We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros & Cons”
Review of Postill Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelowna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Postill Lake Lodge
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We are fly fisherman and have stayed at numerous fishing resorts/lodges in the interior of BC. The four of us recently spent three nights using two cabins. The owners are very friendly, hospitable, helpful, customer service oriented and informative. It is not a long drive from Kelowna. Directions are easy to follow and there is 15 km of dirt road to the resort that is pretty decent. You could drive in using any type of vehicle. The cabins face the lake and it is a beautiful setting. If you stay during the week you will get great deals on renting a motor boat and/or rowboat for fishing. In terms of catching trout (rainbow or brook), it is hard to predict your luck on any lake. We did catch a large number of fish, but the vast majority were very small and we threw them back. Given it is a reservoir, you can only use an electric motor. This means quiet, but it also can be very slow against large waves/wind so beware. Postill Lake is not big so easy to get around and find your sweet spots. They have a fish cleaning station that was much appreciated and there is a knife ready. Very quiet in the resort area and full of stars late at night. In regards to the cons there are some challenges. They do not offer a garbage can outside or inside of the cabins. The free wifi located in the office/router works and then doesn't work. The mattresses are dated and not comfortable. You will not find any dish soap or any type of soaps or tea towels/rags etc. If you want to use the public showers, you must use an older loonie and take at least two loonies as the shower doesn't last very long. There is no bedding so you need to bring your own. You can rent bedding, tea towels etc. The water needs to be treated/boiled before usage. Overall, a decent experience but the little things were aggravating yet offset by the super great owners.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AirSchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coryg1987, Owner at Postill Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Sorry to hear you feel you faced some challenges while staying at our resort. We do not offer garbage cans outside of the cabins as we feel this attracts bears and other pests. We do have a centrally located area which offers garbage and recycling options. The wifi which supports my credit card machine and laptop was working fine and I do believe you were able to speak with your wife from outside cottage #6 on your device. We purchased the mattresses from The Grand (an upscale hotel in Kelowna) recently. There is dish soap and scrubbers under the sink in every cabin but you are advised to bring your own bedding, towels and dish towels. I have plenty of older loonies here for the showers in case you don't. We hope you decide to stay with us again, and now that you have experienced our resort, will not face the same challenges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here while visiting Kelowna. It was affordable cabin with a shared shower. It is an absolutely stunning location. The view of the lake in the morning or late at night is beautiful. It’s very quiet here. But the drive is a bit from Kelowna, we were aware of this when we booked it. The drive is up a long dirt, bumpy road, often occupied by a herd of cattle. There are boats there for rent and we saw a lot of people fishing at night. The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coryg1987, Owner at Postill Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Great, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Okay, in all honesty, just because this place was not for me, doesn't mean it's not for you...if you're a fisherman.

We camped here for the May Long weekend. We decided to go camping last minute with another couple of friends and this was the only place I could find availability and I know why. Here are some pros and cons of this location...

Pros:
-I heard this place is awesome for fishing
-It has some nice tracks for dirt biking or quads
-Nicely spread campsites, not too close.
-Free firewood

Cons:
-Waaay too long (and windy) of a drive up a dirt road for me, there are way more easily accessible campsites than this that are much nicer
-WINDY and cold, we sadly watched the temperature drop 10 degrees on our drive up, roughly a degree or so per km up.
-You only have the lake and lake related activities, we wanted to rent a canoe but it was a little too cold and windy for that so there was nothing for us to do. We looked around for hiking trails but they weren't well maintained
- It is really far if you need supplies
-I heard the outhouses were disgusting from friends so I just used the flush toilets.
-Pay showers which was a little steep at $1/5mins (and our group experienced either really hot water or tepid water).

If you're a weekend camper looking to just camp, I wouldn't suggest this place, there are other campsite with lakes that are much prettier and more accessible.

If you're someone who wants to escape civilization (it's really remote and absolutely no cellphone reception) and all you wanna do is fish in peace, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvelynLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coryg1987, Owner at Postill Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Too bad the weather wasn't nice, but that is quite typical for the May long week-end. The hiking trails were not open yet as most still had snow on them. Hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and see many beautiful places in BC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Was looking for a campsite during the long weekend. Everywhere I checked was booked or had a minimum night stay. My boyfriend saw a sign at the side of the highway and we decided to check it out. We are so glad we did!! The drive is a little rough on a logging road but once you get there, it is worth it. The entire place is well maintained. The staff were nice & genuinely friendly! (Was at Echo Lake last year and the people that run that place seemed miserable and gave me the impression that I was always bothering them when i went to the office). The shower/toilet facilities were extremely clean, the small beach area was nice and the campsites were looked after. The campsites had nice tree's to provide some privacy and they offered free firewood!! For what they offer, it is well worth the drive and the money. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CowGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coryg1987, Owner at Postill Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

We are so glad you had the chance to stay with us! We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights in cabin #3. Lovely little cabin with a toilet, cold running water, stove and oven, bedroom and pull-out coach and a wood stove for heat. Very clean cosy cabin but not really big enough for three of us and two dogs, but that was my fault as I had booked so late and a bigger cabin was not available. The view from this cabin was amazing , right on the lake and we were lucky to have a full moon. This cabin did not have a fridge so we had to bring a cooler and as well the water is not drinkable and has to be boiled , these were both factors that we were well aware of prior to our arrival. Furthermore the water problem was due to a high spring run-off causing high turbidity and may eventually resolve itself. The resort is very quiet and peaceful and I found our two nights here very relaxing. They do have wi-fi by the main lodge should you want to connect with the outside world, as well as all types of boats to rent. We did not fish but took a canoe out. This was far better than tenting and will definitely return someday (bigger cabin next time). The only thing to note is that even though the road up is a great gravel road it still feels a bit precarious as well the elevation climb causes the resort to be quite cold in the evening but with the wood stove in the cabin we were very warm

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dentito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coryg1987, Owner at Postill Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Postill Lake is a great destination being less than 30 mins from Kelowna. On arrival you feel a world away from city life, phewph- this is exactly what we were looking for! The owners are very welcoming and easy going.
We stayed in Cabin 10 which is one of the fully equipt cabins and has all the amenities such as full kitchen and bathroom and hot water. Our cabin was cozy, comfortable and large. Unlimited wood is provided for the cabin firepit.
A few things to note:
It really cools down in the evening as the sun sets on the other side of the lake so the shade comes in early.
In July the lake is full of tad-poles so the fish were not biting.
It was still a little cool to swim in July.
Overall great cabins, lovely lake to bring your canoe and electric motor, bring your quad, bring lots of drinking water as the tap water comes out brown. A very relaxing, low-key destination.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zoshked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coryg1987, Owner at Postill Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Nice to hear you were able to relax and unwind here. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This place is absolutely beautiful. The staff and owners are so friendly and our cabin was extremely clean when we arrived. The drive into the area is about 15k on a dirt road but it is well worth it. The prices are great and there are lots of hiking and bike trails and plenty of fishing if that's what you like. It's also a short drive into Kelowna (about 10 to 15 minutes). We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Bring lots of drinking water because you have to boil their tap water first if you want to drink it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pinkypie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coryg1987, Owner at Postill Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelowna
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#14 of 34 in Kelowna
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
386 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Beaver Lake Mountain Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Country
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postill Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postill Lake Lodge

Address: 11950 Postill Lake Rd, Kelowna, British Columbia V1P 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kelowna
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer units with hot water, showers, toilets, fridges, stoves with ovens and bar-b-ques. We also have units with just cold running water and toilets. There are rustic cabins available with outhouses. We have waterfront and upper section campsites. There are centrally located washrooms with coin operated showers for those guests who do not have these amenities in the unit. There are electric motorboats, rowboats, kayaks canoes and pedal boats available for rent. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Postill Lake Lodge Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing