catchers. The rentals service at the marina was sometimes a bit slow but gas service great. The beach is also fun for families and the trampolines are a favorite. Although the accommodation is dated there are some new condos. The beach bar when open was appreciated( please consider charge cards). The pools are old also but adequate.
Staff friendly and helpful. Good location for active kids and for a great lake experience.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your review. It is excellent to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the resort family friendly. We are very happy you also found the new marina to be a useful and fun addition. Despite the resort being older we are continuously doing renovations, and we are happy to hear that you enoyed the upgrades. We look forward to seeing you at Lake Okanagan Resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Once again LOR seems to be having maintenance issues. When we arrived we found:

• the curtain rod center hanger on the patio doors was pulled out of the wall,
• the light outside the front door was burnt out,
• there were weeds that had not be attended to for some time around a tree just off the patio,
• there had been a large amount of peanuts dumped at the bottom of the same tree (I would presume be the previous occupant)
• the light/fan in one bedroom was switched out but the switch wasn’t so the switch didn’t work as it is designed to, the chains on the light/fan had to be used to control the unit.
• throughout our stay we could smell what appeared to be the very objectionable smell of rotting putrid garbage wafting past the unit we stayed in(422), and over on the 4th and 5 tee the smell was constant.


The first 5 items mentioned should have been able to be addressed prior to arrival of the guests. I would question why they were not as they are very basic maintenance/cleaning issues. The last one is obviously an issue that will take better management of waste and how long it is kept on site before being moved to the appropriate disposal site owners should not have to put up with such an offensive smell when they are trying to enjoy sitting on their patio or golfing. It certainly detracts from complete enjoyment of this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truckcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your review. Lake Okanagan Resort is a large property covering over 10 acres. As it spread over so much ground maintenance does work hard to ensure all areas of the resort are attended to within a timely fashion. We do appreciate your feedback and will follow up with maintenance regarding the points you have mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We've been coming for 6 years now and have noticed this year that there have been a lot of improvements. It's always been a gorgeous property but needed the tweeks it seems to have gotten in the last year or so. Keep up the good work! We love the kids' and adults' activities and the great interactive entertainment in the evenings. All in all we look forward to coming here every year and think it's great that our children can grow up holidaying in such a wonderful location. The weather's consistently great and you can't beat the view and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello,
Thank you for such a nice review! Everyone at Lake Okanagan Resort has been working very hard to make the resort the perfect vacation destination! I look forward to welcoming your family back every year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Garbage laying all over, dirty rooms, mouse dropping everywhere. Fridge broken, screen door broken. Food left on dishes, telephone handle, patio furniture dirty. Smarties left behind chairs in the living room. Our room cost $270.00 what a rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
5  Thank 2512kandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay due to the accomodation. I am very surprised to hear your feedback for those are not frequent issues however I will ensure that this is followed up on. I do hope you will give Lake Okanagan Resort another chance. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Central City
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Address: 2751 Westside Rd N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range: £115 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing