We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character, loads & loads of Character”
Review of The BullWheel

The BullWheel
Ranked #269 of 635 Restaurants in Kelowna
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
1,020 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Character, loads & loads of Character”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The owner has an opinion, and you are going to know about it. that being said, i wouldn't have it any other way.

The food was excellent, atmosphere warm, and service was friendly, albeit tongue in cheek. They should do a Fawlty Towers theme night. It would be a great experience, just with much better food.

Have fun, and don't take life too seriously. Congrats Bullwheel.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank codym481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    9
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best food and service at the Big White Resort”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Back in February my family and friends visited your restaurant and had the best time and easily the best food at Big White. While there, the owner came out and asked us if we were enjoying our visit. I made a comment about how I liked his Thirsty Beaver shirt and he went to check if the brewery still had any in stock. They did not, so what happened? He came out with HIS shirt in a bag as well as brought the chef out with the recipe for their Crown Royal Salmon (which we absolutely loved).

Best of all, the kids get a chef's hat and get to make their own pizzas.

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nofreakennames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Uggh”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Horrible server. My "pizza" was ok but overpriced for what it was. Our Aussie server couldn't care less about our table. She hung out mostly at the bar laughing with some...friends?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ktownskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good Family Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The Bull Wheel is located in the village centre at Big White.

Our experience with the hostess (tall, black hair) was similar to that at Sam’s; she may as well have not even been there. She did not smile, did not offer us any water or drinks, did not describe any specials, and basically did nothing to add value to the experience.

Our waitress (med-height, glasses, blond hair) however, was excellent. She asked us if the specials had been explained or if we wanted water, if the table was ok, etc. She was attentive, kind to the children, quick, and very professional.

The food was properly prepared, delivered as described, and sold in a moderate value price-range.

Therefore, by ignoring the bad non-experience with the hostess, I can describe this establishment as a good, mid-range family restaurant that deserves a second visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank drknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, ON
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice concept !”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is not a bar nor is it a roadhouse. It's somewhere between unique menu options and sports bar. I had a hanger steak which was very good. We had wings, which were average. We had the pork bites and they were a bit greasy. The service was not bad but I would go back and give it another try. I think it is quite good but it's all relative. There are about 8 restaurants in all of Big White and I would put this one in the top five.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skislave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The BullWheel also viewed

Big White, Okanagan Valley
Big White, Okanagan Valley
 
Big White, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The BullWheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing