We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom beachfront villa - well worth the extra $ to have the beachfront room. I travelled here with two colleagues and we had a bit of a party for our clients.
Pros -
The patio was excellent for entertaining while sitting on the lake, the kitchen was spacious as was the living room. Everything was well appointed.

Bedrooms were nice - missing a TV in my mind in the 2nd bedroom but not a big deal for us on this trip. Bathrooms had nice toiletries for us. The king room has a little deck right off of it for a nice view.

Cons - very pricey and we received a "special" rate. For the $ I expected a bit more - the finish was peeling off of the cupboards, the grout in the bathrooms need a good cleaning, the pull out sofa has a huge dip in the middle.

The restaurant seemed limited for choices and very pricey but I guess that would suit the hotel.

Overall there was great facilities for families - kids pools, putting greens, playgrounds etc. If the price was more reasonable I would consider staying here with my family.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,376 - 1,382 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2008

My husband, myself and two children stayed at the Manteo for a week stay. We are return quests from five years earlier that were looking forward to another great stay. It didn't happen. We were located in a two bedroom townhome as we had before. The unit was clean as it could possibly be, with the exception of the disgusting carpet, couch and duvet covers. The worst thing though I have to say were the mattresses. The floor would have been more comfortable! My son was in tears one day because of a sore back, I'm thinking due to the mattress. My husband insisted that we leave a day early as he couldn't take it anymore. We he now three days and he still can not walk straight he's in so much pain. When I talked to a manager about being moved they said that it just was not possible as they were full. Besides the unit - the beach was just digusting. It must have had an ant hill close by, as it had ants everywhere. There were cig. butts and gargage all over the place. They did have someone clean the washed up seaweed everyday but that was it. "Toonie Treats" is a great idea that they came up with for the kids. You pay a toonie and get to create and eat an icecream treat. They had this open from 2:00 - 3:30 everyday. Well - try going to toonie treats with your kids @ 2:45 and have them run out of ice cream!!!! No fun !!! The only positive thing I can say about Manteo is that they hired a company to work out of the resort for boat rentals. They were wonderful - to say the least. i also have to add.....we are staying at a Four Seasons Resort in Hawaii this December for the same cost as Manteo......just to put it in perspective!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Thinking anout a recent August stay at the Manteo Kelowna, there seemed to be something missing, something that should define a good resort experience.

The Hotel is located on the shore of Lake Okanagan. It has it's own beach (although very small) - and a dock with boating activities. Swimming pools, children's water slide, outdoor dining.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite, with a very comfortable bed, and a well equipped kitchen. A small balcony housed two plastic chairs and a side table.

Service was generally friendly and attentive.

So what was missing?

Was the experience coloured by a $325 room that faced the parking lot and a busy road? Were we jaded by the fact that the Hotel seems to not have enough parking for it's guests, which caused us to daily circle the lot, and one day be forced to park on the roadway?

In our room, we could hear people walking on the floor above us, and we could hear their showers running and the sound of plumbing.

The Manteo lacked small ammenties such as a convenience store for snacks, a liquor store, or holiday oriented rentals such as bikes, beach umbrellas, and chairs.

The Manteo has much of what it takes to be a good resort, but for us, the few things missing would lead us to try a different Kelowna property on our next visit.

footnote #1: The Manteo has purchased adjacent land, and is planning a 14 story hotel. You may want to check the progress of construction (noise, demolition/construction dust) when making future bookings.

footnote#2 Great coffee to be had at the Toasted Bean across the street. Kelowna has a wonderful greenway running along a creek through the city, and there is an access point nearby. Excellent for a morning walk, or to bike!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keskeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

I was hesitant prior to going to the Manteo because the website and pics of the hotel are vague and in hindsight do not do the Manteo justice... the resort is much nicer than the website. But when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a check in for children and cozy lobby. The staff was helpful and supplied a luggage rack to us in the parking lot. So first impression.... excellent.

We checked into our lakeside 1 bedroom suite and were astounded with the size and view! Incredible! The living room was a standard hotel living room (desk, phone, tv, couch, chair, table) but also included a table with 4 chairs, another chair and table, a cd, a dvd player and mp3 capable stereo.

The carpet was a bit worn, the furniture and decor was run of the mill 3-star furniture, but the Manteo was great where it counts. The linens were nice, tons of pillows. The bed was super comfy and we even slept on the pull out couch one night and it was a decent nights sleep.

The bathrobes were a nice touch, as was having dishwasher and regular liquid dishsoap av ailable in the kitchen. The kitchen was so great. The microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, full stove, toaster, double sinks with hand sprayer and fully stocked too. All dishes, silverware, glassware, cookware, even dishtowels and paper towels are provided.

Okay, so enough about the room... the grounds of the Manteo are beautiful, especially for a family with 2 toddlers and a doublestroller. The only draw back I saw was having only one elevator, but the hotel is only 4 floors, so if you don't need the elevator, take the stairs, tons quicker.

The Wild Apple or Green Apple or whatever the restaurant was called was great, good food, reasonably priced and room service was always fast, but if you can eat outside, do. The view is great. They have childrens menu and colouring pages, even a babyplate.

The private beach area of the resort is tiny and not as beautiful as other Kelowna beaches. Take your pic, Kelowna has a couple to choose from, but we just went next door to the Manteo and the Rotary beach which was fine.

But the biggest perk of the Manteo and the reason we will be back in the next month is the waterslide area. The children's pool, with waterslide and wading pool with spray park. Now a few things, the wading pool is great, but the spray park is ice cold water. The waterslide is great and my kids 2 & 4 loved it, we took them on about 50 times our last day.

There is a small gym for 16 yrs and up. A playground and another indoor pool which was empty most of the time. They have activities, a pool table, library and games even a bbq, but it wasn't working the day we were there and we didn't stay at the resort the whole time, but we heard from others that it is great for kids.

We had a long beach day and wanted to stay in and have a movie night, but realized that the Manteo doesn't have the movies you can order from your room, but local cable. So when we called the front desk they said they have movies we can rent for a small fee (like $.40 or something) and they brought up the list of movies for us to choose from. All great selections, and we got one for the kids and an action one for us later.

We love the manteo. It wasn't a 5 star experience, but it was still great. We are making plans to return asap, and if for some reason we couldn't stay at the manteo, we would have to try the Grand.... but we would miss the Manteo for sure. Oh and the villas looked awesome as well, we didn't stay in one, but saw the inside of one.

If you can, stay here. Parents, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mamabear79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Our stay was lovely at the Manteo. It was not too far from the action but still calm and peaceful. The staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The king room overlooking the lake on the fourth floor was quiet and had a beautiful view. The bed had a feather mattress, with very clean linens and we had great sleeps.The food at the Wild Apple was good. They had a quiet pool to which adults liked to go and a fun pool with a waterslide for kids, in addition to a small beach area. We recommend this hotel when in Kelowna.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WpgPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We visited this resort end of May 2008 - this is the off season so the resort was not at it's full potential although it was very quiet which is just as nice.

There are two pools - one is heated and another is not, the other is the one with a large water slide which opens in June. There is also a kiddie pool with sprinklers and the kids though that was great as well.

The property is right on the lake with a nice restaurant, the view from the patio is amazing.

The rooms were clean and well appointed, kitchens in the suite are small so for a few nights stay they are adequate.

Overall a nice property, adequately priced, nothing exceptional.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank SMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

I was in town on a job interview and my prospective employers put me up at the Manteo. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place, particularly the beauty of the setting and the service. My goodness, the service! I have never been treated to such many happy, pleasant, excellent hotel staff in my life. From the waiters and waitresses in the Wild Apple restaurant (which served STUNNING food, I might add - try the apple french toast!) to the staff at the front desk to the room cleaning team, every single person was friendly as all get-out.

The room was large and beautiful, and the beds were really comfy. I had a "mountain view" room, which did indeed look out over the mountains. The free wireless Internet connection was also fast and reliable (although there was a minor outage at one point for about ten minutes).

If I do get the job, or end up in the area again for any reason, I would not stay anywhere else. I loved this place!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alittlecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Hotel Eldorado
#1 of 33 in Kelowna
540 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 33 in Kelowna
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Central City
The Royal Private Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas

Address: 3762 Lakeshore Rd, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3L4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
#6 Business Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range: £94 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelowna’s Manteo Resort is beautifully located on the shores of Okanagan Lake, only minutes from downtown, championship golf courses, estate wineries, and ski hills. At Manteo, amenities are plentiful with indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs, kids water park, saunas, movie theatre, fitness center, tennis court, 9-hole putting green, playground, private beach and boat moorage. Accommodations are superb and provide the highest standards of comfort in spacious Deluxe Guestrooms, Premium One Bedroom Suites and in private Two & Three Bedroom Villas, located only steps from the lake.Our 102 unit full service resort features waterfront meeting & conference facilities, ideal for groups up to 200. Meeting & event facilities are perfect for meetings, retreats and banquets. The Waterfront Ballroom will accommodate up to 200 people and is divisible into three separate rooms to accommodate smaller meetings and breakout sessions. All facilities have a lakeview, with floor to ceiling windows in each room, which offers an elegant, yet comfortable setting to relax and enjoy.Manteo’s Clubhouse is located only a short walk from the main hotel. From casual to elegant, our Library and Upper Lounge are ideal for private receptions, meetings and events for up to 100 guests. The facilities include a pool table, big screen television, bar service area and a large outdoor patio with breathtaking views of Okanagan Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel And Villas
Manteo Hotel Waterfront
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing