We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical, wonderful, relaxing time out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Go With the Wind Cruises

Go With the Wind Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go With the Wind Cruises is the longest running cruise on Okanagan Lake. These are informative, personal (your party only and leaving at your convenience), with the option to power, sail, or both. The captain will relate history, geography, and show you wildlife. Enjoy the peaceful, relaxing waters of Lake Okanagan. Pickup is in downtown Kelowna beside the Delta Grand Hotel. Reservations recommended at 250 763 5204
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A magical, wonderful, relaxing time out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

What a glorious day on the water .We were fortunate to have our vacation with Captain Al and First Mate Jo-Ann.We felt like we were sailing the seven seas as I had never sailed.Al and Jo-Ann made us feel so comfortable and they filled our experience with knowledge , history and tales of the surrounding area.There are a variety of animals and birds.You feel like you are king and queen of Lake Okanagan.The monster is another story but only Al knows what happened to it,and we have been sworn to secrecy,hee hee.We can't say enough about this warm couple and since we are both in our 70th year we will have to hurry back to take an evening cruise.Many ,many thanks to you,our new friends..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainAl_12, Owner at Go With the Wind Cruises, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. Jo and I are truly grateful! This has been our best June ever, even surpassing last year which was our previous best. We don't get a lot of reviews however each one we do get is special to us. Thanks again
Al, Jo and Shadow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What an amazing adventure for visitors and locals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Thanks to Al & Jo who facilitated such a lovely outing on their boat. Such warm and gracious hosts added to the amazement we experienced seeing our city from a fresh perspective - this great lake! Our visitors from England found the tour interesting and relaxing - such fun! Thanks to Jo for helping with the 8 month old twins who accompanied us. You made all of us feel more than welcome. Al's stories about the valley were fascinating. Two hours was a great time though, we look forward to trying an evening cruise sometime soon. Thanks again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainAl_12, Owner at Go With the Wind Cruises, responded to this review, 24 December 2014
Thank you for your kind response. It was our best year ever thanks to guests like you. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from Al, Jo, and Shadow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
150 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Relaxing Sail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Enjoyed a 2 hours + sail in this boat captained by Al and Jo-Ann. We were picked up downtown and motored around the lake whilst being given an informative tour by this wonderful. We then sailed slowly back. Each cruise is custom tailored to what you want to see, one of the highlights for us was seeing the Ospreys. Al and Jo-Ann are easy to get on with, and have a fund of wonderful tales to tell or their travels. Great way to spend a couple of hours. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthportRaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunn, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Second times a charm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was our second tour with Capt Al & Jo-Ann & Gone with the Wind :) It was relaxing, informative & I was able to get some amazing photos of osprey, eagles & other birds & the scenery was breath-taking! Sadly, we were unable to sail, but were just as happy to motor around the lake. Thank you for a wonderful morning & memories -I can't wait to see you next year! "..May the wind always be at your back, may the sun shine warm upon your face..and until we meet again, may God hold you in the palm of His hand" Gaelic prayer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri-May H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, Relaxing & Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went out to Kelowna for the first time ever with friends back in July. Jo and Al, the owners/sailers/navigators, were so informative, fun and super interesting. The scenery was breath taking and the cruise was so relaxing We had no wind that day so the motor was what Al used and that ended up being just fine. If or when we return to Kelowna we will definitely sail on again with Jo & Al.

Winnipegers

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouLouRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Go With the Wind Cruises also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Go With the Wind Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing