We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous for walks and biking”
Review of Myra Canyon Park

Myra Canyon Park
Ranked #1 of 130 things to do in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous for walks and biking”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Spectacular views and lovely and cool for walking. Go early in the a.m. and you will have the place to yourself

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nnander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    179
    20
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great bike ride, shame about the fire”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We visited Myra Canyon on Victoria day long weekend. Unfortunately for us the weather was quite cloudy with smatterings of sun.

The drive to the parking lot at Myra Station is a little off road, gravelly and bumpy, and a few vehicles went extremely slowly, which is probably advisable. Our bike rack began rattling and actually scratched the car, so make sure you tighten all straps before taking this road.

The trail itself is quite special. Very flat and easy even for unfit people such as myself. We cycled the entire 24km from parking lot to the last trestle and back, and were a little out of breath by the end, but we're not particularly fit people. I would advise taking a decent supply of water though, as there is nowhere to find any on the route and it can get warm up there.

The trestles themselves are quite nice, well maintained and you feel very secure on them. No problems stopping to take photographs of the beautiful scenery on them.

The one sad thing about the bike ride is seeing the amount of trees that had been decimated by the fire back in 2003. Whilst the views are still extremely nice along the trail, you can't help but imagine how much nicer it would be without acre after acre of black, spindly, dry and leafless trees. Whilst obviously this is nobodies fault and there is no way to fix this other than time, it took a little bit away from the experience.

Overall though, this is the perfect trip for anybody wanting to take an easy bike ride/hike in a unique and scenic area. The length of the trail is long enough for fit people, but not too long for the less fit crowd.

One nice addition would be some more investment into the trail amenities though. Some restrooms along the way would be a good addition, as well as a place to fill up your water bottle (or just to take a drink). Considering this is one of the main attractions of Kelowna (and the main reason we went), there doesn't seem to be much investment there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Bike Ride”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The way up the mountain is very rough which wasn't too much of an issue if you went really slowly or had an off road vehicle. Once you go to the parking lot, you find that there are only two washrooms - one for both genders. There was a bit of a line up but not that big of an issue. As you start your trip you will find that the trail is pretty flat, easy and enjoyable. The tressles are pretty well done and for someone who is afraid of heights, I felt very secure. I believe there is one more washroom at the 4km mark if you did need to use the facilities again. When you get to the end there is a map to show you different routes you can take unless you want to turn around and return to the parking lot.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
281 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Must”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

A must if you are in the Okanagan. The trestles provide amazing views of the park. The park can be a long walk/ride if you do it all. However, there are no hills, etc. If really scared of heights, will be an adventure crossing the trestles! Bring water is none available.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank one3Sport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a bit of a time finding the parking lot but once we did we only had time to hike to the tunnel (which is super cool) and back. It is so pristine and beautiful there. Easy hike/walk as it is flat and would be fantastic for bikers!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dlarocqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myra Canyon Park also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Myra Canyon Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing