We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Mabui Sushi Izakaya
Ranked #17 of 622 Restaurants in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Order the crispy crunch roll! Most sushi restaurants make their rolls really fat and the pieces are to large to fit in one bite without getting chipmunk cheeks. Mabui chefs make their rolls thin and long. You get the same amount of delicious filling in a manageable bite, and their rolls hold together after being dipped in soy sauce. I can't say enough about the skill and quality of the rolls!

The other spectacular menu item is the Raftee. Raftee is pork that has been stewed for 24 hours. The pork melts in your mouth it's so tender! You could spread it on toast with a butter knife. Absolutely amazing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vex27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    26
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We've eaten here probably 15-20 times, and it has to be some of the most consistently delicious food, on par with our favourite restaurants in NYC. It is the kind of place that you can pick anything on the menu and know it will be a new favourite dish. We don't order from the sushi menu that much, because the rest of the menu interests us more, but the sushi is great too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing great.”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I don't understand why this place has such great reviews. I found the food to be quite greasy and not great quality. There are better Japanese places in Kelowna. I was unfortunately disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank OkanaganTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best Japanese restaurants outside of Japan”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I spent two years living in Japan, and after living in Vancouver, Kelowna and the US, I can honestly say this is one of the best Japanese restaurants I've been to outside of Japan. The food is sublime, the service is wonderful, and the staff even take the time to make scrambled eggs with ketchup for my picky 4 year old. Every bite takes me back to my time spent in Japan. It's addictively good and so authentic. No other Japanese restaurant in Kelowna even comes close.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bamf15e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal here last night. The spicy dynamite rolls, chopped scallop sushi, albacore tuna sushi, orange scallops and prawn gyoza were succulent. If we lived here, we would be frequent diners! The decor is modern, clean and the service was charming. The only negative comment I have is that the wooden bench seats were mucho uncomfortable. Suggest you reserve in advance. Great value in this overpriced wine capital!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawyerlady2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mabui Sushi Izakaya also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Mabui Sushi Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing